We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Conveniently placed for town centre”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bury St Edmunds
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
St Edmunds Guest House
Ranked #24 of 53 Bury St Edmunds B&B and Inns
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Conveniently placed for town centre”
Reviewed 1 October 2012

Very good accommodation and tastefully decorated bedrooms with good quality oak furniture. Excellent super king sized bed with extra pillows in the wardrobe if needed. Breakfast was cooked to order and the staff were very helpful and friendly.
The website does not mention it but in our bedroom (Room 1) we had an integral DVD player which we used but there was no instructions on how to get it back to play TV; we had to re-scan all the channels for this to happen!!
We also had big problems with the shower. I had a luke warm shower that also went very cold and my daughter's shower was either cold or too hot.
When we arrived we were directed to some parking across the road which was fine as it was away from the road because the parking was limited outside the B and B (but crossing this road was a bit scary as it was very busy and close to a main roundabout).
Saying this we had and enjoyable one night stay and would stay here again though.

Room Tip: If travelling with other members of your family, rooms 1 and 2 are downstairs and are placed opposit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phyl D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    27
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
11
23
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Leominster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 September 2012

Very good accommodation, the standard of cleanliness was excellent. Superb breakfasts in the mornings, made and served with care. The staff do a really good job of making a stay enjoyable.
The only downside was the parking facilities, but this would not deter me from staying again.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sarah Jayne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
118 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2012

this is the 2nd time i have stayed at this guest house, its locality if great for both the train station and town centre. yet again a pleasant greeting on arrival, and easy booking in. this guest house is modern, and immaculate, the room was very clean, with en suite, and tea and coffee facilities. the breakfast is simply superb, freshly cooked to order and you can tell, i did find it very hot in the room due to the weather, and no air conditioning, however there was a table fan in the cupboard. i fully recommend this guest house to stay.

many thanks for a great stay

Room Tip: rooms at the back maybe a bit quieter, however the guest house is situated in town near 2 busy roads...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neil w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2012

i book my family here when they come to visit and they have always been happy, nice breakfast, friendly staff, great location, i will continue to book for them and recommend to anyone thats looking for a place to stay, saves me hosting lol

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SUE R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

A wonderfully well appointed guesthouse clean and modern. A good hearty English breakfast with good choices.

Disappointingly though the parking facilities extended to guests was dark and upon my return home found my car to have been damaged, by I believe, one of the many drunken revelers who pass by the guesthouse when the town night life turns. The parking area has a notice for site redevelopment so it may be that this is an informal arrangement. Other parking options are available.

This should not detract though, for its location for the town and all its facilities.

In closing I would use St Edmunds Guest House again but consider alternative parking or even travel by train.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Stayed here for 1 night for my cousins wedding.
The hotel is in a great location only 5 mins from the train station and town centre.
Very friendly staff and an excellent breakfast cooked fresh so it is hot when it gets to your table! Room was very good plenty of room in it for my 2 kids, partner and me.
There was tea & coffee making facilities in the room too.
Overall a very good B&B in a great central location.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikelen1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 4 July 2012

The St Edmunds Guest house is a great place to stay, the rooms are modern and the staff are friendly and helpful. On the whole, a great place to stay in a fanastic town.

My only problem that I had was the heat of the hotel. For some reason, between the hours of 6am to 12midnight, the whole hotel is heated to 20 degrees. Sometimes its a little stiffling. There is a radiator in your room that can make your room hotter and that is all. We were provided with a fan but it did little to help with the temperature. Opening the window wasn't an option since the guesthouse is situated very near a busy road which makes it even more difficult to sleep. You either cannot sleep because of the heat, or the noise from the road (the road of course being out of their control)

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TopiCarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bury St Edmunds hotels
0.8 mi away
Best Western Priory Hotel
Best Western Priory Hotel
#7 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
459 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Grange Hotel
The Grange Hotel
#1 of 1 in Thurston
246 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#4 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
1,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Bushel
The Bushel
#11 of 53 in Bury St Edmunds
197 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Northgate
The Northgate
#3 of 53 in Bury St Edmunds
144 reviews
0.4 mi away
No photo provided
83 Whiting Street Bed & Breakfas...
#34 of 53 in Bury St Edmunds
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Edmunds Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Edmunds Guest House

Property: St Edmunds Guest House
Address: 35 St Andrews St North, Bury St Edmunds IP33 1SZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Bury St Edmunds
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Bury St Edmunds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — St Edmunds Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
St Edmunds Guest House Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing