We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bury St Edmunds
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Regency House Hotel
Ranked #35 of 53 Bury St Edmunds B&B and Inns
Reviewed 21 September 2011

We usually stay in another B&B in Bury, but for this trip needed to be in the town centre so chose this hotel. The location was excellent, right in the town centre, and there was parking at the hotel (something missing at our usual place).

The staff were extremely helpful - when we told them we were having a late night so would probably miss breakfast, they offered to bring it to our room at 9.30am! And I'm not talking toast and croissants - this is the only B&B I've stayed in which brought a full English hot, delicious breakfast to your room!

The room (14) was very small, however, barely room to walk around the two twin beds, but very clean. The communal areas were dated, but the room was newer although the old fashioned bedspreads let it down. We found the room quiet throughout the night.

We were delighted to see a newly refurbished bathroom, however, were disappointed to find extremely low water pressure, I could barely get the soap out of my hair with the dribble coming out of the shower.

Then when we went to the main bar area to check out, there was an intimidating group of men sitting outside drinking (at 10.30am) who we had to pass, and who made us feel very uncomfortable, but this could have been a one-off.

All in all, we would definitely stay here again, the location and parking are what makes it worthwhile, as well as the amazingly helpful staff.

Room Tip: I can only speak for Room 14, which was small, but quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JanaHols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (65)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 65 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2011

We spent 2 nights at this hotel after checking out of another that we disliked. Our room was excellent, very clean and well fitted. There is a decent sized car park. The breakfast was fine and served quickly. The owners and staff were friendly. We would use this hotel again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank helech0s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2011

Having found the Regency such a good base for the Bury Christmas markets last November we used it again to do the Bury-Clare long distance footpath on our anniversary weekend. We again had a room in the annex, but this one turned out to be more like a suite - a huge room with a king-sized bed and a settee you could sleep on, enough floor space for us both to do our cool down exercises without getting in each other's way; double doors opening out into a conservatory with table and chairs and further doors opening on to a walled lawn. We had a problem with a lack of hot water on the first night, but once reported the following morning this was immediately fixed and apologised for. The hotel also did sandwiches and a flask for our walk and kept eight bottles of water in their wine fridge overnight ready for the morning of the walk. Breakfasts were excellent, atmosphere relaxed and service friendly and attentive. And, of course, it is so central for all of Bury's amenities.

Room Tip: Our monster room was No 20. Recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank norfolknobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2011

We have stayed here before and the service is always the same.Unable to find fault with anything.Staff lovely.In town centre with large car park so you can leave your car there and go into town which is a 2 minute walk.On a dry day you can sit outside in the garden area or in the conservatory if wet.Either way you can enjoy yourself.Been before and will be going again as it's an ideal place for us to stay when we go to visit a friend of our's.

Room Tip: Had 3 different rooms and they were all satisfactory.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank linton22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2011

Was looking forward to staying here as we were all attending a family wedding and there are many reasons to stay here that other reviewers have commented on including the food and also the service of the lady at breakfast was excellent, ample parking and great location within Bury St Edmunds, but the noise is something else!
On the two nights we were there the room above us sounded like someone was putting flat pack furniture together and on the morning that we left the there was a lady, who I believe was the manager/owner, talking so loudly it was crazy! We had no sleep on either night and to not even be able to eat breakfast in peace was the reason that we would not return. We were also taken aback that we were not asked once how our stay had been and like another reviewer, to find someone was a herculean effort to get something done,

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fleckie1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2011

On the plus side, this hotel is situated in a lovely part of England and has a good location. While the rooms were clean and very big, the decor was old fashioned and musty (the iron left rust stains on clothes!) and the windows had views of outside walls or into other parts of the hotel- no privacy unless the curtains were closed. The main reason I was very disappointed is the complete lack of service- the staff were nice but completely unavailable and unattentive-getting any assistance (for small things, like the time of breakfast) was impossible and you felt that you were imposing when you finally found someone! We were also completely rushed out of the place.

There are other lovely places to stay in Bury with great locations (the Fox has amazing food & looked great)- stay in one of them & don't waste your money on this second rate hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laethantasaoire1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2011

Loved this hotel, very central for everything in Bury St Edmunds. Lots of parking too, which is always welcome. Staff were very helpful and friendly. We were given a lovely large room with a balcony - very clean and bed was really comfy, decorated with lovely wallpaper. The star of the show though was breakfast, definitely one of the nicest cooked breakfasts I've ever had - a great start to the day. Pity about the orange juice though (only a small gripe) but I think that they should make an effort to at least buy a good quality one, as this was pretty awful. All in all, a great place to stay and we will definitely return.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OSCAR11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bury St Edmunds hotels
1 mi away
Best Western Priory Hotel
Best Western Priory Hotel
#7 of 10 in Bury St Edmunds
519 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#2 of 10 in Bury St Edmunds
1,246 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Grange Hotel
The Grange Hotel
#1 of 1 in Thurston
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Six Bells Inn
Six Bells Inn
#1 of 1 in Bardwell
131 reviews
3 mi away
The Ickworth Hotel
The Ickworth Hotel
#1 of 2 in Horringer
709 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Bury St Edmunds Town Centre Hotel
Premier Inn Bury St Edmunds Town...
#1 of 10 in Bury St Edmunds
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regency House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regency House Hotel

Address: 3 Looms Lane, Bury St Edmunds IP33 1HE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Bury St Edmunds
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Bury St Edmunds
Number of rooms: 17
Also Known As:
Regency House Hotel Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing