We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing Special but worth a visit”
Review of St Edmunds Tavern - CLOSED

St Edmunds Tavern
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Nothing Special but worth a visit”
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Aesthetics are worthy of note, but after that you are talking OK at best The Edmunds is a Pub, and to be honest that's just how it should be reviewed. Food when available is Pub Grub of a good standard, the ambience is pretty good, but as for a memorable experience it is well short of acceptable.
If its your intention of a night out having a few drinks in a nice atmosphere then you can't go wrong here. This place is gentle without offering anything other than pleasant. The place is commendable in its attempt to offer the "old world pub" but an attempt is the best the best assessment. Staff are OK and eager to oblige, Food OK, the rest average - SORRY

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank terry s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    1
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bury st edmunds
1 review
“Traditional pub how it should be”
Reviewed 18 January 2013

How refreshing to find this pub has gone back to traditional. I used to be a regular here until the last owners ruined it by trying the so called upmarket look!!! Of which failed. I've heard numerous comments over the last few months that the sun was back!! Well it sure is all but the name, I can honestly say apart from the nutshell of which has no comparison the tavern is the only proper drinking hole in the town, lovely building, good selection of ales etc just a all round proper pub atmosphere, congratulations Greene king you got something right

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Please S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Nice town pub, lovely food at a very good price,”
Reviewed 13 December 2012

Went here for dinner as recommend by a village pub and was very happy with the food....I had hunters chicken which was lovely and my husband went for the mixed grill on the specials board and that looked amazing and hubby cleaned the plate, I noticed on the menu the average price for a meal was around seven pounds which was great for home cooked honest food!! There was a lot of drinkers in the pub which we chatted to and was told the tavern is burys finest drinkers pub and we had a great laugh with some of the middle aged locals!! Also they had sky so my husband got into the football!! Bar staff were very friendly and would go back again for sure!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sassyellis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Typical local”
Reviewed 30 November 2012

Had its ups and downs over the year but glad to see a pub still holding its own. its a lovely building.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank S A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“lovely pub with homecooked fresh food”
Reviewed 14 August 2012

what a lovely place, new landlords, friendly staff, clean, nice patio and garden with parking bonus!!, we popped in two weeks ago for aluch when passing to find proper hand cut fresh bread sandwiches took me back to when mum used to cut doorsteps lol, everything was fresh, good selection of beers, we saw sunday roast advertised for £6.95 so went back, and again was homemade, can honestly say it was the best pub roast i have eaten, would warn u to book if you have more than 2 people eating as it was very busy, we will be back and highly recommend

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank darren f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed St Edmunds Tavern also viewed

 
Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk
Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk
 
Walsham-le-Willows, Bury St Edmunds
Woolpit, Bury St Edmunds
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing