We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Lady behind the bar.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Black Boy, Bury St Edmunds
Ranked #42 of 53 Bury St Edmunds B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 July 2014

I rarely come here but I used to go with my dad and the lady behind the bar is absolutely lovely! She's kind and chatty and really makes you feel welcome. I should go here more often but I don't go into town too much.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharrie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (45)
There are newer reviews for The Black Boy, Bury St Edmunds
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 45 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Fantastic location in the centre of Bury. The rooms are in desperate need of a refurb. Rusting window lintel's, chipped sinks. The landlord is friendly and the breakfast is fab. Apparently it's mainly used by tradesmen by the week. Even they shouldn't have it this bad, maybe they don't care. Warn people.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DaisymayUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

I stayed here only one night to go to a concert at the Royal Theatre.

It is very well located, halfway between the bus station and the theatre, and near the city centre as well. The rooms are basic, but impeccably clean, and all the furnishings seem new and well maintained. The bathroom was spotless as well. It was a terribly cold day, but it was adequately heated and there were warm blankets in the cupboard.

I arrived well before check-in time, but was shown to my room immediately anyway.

I would definitely stay here again, it offers very good value for the price.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank singtheendsong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights. The room and ensuite were both clean. The shower worked well and the heater in the room was very good. The owner was friendly and efficient. The pub was friendly - I took part in a fun pub quiz one night. The owner has a dog but the dog did not go into the accommodation area (the dog was very well behaved and is quite used to people). It is possible to walk everywhere in Bury St Edmunds from the Black Boy pub. The room could be noisy in the summer as it is above the outdoor seating area. However, it is a pub so there is going to be some noise. Take earplugs and you will be ok. I would be happy to stay there again.

Room Tip: Take ear plugs if you are worried about the noise from the outdoor seating area.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Onslow12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Thought I would take a friend to the 'Black Boy' for a beer but unfortunately if was terrible. the Abbot Ale was £3.50 a pint and tasted of green apples/vinegar as it was off we left our pints and went down the road to the new Oakes bar where the cask beers are all great and much much cheaper..........not good Greene King you should be ashamed

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
4  Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013 via mobile

A friend and I stayed in Bury for the weekend and she booked this B and B. The room Itself was as the other reviews have said very basic and a little tatty around the edges, but clean with a good tv and tea, coffee etc.... I feel you pay for what you get so if you want something more modern or whatever you are going to pay more in the town.
Positives: great location, free parking, clean, great shower, nice pub downstairs, friendly
locals and dog
Downside: a little tattered interiors and bedding in room, breakfast is early and no option for later except on Sundays, mattresses extremely uncomfortable (bearable for two nights)
Please bear in mind the time of year we visited as the rooms do overlook the beer garden which I would imagine is noisy in the summer, but it's a pub what do you expect!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Sazzan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013

We stayed here for our weekend trip to Bury St Edmunds and overall was not too impressed. Parking was difficult initially as once we found the B&B we were told parking is at the back, rather than open the gates for us to drive into the parking spaces we had to drive around a series of roundabouts and one way systems to get to the back of the B&B, easily getting lost. The pub itself is a lovely old English pub with a dark interior and a big open fire, has a nice feel to it. Owner and his dog are nice, careful not to trip over the dogs toys left lying around the pub. Dog is friendly and we love dogs so not an issue for us but can see this being off putting for some. Room upstairs a big let down... run down, basic and feeling very unloved. Bland decor, carpets scruffy with rugs held down with duct tape (visible around edges), small old TV with digital box - 2 remote controls and lots of messing just to watch TV, paint work around room marked an scuffed, grubby windows. This B&B needs a bit of time an love I think. Room noisy on first night until 1am as over beer garden, rock music and general noise from people in beer garden, windows single glazed so able to hear everything = no sleep! Positives are: twin beds quite comfy, breakfast was very nice and lots to choose from, good location, owner nice and chatty and a generally nice pub to drink in. All this place needs is a bit of TLC for the rooms and it would be great!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lromal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bury St Edmunds hotels
0.3 mi away
The Chantry Hotel
The Chantry Hotel
#2 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
213 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
1,208 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Dog & Partridge
The Dog & Partridge
#13 of 53 in Bury St Edmunds
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Bushel
The Bushel
#11 of 53 in Bury St Edmunds
204 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Fox Inn
The Fox Inn
#2 of 53 in Bury St Edmunds
385 reviews
6.9 mi away
The Den
The Den
#3 of 3 in Ixworth
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Black Boy, Bury St Edmunds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Black Boy, Bury St Edmunds

Address: 69 Guildhall Street, Bury St Edmunds IP33 1QD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Bury St Edmunds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Bury St Edmunds
Price Range: £77 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Black Boy, Bury St Edmunds 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Black Boy, Bury St Edmunds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Black Boy, Bury St Edmunds Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing