We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High quality, great value.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bury St Edmunds
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
St Edmunds Guest House
Ranked #24 of 53 Bury St Edmunds B&B and Inns
West Yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“High quality, great value.”
Reviewed 20 November 2011

I was very impressed by this place. As others have commented, the location at the junction of busy roads doesn't look promising, but the double-glazing (like everything else) is very efficient and I didn't find noise a problem. I had Room 1, a spacious double, for which I paid £47. Everything in the room was brand-new, immaculately clean, well-fitted and tasteful. The same could be said of the pleasant breakfast room. There's also a receptionist on duty during the daytime, which I thought was a big plus; all the staff I encountered were pleasant and helpful. Altogether, this place offers high quality accommodation at remarkably good value. Also brand-new in Bury is the Apex concert-hall, a stunning venue with a great range of events going on.

Room Tip: Room 1 was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fairfax09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    27
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
11
23
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, England
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

excellent guest house, to a high standard well fitted rooms with friendly staff, good location central to town. Will stay again :-)

Room Tip: ask if parking is availible
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markw63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffs
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2011

The St Edmunds is a guest house that has friendly, helpful staff, comfortable rooms which are luxurious (but not in an exaggerated, in-your-face way), tasty breakfast and all of the facilities that most people will require. It is also handy for the city centre (about 5 mins walk) - it is right by an intersection of two roads though, but as I thought it was so good, I did not want to deduct any stars for this.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BenjaminBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, CO
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2011

Great B&B in a fine location in Bury St. Edmunds. Clean, comfortable, and accomodating with our young child. We enjoyed our brief stay. Love the garden and view.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MindyKBoulder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
the upper midwest
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2011

This guesthouse is a great value for money, close to the centre of Bury. We stayed in a recently added triple room with very nice furnishings--far better than the usual overstuffed floral horrors found in so many places. The owner is wonderful, helpful, and just plain nice. There was some street noise at night, but that's what you get for being so close in, I guess. All the staff--from reception to wait staff was extremely pleasant. We'd love to stay here again!

Room Tip: Ask the staff!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DoubleN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BLACKPOOL
1 review
Reviewed 7 June 2011

friendly, helpful, clean and tidy, good breakfast
close to bus and train stations and town centre

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LEGSAKIMBO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2010

Very clean, bright, modern & friendly hotel. No frills but very reasonably priced especially as a home cooked breakfast is included. Really close to town centre with shops and restaurants (2 minutes walk and you are in the heart of it all). There is also free off street parking available. Would 100% stay here again

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emma1664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bury St Edmunds hotels
0.8 mi away
Best Western Priory Hotel
Best Western Priory Hotel
#7 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
486 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
1,182 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Grange Hotel
The Grange Hotel
#1 of 1 in Thurston
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Chantry Hotel
The Chantry Hotel
#2 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
209 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bushel
The Bushel
#10 of 53 in Bury St Edmunds
200 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Northgate
The Northgate
#2 of 53 in Bury St Edmunds
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Edmunds Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Edmunds Guest House

Property: St Edmunds Guest House
Address: 35 St Andrews St North, Bury St Edmunds IP33 1SZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Bury St Edmunds
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Bury St Edmunds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — St Edmunds Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
St Edmunds Guest House Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing