We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Cafe”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Suffolk Carver

The Suffolk Carver
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Cafe”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

This is a great cafe for either breakfast, lunch or just a tea or coffee while taking a break from your shopping trip. Very reasonably priced and the food is welll cooked and presented. The cafe has tables outside, with sunshades which is great in the summer months and the staff are very friendly and helpful. They also offer a takeaway service and their bacon bagettes are second to none!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DebLeeBSE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    24
    5
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Home cooking at its best..”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

A great little cafe in the centre of town.. The service is very friendly and helpful.
I could see that the portion sizes were generous so I asked if it was ok to share a meal, and they were more than happy to do this for us..
The homemade coleslaw is delicious ..

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank paulabaker1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

Wow, had the jacket potato with homemade chicken curry. I couldn't believe the size of the portions. My husband had the chilli, he said it was the best chilli he had and again the portion was huge. The jackets were cooked perfectly in the oven.
When we walked in there was a big leg of pork available to have in baps with Apple sauce I'll be coming back to try this very soon!

Helpful?
Thank Sebo123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
232 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Conveniently central”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

Nice coffee shop near the centre of the city. Visited with a friend who goes often. I enjoyed our coffee but did not particularly enjoy the visit. Upstairs the tables were very close together. I knocked one over just by gently moving my chair to get out.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank pat w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“English breakfast you could die for”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

Me my wife and 2 friends come here most Saturdays for breakfast and we have never been disappointed yet. The staff are always very polite we find we never wait to long for are meal. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank trevor b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Suffolk Carver also viewed

 
Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk
 

Been to The Suffolk Carver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing