We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“needs a new name”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dragonfly Hotel Bury St Edmunds
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Bury St Edmunds
Galway, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“needs a new name”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

stayed here recently and hotel is as per other reviewers have said. I understand that the hotel is under new management but it was a bit of a calamity. Our booking was lost on arrival, luckily they had a room available. The room appeared all right, nothing wow but I always question cleanliness when I find someone elses hair left on the shower wall. I think this is understandable as housekeeping seems to be overstretched there only appeared to be 2 staff to clean and turn over rooms for the entire hotel?? Breakfast wasnt great and they had "run out" of napkins?? These are basic errors that really shouldnt. The only good thing about the hotel was the friendly reception staff who were very helpful, but I felt very sorry for them as every time we passed reception they appeared to be dealing with another complaint and unhappy customer. I wouldnt stay here again, and it would appear that the new management needs to learn how to manage a hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fiona f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    76
    117
    89
    85
See reviews for
65
141
17
119
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Although I wasn't an overnight guest, I spent most of a day here, meeting people and eating etc.

The hotel is generally tired and drab in appearance internally, with no sign of even the slightest imagination or pride. The food was appallingly unappetising and dry. And the member of staff who serviced me had no idea what it meant to be a vegetarian.

Groups of staff were seen hanging around at the entrance smoking and gossiping.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CawfeeBean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bury St Edmunds hotels

Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

A group of us recently stayed here for two night whilst the beds were comfy enough the rooms and hotel in general could do with bringing up to date and modernising. We had breakfast booked for 2 mornings but after our experience the first morning we decided to cancel the second morning and venture elsewhere. The milk that was out had gone off and we had to ask for more, the juices had been left sitting in the sun and were warm, the butter had also been sitting on the side in the warm and had melted, the cups and plates hadn't been replenished when used so you had to ask for more to be put out, the same with the 'wide' range of cereal they had to offer it consisted of two boxes of the same cereal which again needed to be replenished as there were still a lot of people coming down for breakfast. Don't think I would book to stay here again

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KTR1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wymondham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Please allow me to share with you my experience of this place.

Booked in advance for 2 nights, they couldn't find my booking on arrival.

Informed we would HAVE to swop rooms on the second night by a very rude member of staff.

Got it sorted eventually with one of the chaps on the evening reception.

The following morning whilst in the shower my wife answered the door to the same rude lady at 12 noon demanding that we check out "now" and move rooms as she had told us the day before and the room was needed for someone else.

Went downstairs after getting ready and asked to speak to the rude lady - I asked her never to speak to my wife like that again and told her to deal with the "not enough rooms in the hotel" problem as we were leaving for a wedding.

Her response consisted of rolling her eyes, "tsking" and walking away without another word.

To reiterate the title again......

THE worst hotel I have ever stayed in.



Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Rozarooney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Very understaffed, the staff who did work there did their best under very difficult circumstances. My bedroom was clean, however the food was dreadful, poor choice at breakfast with one two slice toaster to serve over 40 guests, the evening meal was also poor, waiting staff brought vegetables ages after the main meal was served, and therefore the food cold by the time vegetables arrived. There was no lounge open, no lift, great hotel facilities (not!!) I would never stay there or any other Quality Inn again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank amanda s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

had the experience of staying at this hotel for couple of night due to working in area, rooms were ok, clean and bed was comfy, how ever the experience of breakfast was just amazing, the staff who were meant to be looking after the dinners really were not interested in anything, the white and brown bread was stale and yes there really was a penicillin thing going on with the whole loaf, having pointed this out to said staff all i got was " i will get another loaf" not one word of sorry passed their lips, not one single manager around to complain, not at 7.20 am or at 16.40 pm maybe in that hotel they work part time, the hot food was doing a valiant attempt to warm it self up and failed badly, i would definitely not advise staying there.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank palfry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merseyside
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I had read some bad reviews but booked anyway for a one night stay as thought it was in a good location. The staff especially had some bad reviews but all 5 that we interacted with were excellent helpful and friendly. The location is not quite what I expected and all in all didn't fancy the route into the town on foot 1.1 mile or not!!
Plenty of parking and handy for Sainsburys. Dated foyer but room was fine, clean and well equipped First room had a poor toilet flush but when notified reception they acted quickly and then moved our room.Bathroom had clean grout and seals but shower was pathetic. Bed had a central pull which made a poor night's sleep. Overall OK but nothing special but the staff were great

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chillypenguin60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bury St Edmunds
1.7 mi away
Best Western Priory Hotel
Best Western Priory Hotel
#7 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
487 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
1,184 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Grange Hotel
The Grange Hotel
#1 of 1 in Thurston
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
All Saints Hotel
All Saints Hotel
#6 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
221 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Chantry Hotel
The Chantry Hotel
#2 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
211 reviews
23.6 mi away
Dragonfly Hotel Colchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dragonfly Hotel Bury St Edmunds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dragonfly Hotel Bury St Edmunds

Property: Dragonfly Hotel Bury St Edmunds
Address: Symonds Road, Bury St Edmunds IP32 7DZ, England (Formerly Quality Hotel Bury St. Edmunds)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Bury St Edmunds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Bury St Edmunds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Dragonfly Hotel Bury St Edmunds 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly the Quality Hotel Bury St Edmunds, this is a modern hotel located close to the historic town of Bury St Edmunds. Dragonfly Hotel Bury St Edmunds is located on the edge of the delightful old town and is in close proximity to Cambridge, Ely and Newmarket, making it the ideal base from which to explore the charms of East Anglia. When choosing hotels in Bury St Edmunds, the comfortable surroundings and great service make Dragonfly Hotel Bury St Edmunds a great choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and LateRooms so you can book your Dragonfly Hotel Bury St Edmunds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Bury St. Edmunds Hotel Bury St. Edmunds
Bury St. Edmunds Ramada
Dragonfly Hotel Bury St Edmunds Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing