We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Value” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dragonfly Hotel Bury St Edmunds

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dragonfly Hotel Bury St Edmunds
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Bury St Edmunds
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
167 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Good Value”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed there on New Years Eve with another couple whilst visiting friends in Bury. Considering it was New Years Eve, the price of £47.20 was really good value. The refurbed rooms were fine, flat screen TV and new bathroom. The water was hot and towels a generous size. We only needed a bed, so it was perfectly adequate for our requirements. We didn't have breakfast, so can't comment.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jolyn52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    67
    112
    79
    75
See reviews for
56
128
15
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arundel, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

Room was nice. Very clean and tidy but hot, windows werent very good had troulbe opening them. Nice big doulbe bed, did my usall look under the bed routine and found someones sock!
Reception area is a bit wierd, its all open plan with the kitchen,bar and dinning room. The two nights a i was there the smell from the cooking was really bad. The first night you could hardly see accross the bar for smoke. I was advised by another guest not to eat in the restaurant, after looking i took there advise!
Breakfast in the morning was ok with a fair choice on offer.
The reception staff were ok, bar staff were pretty poor and seemed to only want to watch the TV or stand about talking in the smelly kitchen.
Upon leaving i was presented with a bill for 8 drinks from the bar, i only had 1 glass of wine on my first night!!. Asked to see the bar reciepts which they didnt have!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bury St Edmunds hotels

Maldon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

We stayed at the Quality Inn on New Years Eve in one of the refurbished rooms. We have stayed at this hotel many times before as an overnight stop for convenience of location to Bury St Edmunds. It has been called The Butterfly, Ramada and now Quality Inn, as one of the staff on our previous visit advised 'same hotel different name'.
The hotel is tired and the refurbished rooms are still in need of money spent, to live up to the name of Quality Inn, the carpet worn, although new tiles and taps in the en suite it still has the old sink, bath/shower and lime scale! The bed and bed linen are clean and comfortable. You do get what you pay for and for £53 it is perfectly adequate for an overnight stop, £10 per person for breakfast there is a choice of continental or full English.
Many local contractors seem to use this hotel for breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GillyBean101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
62 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

Stayed with friends for a couple of nights. Little concerned at mixed reviews, but we had been let down by another hotel in Bury, so this arranged last minute. Fairly modern looking building mile or so outside of Bury town centre. Long walk or taxi (£5) needed to get to centre. Reception area quite basic and as area is open plan next to restaurant, smelled of stale food. Our room was absolutely fine - rather characterless but clean, everything worked and decent, large bed. Room was hot, but cooled when we opened window. Bar area bit grotty - mismatched seating which was worn and shabby. Waited ages to get a drink at the bar and young member of staff seemed a bit unsure. Did not eat there- thought town was better option. Aware of other guests having problems with bookings - one couple had no room allocated, so staff found them accommodation elsewhere. For the money, just about adequate.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sparky0191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stradbroke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

I had booked, via an internet booking agency, for 2 nights for my wife and myself and friends who were to drive down to meet us, and had received the confirmation that all was well. Two days before we were due to leave our phone rang once and stopped. On looking at the phone number and recognising the area code as Bury St Edmunds, I checked and found it was the Quality Inn who had called. I rang them, and after about an hour of continual calls, finally got through to be told that they didn't have our booking and there were no rooms available for us. The receptionist told me that they had found rooms at another hotel many miles away but all the nearer ones were full. To cut a long story short I had to contact our friends and cancel the meeting and, as you can no doubt guess, was not impressed with the service. I was informed that they would again look at alternative accommodation and "get back" to me. This didn't happen and I once again called them to ensure that the booking, for rooms that they didn't have, was cancelled. Had I not called the hotel we would have arrived to find no rooms and no possibility of getting any.
I can't remember having had such bad service. It would seem that their customer care is "you are the customer and we don't care"!

Room Tip: My advice to travellers would be "find an alternative hotel"!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anthony A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

Booked in for 2 nights for Bury Xmas Fayre. Went to the restaurant at 6.45 pm for dinner- both the bar and restaurant staffed with only 2 male members of staff on a Friday evening ! They worked incredibly hard but as a direct result it too nearly 2 hours to be served 2 courses ! The dining area was not very full of diners but within the half hour - 2 menu choices were unavailable - whitebait and cannelloni ! Starters were served wrong e.g. pate without the test. Waiting for service took so long 1 man tried to get drinks from the bar - but you've guessed it - there was nobody serving. We would have liked a dessert but gave up by 8.30pm . It's such a shame as a lot of custom was lost - we were certainly not going to eat there another evening - and our fellow diners felt the same. Come on Quality get some extra staff on duty - on a Friday evening .

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

The organisation was a shambles. My sister arrived early and booked us both in - in 2 rooms. When I arrived I collected my key and went to the room to find another persons luggage in the room. Went back to reception and was given a new room only to find that this too was occupied. Finally managed to get an empty room. The staff were friendly and apologetic but not very organised.
The room and bathroom was clean and had been newly refurbished - but very cheaply. The kettle didn't work. The bed and pillow were the absolutely terrible. The room was very hot and the thermostat on the radiator didn't work. Couldn't open the windows because of the road noise.
The evening meal was poor and we had to wait ages for it. The kitchen was open-plan so the whole of the public area smelt of stale cooking fat. Not a good experience.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley457
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bury St Edmunds
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Bury St Edmunds Town Centre Hotel
Premier Inn Bury St Edmunds Town...
#1 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
4.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,107 reviews
1.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Priory Hotel
BEST WESTERN Priory Hotel
#7 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
The Grange Hotel
The Grange Hotel
#1 of 1 in Thurston
3.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
23.7 mi away
Dragonfly Hotel Colchester
2.2 mi away
Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel
Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel
#2 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dragonfly Hotel Bury St Edmunds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dragonfly Hotel Bury St Edmunds

Property: Dragonfly Hotel Bury St Edmunds
Address: Symonds Road, Bury St Edmunds IP32 7DZ, England (Formerly Quality Hotel Bury St. Edmunds)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Bury St Edmunds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Bury St Edmunds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Dragonfly Hotel Bury St Edmunds 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly the Quality Hotel Bury St Edmunds, this is a modern hotel located close to the historic town of Bury St Edmunds. Dragonfly Hotel Bury St Edmunds is located on the edge of the delightful old town and is in close proximity to Cambridge, Ely and Newmarket, making it the ideal base from which to explore the charms of East Anglia. When choosing hotels in Bury St Edmunds, the comfortable surroundings and great service make Dragonfly Hotel Bury St Edmunds a great choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Dragonfly Hotel Bury St Edmunds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Bury St. Edmunds Hotel Bury St. Edmunds
Bury St. Edmunds Ramada
Dragonfly Hotel Bury St Edmunds Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing