We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Place, but...”
Review of The Chantry Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Chantry Hotel
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Bury St Edmunds
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
68 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Nice Place, but...”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Nice location in the centre of Bury. Perfectly located for what we wanted - a stroll to town.

Nicely decorated, with a well appointed bathroom, and comfy bed. The downstairs had a spacious dining area. There was also a small bar and lounge area.

The hotel allowed us to check-in early for our wedding, and also were kind enough to let us leave our cars in the car park until 1pm on checkout day.

So what was the but?

Well when checking in we received a pretty unwelcoming greeting, which consisted of a key and warning about certain doors locked at night... Ok... maybe it had been a long morning?

What was worse, was the harsh treatment we received at breakfast from the lady that took our order. It was cold and extremely rude, we all thought. The lady (guessing the owner) turned up at our table with a 'what would you like?', then just proceeded to stand there holding here pencil and pad whilst staring at the wall ahead; without any engagement any of us seated at the table; whilst my parents struggled to read the menus small-font; not once offering any advice, or help. My dad even asked her if there was a problem, to which the reply was "no". He then just ordered egg-on-toast - to which retort was "just one" in a stern manner - only to get the imposing waitress away from our table. I simply couldn't believe that somebody, with such terrible customer facing skills, was in such a a job (be it waitress, or owner). We were treated like badly behaving stag-do, but were a newly wedded couple with their parents. My father-in-law tried next, but was again met with one-worded stubby answers of no real help.

Received better customer service at a late night Mcdonalds from a teenager.

Room Tip: Look elsewhere first if you want to feel welcome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank London_Scotti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    54
    11
    2
    1
See reviews for
23
85
11
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We stayed here for three nights. We found the hotel lived up to its good reviews. We were in room 18, a suite..The room was immaculate with a lovely shower room, Breakfast was to a good standard. In addition to the normal tea facilities in the room fresh bottles of water each day were a nice touch. The town was all within walking distance with a wide range of of places to eat available..We would certainly be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
438 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

My wife and I have just returned home after spending one night in Bury and sleeping at The Chantry. It is in an outstanding location a stone's throw from the cathedral and shops, easy to find (once you remember the address for your sat nav!), and has its own parking. Our suite (near the back on the first floor) was very comfortable and quiet considering the situation. It was also very well insulated from the other rooms and we were surprised when we went down for breakfast at 9.00 that most of the other guests were already down as we hadn't heard a thing. Breakfast was fine with quite a wide selection including fresh strawberries and plain yoghurt (the absence of which is quite common in other hotels in my experience). All the staff we met were very helpful. Our only criticism is that we found the bed rather soft for our taste. But nonetheless we highly recommend the Chantry.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Googly2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blessington, Ireland
Level Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Having read other trip reviews we felt this was the place to stay in Bury St E. We soon discovered it was, our room was very good so was the single room our fiend stayed in, so was the excellent breakfast and the staff were very helpful and friendly. We arrived late Saturday afternoon, checked in and decided to explore the town and a local decent beer before we eventually headed off to pre booked dinner. On our return to the Chantry we discovered we had a flat tyre, not a good day of the week to have one of these. The next morning the owner Nigel made it his business to help us out, he arranged for the spare tyre to be changed over and checked out on-line that there was one place open outside the town to get the repair fixed. He made it all so simple for us including great directions to find the repairer and none of this potential stressful situation was allowed to hinder our very pleasant stay thanks to Nigel. Don't hesitate to come to this very pleasant place and experience great hospitality and service - nothing is too much trouble here! Thanks Nigel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank siobhan_peter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a one night stay at The Chantry, and what a find! Quaint and charming, my wife and I couldn't fault it. Peaceful location, parking, yet close to town centre. Delicious breakfast! Will most certainly return soon.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank TonyF1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
70 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

It's not flashy but is really well located, good parking and the couple who ran it were friendly and helpful. The room was small and ok, nothing to write home about, bed was very comfortable and the breakfast was seriously good. We stayed here because we were at a party locally - would stop over again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Small hotel with great breakfast. Central for town cathedral theatre and easy to get to lavenham and Cambridge. If only evening meals. But four min from restaurants. We will come again. A good family business.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank enuttybird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bury St Edmunds hotels
0.2 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,152 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Bury St Edmunds Town Centre Hotel
Premier Inn Bury St Edmunds Town...
#1 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
4.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Western Priory Hotel
Best Western Priory Hotel
#7 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel
Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel
#4 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
2.5 mi away
All Saints Hotel
All Saints Hotel
#6 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Ickworth Hotel
The Ickworth Hotel
#1 of 2 in Horringer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chantry Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chantry Hotel

Property: The Chantry Hotel
Address: 8 Sparhawk Street, Bury St Edmunds IP33 1RY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Bury St Edmunds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Bury St Edmunds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Chantry Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chantry Hotel is situated in the heart of historic Bury St Edmunds. It is close to the town centre,shops and restaurants. It offers 14 en-suite rooms with a bar/lounge for the guests to use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Chantry Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chantry Hotel Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing