We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice B&B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bury St Edmunds
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
St Edmunds Guest House
Ranked #24 of 53 Bury St Edmunds B&B and Inns
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice B&B”
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Stayed here for 1 night for my cousins wedding.
The hotel is in a great location only 5 mins from the train station and town centre.
Very friendly staff and an excellent breakfast cooked fresh so it is hot when it gets to your table! Room was very good plenty of room in it for my 2 kids, partner and me.
There was tea & coffee making facilities in the room too.
Overall a very good B&B in a great central location.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikelen1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    27
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
11
23
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 4 July 2012

The St Edmunds Guest house is a great place to stay, the rooms are modern and the staff are friendly and helpful. On the whole, a great place to stay in a fanastic town.

My only problem that I had was the heat of the hotel. For some reason, between the hours of 6am to 12midnight, the whole hotel is heated to 20 degrees. Sometimes its a little stiffling. There is a radiator in your room that can make your room hotter and that is all. We were provided with a fan but it did little to help with the temperature. Opening the window wasn't an option since the guesthouse is situated very near a busy road which makes it even more difficult to sleep. You either cannot sleep because of the heat, or the noise from the road (the road of course being out of their control)

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TopiCarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

Greeted by friendly staff on arrival. Room was well presented, warm, clean and tidy. Had free off street parking. Tea facilities in room. Cot provided free of charge.

Breakfast was delicious!!!

Great value for money.

If your looking for somewhere in Bury to stay for a decent price, location and service, this is your place!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dandareLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2012

We've stayed at St Edmund's twice now, the first time in summer, the second in winter. It was the most competitively priced B&B we could find in Bury St E. When booking the first time I asked for a particular room that - in the online photos - looked like it would suit my tall husband. The receptionist advised that the sloping roof was out of shot and that she'd book us into a room on the first floor - which was extremely helpful!

To our delight on both occasions, we found that at no point had the price compromised the quality. It is an absolutely spotlessly clean hotel. The staff were approachable, helpful and friendly. The furnishings and decor were unobtrusive and of a good standard.

The breakfast is good: freshly cooked so you wait a few minutes - but that's the way it should be. The coffee & toast refills were plentiful and freely offered. The dining room was pleasant, but at that time of day it's all about the caffeine.

They have a car park across the road which is free, though during busy traffic times you have to be brave and cross the road like you mean it.

The only downsides experienced were that we like to sleep in a very cool room and it was a little too warm in summer, so we opened the window - sleep was broken by noise from separate groups Saturday night revellers going past in the wee hours.

We will return.

Room Tip: Talk to the receptionist and discuss any particulars! If you don't talk to them, they don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank The-Current-Mrs-F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

We stayed at the St. Edmunds Guesthouse for 2 nights in late November for the Christmas market. Before arriving I informed the appropriate person that we would not be arriving till close to 8 o’clock. The time that reception was suppose to close. We were informed that this wasn’t a problem and someone would be around for our arrival. The guesthouse is located on the end corner of the street near a mini roundabout, can’t say that ever hearing traffic was a problem. We were staying in room 2. This was located on the bottom floor of the guesthouse. Kind of like a basement room but with view to the garden/patio. This room was right next to the fire exit. The only issues with this room was that it is located below the breakfast room, if you wish for a little longer in bed in the morning you can get awaken by noisy footsteps above you. The room opposite had people running up and down the stairs every 5 mins at about 10 o’clock at night and just generally being noisy. This was nothing to do with the guesthouse but just a warning of something to be aware of. Didn’t really bother us as we weren’t trying to sleep by then. The room had a nice comfy bed with 4 pillows and a fleece blanket for the colder times. A fan was also provided. The TV wasn’t very big but then again we weren’t there to watch TV. The bathroom wasn’t very big at all. Certainly a squeeze. When sitting down on the toilet you could rest your chin on the sink basin. The Breakfast was nice and quick. Fruit juices are served every morning along with tea and coffee. There is a selection of cereals and also a full English breakfast which filled you up nicely for the day ahead. There is a dominos pizza directly across the road for those people interested. There is a policy where the owners ask you to eat all takeaway food in a designated area. All in all a very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Higher floors are likely to avoid breakfast noise in the mornings for that desired lay-in
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesBates11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2011

I was very impressed by this place. As others have commented, the location at the junction of busy roads doesn't look promising, but the double-glazing (like everything else) is very efficient and I didn't find noise a problem. I had Room 1, a spacious double, for which I paid £47. Everything in the room was brand-new, immaculately clean, well-fitted and tasteful. The same could be said of the pleasant breakfast room. There's also a receptionist on duty during the daytime, which I thought was a big plus; all the staff I encountered were pleasant and helpful. Altogether, this place offers high quality accommodation at remarkably good value. Also brand-new in Bury is the Apex concert-hall, a stunning venue with a great range of events going on.

Room Tip: Room 1 was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fairfax09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, England
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

excellent guest house, to a high standard well fitted rooms with friendly staff, good location central to town. Will stay again :-)

Room Tip: ask if parking is availible
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markw63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bury St Edmunds hotels
0.8 mi away
Best Western Priory Hotel
Best Western Priory Hotel
#7 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
486 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
1,182 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Grange Hotel
The Grange Hotel
#1 of 1 in Thurston
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Chantry Hotel
The Chantry Hotel
#2 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
210 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bushel
The Bushel
#10 of 53 in Bury St Edmunds
200 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Northgate
The Northgate
#3 of 53 in Bury St Edmunds
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Edmunds Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Edmunds Guest House

Property: St Edmunds Guest House
Address: 35 St Andrews St North, Bury St Edmunds IP33 1SZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Bury St Edmunds
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Bury St Edmunds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — St Edmunds Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
St Edmunds Guest House Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing