We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1990's time warp.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dragonfly Hotel Bury St Edmunds
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Bury St Edmunds
Melksham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“1990's time warp.”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

If anyone has ever seen the TV program "I'm Alan Partridge" they will find this hotel very familiar. In the program Alan having fallen on hard times lives in a cheap hotel by a busy A road. The hotel is typical 90's in both style and decor with some indifferent staff thrown in.

On arriving at this hotel I actually thought I had found the same hotel Alan Partridge lived in. A time warp to 1997. All brick, painted wood and cheap furnishings. I'm guessing this hotel was built in the 90's and in all honesty I think it has not seen one refurbishment during that time. The receptionist could barely raise a smile. To be fair I doubt I would smile if I worked here.

I would not have chosen this hotel if I had a choice. At late notice I had a business appointment in Bury St Edmunds and my company hotel booking system only offered this hotel with available rooms. That should have be a warning I guess.

My room was OK to be fair. Bed was clean and comfortable. Bathroom desperately needs a refurbishment though. The bath was so old the plastic had discoloured - but shower worked fine and hot water was available in the morning. Had a few other guests staying the night too (I counted five spiders). The room also had some great 90's style pictures and furniture. The free wi-fi (without any stupid firewalls or sign up requirements) I have to say was a breath of fresh air and quick enough for streaming.

Breakfast was OK too. Sausages were good quality as was the bacon. Yoghurts and some fruit was available along with a very large plate of cheddar cheese oddly enough. Coffee is from a machine (weak, tasteless) and the apple juice I think had a sugar content of 90% (might now be diabetic).

I thought for the price (£57 including breakfast on my company rate) was pushing it where I thought in this day and age chain hotels had really stepped up their game and places like this just don't exist any more or had long been refurbished.

Two starts purely for having a good nights sleep and free wi-fi.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Camille W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    75
    115
    86
    83
See reviews for
62
137
16
118
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

We went to a nearby wedding and this hotel was on the list. Having read the reviews we were expecting the worst but were very pleasantly surprised. It was ideal for our overnight stay and the room was clean and comfortable. The bed was the best I have slept in. Breakfast was just about edible but can't comment on dinner. If you are looking for the travel lodge experience this is it (minus Toby Carvery). Would visit again if in Bury. 6.5 out of 10.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Charlieandgem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 May 2014

After reading lots of quite negative reviews I was expecting the worst. However, the room was clean albeit a little tired around the edges. There was plenty of pillows and even a couple of toiletries. When asked for extra coffee, tea and milk they were brought to the room within minutes. The staff were pleasant and attentive. The bed was comfortable and it was nice to have a hairdryer provided. If you are looking for luxury then this hotel isn't for you but if you want a clean room, helpful staff and value for money this is a good choice.

I didn't eat in the restaurant so cannot comment on the food.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces away from the A14 as it can be rather noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bendy-Yendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Situated close to Bury St Edmunds (car recommended) a clean and comfortable bed for the night but could do oh so much better. Decor a little "dated" but that could be overlooked if the staff were more welcoming. Breakfast is uninspiring with very little choice - they had runout of yoghurt on the first morning of our stay, not replaced by the second day. We chose poached eggs on the first morning and on the second were asked of we would like scrambled or fried - the "chef" apparently doesn't like doing "poached". Overall rating 6/10

Room Tip: Next to busy A14 but no noise, with windows closed - so not a problem
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felixstowe, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We stayed in this hotel in April 2014 for 1 night.
I had read previous reviews so didn't expect much but it was close to the wedding venue that we was attending and as was good value so i still went ahead and booked it.
We found the rooms very clean and a decent size and the beds were extremely comfortable and more importantly for me at least it had decent pillows.
I think the breakfast at £10 per head was a bit expensive but it was very good nonetheless and considering the price for the room overall the hotel was very good value for money.
We spoke to the receptionist on checkout and she confirmed that the hotel had new owners and had undergone a refit so i can only assume that negative reviews we from before this.
If i was to find fault it would be that the bottom sheet was too small for the bed and there was only 1 bath towel in the room although more was available if you wanted from reception.But as i say i am being very "picky" in finding those faults.
I would not hesitate to book this hotel should i need to visit Bury again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

It is a shame that this Hotel, once called the Butterfly has been allowed to deteriorate by recent owners. Whilst it does offer clean rooms, I was surprised the double room had no wardrobe, merely an open rail.Outside you could be forgiven for thinking it might be abandoned as it obviously hasn't seen any decorators since the previous , previous, owners. It is one of the cheapest, but a considerable walking distance from town, on the far side of the main dual carriageway. I was put off using the dining room by quite an unpleasant staff member, but have to say she was in the minority, most of the staff were very friendly. Indeed, the resident cleaner was more helpful than anybody! I suggest you try asking for a deal with any of the other hotels in town if cost a concern, otherwise comfort best served looking elsewhere!

Room Tip: Look elsewhere !
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank merlian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bury St Edmunds hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
omaha
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Quick summary...read all the reviews here:

Bad:
1. Rundown and in need of renovation.
2. Overgrown landscaping. Not a deal breaker, but indicative of other issues.
3. Rooms outdated with uncomfortable beds.

Good:
1. Only positive was location close to walking trails that lead you to the center of town.
2. Bury is a wonderful town...not really related to this hotel, but that's all I can say positive.

I'd stay here again only if there were not other options.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Omahaeater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bury St Edmunds hotels
1.7 mi away
Best Western Priory Hotel
Best Western Priory Hotel
#7 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
471 reviews
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Bury St Edmunds Town Centre Hotel
Premier Inn Bury St Edmunds Town...
#1 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
419 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#2 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
1,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
The Grange Hotel
The Grange Hotel
#1 of 1 in Thurston
250 reviews
2.8 mi away
All Saints Hotel
All Saints Hotel
#6 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
207 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Chantry Hotel
The Chantry Hotel
#3 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dragonfly Hotel Bury St Edmunds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dragonfly Hotel Bury St Edmunds

Property: Dragonfly Hotel Bury St Edmunds
Address: Symonds Road, Bury St Edmunds IP32 7DZ, England (Formerly Quality Hotel Bury St. Edmunds)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Bury St Edmunds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Bury St Edmunds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Dragonfly Hotel Bury St Edmunds 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly the Quality Hotel Bury St Edmunds, this is a modern hotel located close to the historic town of Bury St Edmunds. Dragonfly Hotel Bury St Edmunds is located on the edge of the delightful old town and is in close proximity to Cambridge, Ely and Newmarket, making it the ideal base from which to explore the charms of East Anglia. When choosing hotels in Bury St Edmunds, the comfortable surroundings and great service make Dragonfly Hotel Bury St Edmunds a great choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Dragonfly Hotel Bury St Edmunds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Bury St. Edmunds Hotel Bury St. Edmunds
Bury St. Edmunds Ramada
Dragonfly Hotel Bury St Edmunds Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing