We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very Good”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bury St Edmunds
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Regency House Hotel
Ranked #35 of 53 Bury St Edmunds B&B and Inns
Reviewed 11 September 2013

I have always stayed in the Regency when working in Bury st Edmunds and thats been for some 20 years on and off.
The food is great and staff are friendly,the hotel has recently been refurbished in areas like dining room and bedrooms and it now has WiFi so well in the 21st century but the bathroom in R16 must be the smallest on the planet.
very nice hotel and kept in the style of the area.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 4083happytimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (65)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 65 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2013

Chose this hotel because of its proximity to Bury town centre, has its own off street parking and was reasonably priced. First impression is a bit shabby, but its a real gem in the making - just needs a little more polish. Staff were very friendly and made us feel welcome.

Afraid we were probably the elephants, we had a room upstairs with a balcony overlooking the car park. The room was very large with settee and huge telly, French doors were particularly handy as the temperature during our stay was much more than we are used too and clean fresh bedding during our three day stay was greatly appreciated.

The bathroom (up three narrow steps) was clean and looked recently renovated though the shower head reduced the water pressure to a sprinkle (due to the water I know, but could be easily sorted). Had a bar meal which was excellent as was the very tasty breakfast each morning.

Would recommend this hotel, and as other reviewers have stated, if it continues to renovate will be a real jewel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank plancky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

I am in room 5.
The shower room is spotless and the shower is excellent(Could do with new head soon)
The bed is really comfortable and firm and again the bedroom is spotless with lovely clean fresh smelling linen.
New clean towels each morning.
The bedroom, hall and bathroom are spotlessly clean, done daily I think THANKYOU.
Only grumbles (which is why i didnt give it maximum points) are slight noise from room above and the only small openable window allows full view of me in bed from access pathway when open. (style of blind blocks all air if down)
Carpets on stairs outside my room whilst again spotlessly clean are becoming threadbare.
The car park is huge, spacious and secure.
The bar has a good selection and is very reasonably priced, infact cheaper than some local pubs!
I had garlic bread and scampi and chips last night of the bar menu....YUM!!!! Cannot fault in any way.
Tonight I ate in the Restraunt, its beautifull I had prawns to start and Lamb as a main...WOW!!!!
The staff are fantastic in every way!

Room Tip: room 5 has only a small window
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jb394033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

An overnight stay was just not long enough! Bar food good value for money, rooms good size, ample parking nearby all attractions of Bury. Good breakfast including a variety of fresh items on the breakfast bar followed by a cooked breakfast tea and toast. Attentive to detail and a very pleasant stay. We are just trying to sort out our next break at the hotel.

Room Tip: No problem with our room over the bar and facing the car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisMick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013

Have stayed at the Regency several times over the last couple of years. The whole team are trying really hard to restore this nice little hotel to former glories. The location is superb, car parking facilities probably the best in Bury St Edmunds. Always a warm and friendly welcome even though some of the team are a bit shy. The cheery revamped restaurant looks a thousand times better than before. The hotel layout is eccentric, but the rooms have always been spotless. Quality of the breakfast very high. Agree with someone else's comment about elephants dancing on the ceiling if you are in a ground floor room. Well done the Regency management and staff, keep up the good work.

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor can suffer from elephants walking across the ceiling.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FoodyBrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2012

This hotel, albeit a bit dated inside and in need of some easily-achievable TLC, was perfectly located near to everything of interest in Bury and provided us with a wonderful suite of rooms - very large bedroom/lounge with 2 beds, sofa, etc; lobby; good-sized, clean, modern bathroom; and the bonus of a conservatory with doors out to the garden - all in complete privacy and at the far end of the hotel away from most guests, and casual patrons. A real treat.
The major down-side to be aware of is that if anyone is upstairs (in Room 22) you hear absolutely EVERY noise they make - with total clarity and intrusion - including their breathing/snoring when they sleep. You will only have a good night yourself if you sleep like a log! The owners would do well by their paying guests to put a false floor on top of the existing one in No.22 in order to prevent this.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Deesuthers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2012

Pleasant hotel well situated for the town centre and with ample parkingh. The room was clean and tidy with a modern en suite. Breakfast was lovely although the full english was a little small. The staff were all friendly and helpful. Overall a nice experience.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rovingsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bury St Edmunds hotels
0.1 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#2 of 10 in Bury St Edmunds
1,249 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Grange Hotel
The Grange Hotel
#1 of 1 in Thurston
265 reviews
8.1 mi away
Six Bells Inn
Six Bells Inn
#1 of 1 in Bardwell
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
The Ickworth Hotel
The Ickworth Hotel
#1 of 2 in Horringer
709 reviews
1 mi away
Best Western Priory Hotel
Best Western Priory Hotel
#7 of 10 in Bury St Edmunds
519 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Bury St Edmunds Town Centre Hotel
Premier Inn Bury St Edmunds Town...
#1 of 10 in Bury St Edmunds
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regency House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regency House Hotel

Address: 3 Looms Lane, Bury St Edmunds IP33 1HE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Bury St Edmunds
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Bury St Edmunds
Number of rooms: 17
Also Known As:
Regency House Hotel Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing