We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Far better than expected!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bury St Edmunds
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Regency House Hotel
Ranked #31 of 53 Bury St Edmunds B&B and Inns
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Far better than expected!”
Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

Very pleasant stay in a lovely room. Everything we needed to hand after a long journey. Tastefully decorated & clean.Super breakfast in a dining room with a "twist"! Pleasant helpful staff. Hope to return"!Very easy to find & well situated for a visit to the town & area.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 56superbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    30
    12
    5
    1
See reviews for
9
23
4
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
manchester
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

The Regency House Hotel provides excellent accommodation and food, as well as very attentive, friendly and personal service to its guests. My room was almost a suite and the bathroom very spacious. There was even an adjoining private conservatory.
The a la carte dinner menu offers a varied selection of starters and mains. On the two occasions I dined in the restaurant, the meals were cooked to perfection. Breakfasts are also excellent.
To conclude, I thoroughly recommend this historic hotel, which is centrally positioned for exploring countryside and coast. It also has the advantage of its own private car park, essential for a city centre location.

Room Tip: There are 2 ground floor bedrooms in a separate annexe but right next to the hotel's dining area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We were once again back to this lovely hotel. The dinning room has been decorated since our last stay and it has made it a lot lighter,the photo's of the Beatles add to it. I wish I could have taken one from the wall to take home. The service is just as good and we got the room with the balcony which we like to have if it is available. Having said that the rooms we have stayed in before are just as nice and comfortable. Breakfast good as per and the evening meal excellent. it's good to be staying in a hotel with it's own car park and almost in the town centre so no worries about parking. We were there to meet a friend who had a single room and she was impressed as it was the 1st time she had stayed there.

Room Tip: Any room in this hotel will be good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank linton22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Called the week before and booked a twin room and agreed the price. Arrived on Saturday afternoon in a grubby and run down reception area. Given key to a room and pointed in the direction of it. No offer to be shown to the room or help with luggage. Upon arriving in the room it was a double so I had to trek back to reception, ring the bell again and wait for someone to arrive. She then proceeded to show me the entry in their bookings diary. Why? I don’t care what you have written down.

Was then given the option of 2 other rooms but then told couldn’t have one of them for an hour because they’re allowing a family to use the bathroom! This happened to be the room we preferred as the other room one had to walk through the single bedroom to access the bathroom. So I advised the receptionist we would be taking this room and they would have to find other arrangements for the bathroom facilities.

The room was clean but dated, paper doilies on every surface, no toiletries anywhere, no tea bags, no clock, no black out curtains so was wide awake at 7am when the sun came up. Considering the size of the room the clothes hanging facilities are very poor. There aren’t any extra pillows in the room, the wifi kept dropping. The bathroom while clean needs some colour and design to it.

Breakfast was good but despite mentioning the lack of toiletries and tea bags to the waitress we returned to our room 45 mins later and they hadn’t been put in the room.

This hotel doesn’t provide anything that a 4* hotel should provide as standard and the whole place needs decorating.

Upon checking out I was made to walk from the reception to the restaurant to pay and not once was I asked if I'd had a nice stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MsVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Hi,
I have stayed at this hotel quite a few time and it is amazing 1st class rooms all spotless, The service is second to none and all the staff go that extra mile to assist you from helping with your luggage to delivering food to your room, There is a great public house and restaurant with the hotel been a lady alone on business so room service is 1st class.

This is a small friendly Hotel and for the lady staying alone while on business is perfect
Room 17 is excellent my favourite but all rooms are spacious and well furnished. So if your looking for a great hotel in Bury St Edmunds there is none better than the Regency. you will be very satisfied with your stay.
Thank you to all staff. a pleasure to stay at your hotel.

Room Tip: Room 17 is fantastic however all room are 1st class and very clean. you will not be disappointed wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We had an overnight stay recently, the hotel is in a great location, minutes walk from the town. The staff were all very friendly and made you feel very welcome. Our room was huge, lovely comfortable bed, big comfy sofa in front of a huge tv. will definately be rebooking to stay again

Room Tip: we stayed in the balcony room, is a little more expensive, but worth it !
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank juliemoore_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

We stayed here previously and decided to accept the management recommendation to try the re-decorated balcony room for our recent stay in September 2013. The room has 1940s décor but it has been carefully restored. It is very spacious with a large red, velvet-covered settee and large screen TV. The balcony gives a pleasant view over part of the town. The thing to be aware of is the steps up to the bathroom - or more importantly, be careful exiting the bathroom!
The staff were very pleasant and helpful, breakfast and dinner were great and served in a relaxing atmosphere. The lounge bar is very comfortable and a relaxing place to enjoy the atmosphere and the company of your guests.
This hotel is in an excellent location within very easy walking distance to the town centre and Abbey Gardens.
All in all, we enjoyed our stay here and look forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: If you have trouble with stairs there are ground floor rooms with good access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John_Kaye17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bury St Edmunds hotels
0.3 mi away
The Chantry Hotel
The Chantry Hotel
#2 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
209 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
1,181 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western Priory Hotel
Best Western Priory Hotel
#7 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Dragonfly Hotel Bury St Edmunds
Dragonfly Hotel Bury St Edmunds
#11 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
413 reviews
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
83 Whiting Street Bed & Breakfas...
#33 of 53 in Bury St Edmunds
13 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Northgate
The Northgate
#2 of 53 in Bury St Edmunds
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regency House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regency House Hotel

Property: Regency House Hotel
Address: 3 Looms Lane, Bury St Edmunds IP33 1HE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Bury St Edmunds
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Bury St Edmunds
Number of rooms: 17
Also Known As:
Regency House Hotel Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing