We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Drab and mediocre”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dragonfly Hotel Bury St Edmunds
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Bury St Edmunds
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Although I wasn't an overnight guest, I spent most of a day here, meeting people and eating etc.

The hotel is generally tired and drab in appearance internally, with no sign of even the slightest imagination or pride. The food was appallingly unappetising and dry. And the member of staff who serviced me had no idea what it meant to be a vegetarian.

Groups of staff were seen hanging around at the entrance smoking and gossiping.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Service
2  Thank CawfeeBean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (438)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

353 - 359 of 438 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

A group of us recently stayed here for two night whilst the beds were comfy enough the rooms and hotel in general could do with bringing up to date and modernising. We had breakfast booked for 2 mornings but after our experience the first morning we decided to cancel the second morning and venture elsewhere. The milk that was out had gone off and we had to ask for more, the juices had been left sitting in the sun and were warm, the butter had also been sitting on the side in the warm and had melted, the cups and plates hadn't been replenished when used so you had to ask for more to be put out, the same with the 'wide' range of cereal they had to offer it consisted of two boxes of the same cereal which again needed to be replenished as there were still a lot of people coming down for breakfast. Don't think I would book to stay here again

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KTR1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Please allow me to share with you my experience of this place.

Booked in advance for 2 nights, they couldn't find my booking on arrival.

Informed we would HAVE to swop rooms on the second night by a very rude member of staff.

Got it sorted eventually with one of the chaps on the evening reception.

The following morning whilst in the shower my wife answered the door to the same rude lady at 12 noon demanding that we check out "now" and move rooms as she had told us the day before and the room was needed for someone else.

Went downstairs after getting ready and asked to speak to the rude lady - I asked her never to speak to my wife like that again and told her to deal with the "not enough rooms in the hotel" problem as we were leaving for a wedding.

Her response consisted of rolling her eyes, "tsking" and walking away without another word.

To reiterate the title again......

THE worst hotel I have ever stayed in.



Stayed: July 2014
5  Thank Rozarooney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Very understaffed, the staff who did work there did their best under very difficult circumstances. My bedroom was clean, however the food was dreadful, poor choice at breakfast with one two slice toaster to serve over 40 guests, the evening meal was also poor, waiting staff brought vegetables ages after the main meal was served, and therefore the food cold by the time vegetables arrived. There was no lounge open, no lift, great hotel facilities (not!!) I would never stay there or any other Quality Inn again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank amanda s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

had the experience of staying at this hotel for couple of night due to working in area, rooms were ok, clean and bed was comfy, how ever the experience of breakfast was just amazing, the staff who were meant to be looking after the dinners really were not interested in anything, the white and brown bread was stale and yes there really was a penicillin thing going on with the whole loaf, having pointed this out to said staff all i got was " i will get another loaf" not one word of sorry passed their lips, not one single manager around to complain, not at 7.20 am or at 16.40 pm maybe in that hotel they work part time, the hot food was doing a valiant attempt to warm it self up and failed badly, i would definitely not advise staying there.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank palfry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I had read some bad reviews but booked anyway for a one night stay as thought it was in a good location. The staff especially had some bad reviews but all 5 that we interacted with were excellent helpful and friendly. The location is not quite what I expected and all in all didn't fancy the route into the town on foot 1.1 mile or not!!
Plenty of parking and handy for Sainsburys. Dated foyer but room was fine, clean and well equipped First room had a poor toilet flush but when notified reception they acted quickly and then moved our room.Bathroom had clean grout and seals but shower was pathetic. Bed had a central pull which made a poor night's sleep. Overall OK but nothing special but the staff were great

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chillypenguin60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I stay in this hotel regularly with my fiance as we like the area, the hotel is okay.. little out dated and could do with a lick of paint. Beds are slanted on one side, the complimentary shower gel and shampoo reek to high heaven, mirror had burn marks and so did the table (room 207), pervy, eavesdropping staff standing outside our door listening at ridiculous hours (we expect privacy during our stay), not enough tea making equipment (sugar and milk), baths are a little on the small side and no slip mat, my fiance almost broke his neck in the bath, I don't like not being able to remove the shower head from the wall, windows don't open enough, receptionists are not good at communicating with customers and aren't very welcoming (service with a smile goes a long way), breakfast should be included in the extortionate prices for room only and what's up with the room prices changing daily?!

Also the towels smell strange, I don't know what you wash it in but please change it BUT the pros of this hotel are that the bed is comfortable, nice television, good mirror for doing makeup, cute bunnies outside the hotel, nice and warm in room, some staff are very helpful but its not too bad of a place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ojmurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bury St Edmunds hotels
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Bury St Edmunds Town Centre Hotel
Premier Inn Bury St Edmunds Town...
#1 of 10 in Bury St Edmunds
529 reviews
1.7 mi away
Best Western Priory Hotel
Best Western Priory Hotel
#7 of 10 in Bury St Edmunds
533 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 10 in Bury St Edmunds
1,262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
All Saints Hotel
All Saints Hotel
#2 of 10 in Bury St Edmunds
300 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Grange Hotel
The Grange Hotel
#1 of 1 in Thurston
268 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Chantry Hotel
The Chantry Hotel
#4 of 10 in Bury St Edmunds
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dragonfly Hotel Bury St Edmunds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dragonfly Hotel Bury St Edmunds

Address: Symonds Road, Bury St Edmunds IP32 7DZ, England (Formerly Quality Hotel Bury St. Edmunds)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Bury St Edmunds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Bury St Edmunds
Price Range: £42 - £73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dragonfly Hotel Bury St Edmunds 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly the Quality Hotel Bury St Edmunds, this is a modern hotel located close to the historic town of Bury St Edmunds. Dragonfly Hotel Bury St Edmunds is located on the edge of the delightful old town and is in close proximity to Cambridge, Ely and Newmarket, making it the ideal base from which to explore the charms of East Anglia. When choosing hotels in Bury St Edmunds, the comfortable surroundings and great service make Dragonfly Hotel Bury St Edmunds a great choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Dragonfly Hotel Bury St Edmunds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Bury St. Edmunds Hotel Bury St. Edmunds
Bury St. Edmunds Ramada
Dragonfly Hotel Bury St Edmunds Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing