We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Angel Hotel
Nearby Hotels
The Bushel(Bury St Edmunds)
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Northgate(Bury St Edmunds)
US$207
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$301
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$254
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$154
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Priory Hotel(Bury St Edmunds)(Great Value!)
US$91
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$77
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Six Bells Inn(Bardwell)
US$147
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$143
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Pykkerell Inn Ixworth(Ixworth)(Great Value!)
US$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oak Farm Barn(Bury St Edmunds)
US$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Abbey Hotel(Bury St Edmunds)
US$669
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,293)
Filter reviews
1,293 results
Traveller rating
528
428
195
85
57
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
528
428
195
85
57
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswingspan barcopper bathcharles dickenscellar barabbey gardenssister hotelromantic suiteparked our carsuffolk grilllovely hotelafternoon tealounge areathe ground floorcentral locationstayed here for one nightlovely roomfour poster bed
Filter
Updating list...
1,051 - 1,056 of 1,293 reviews
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Nicely decorated hotel with very distinctive features inside.
Staff were very helpful even though there was a wedding going on.
The outside was very colourful with Ivy and flowers everywhere.
Great place to sit outside and have a drink watching the world go by.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DGY-Eaglescliffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2012

This was a wedding anniversary stay of 3 nights midweek. As when we stayed previously we found the staff friendly, welcoming and efficient. The room was 218 (William Tassell Suite) and was delightful (see room tips for more information). We had our border collie with us and he was made very welcome by everyone.

We had originally booked a DBB deal (The Grape Escape) in one of the Courtyard rooms, but decided to upgrade to a Junior Suite and were surprised not to be offered a similar deal to encourage us to dine in rather than go out to eat in the town. However, after a bit of a false start, we negotiated an offer which meant that we received a free bottle of Italian wine, (advertised as £35 on the wine list) with each meal. The dinners were superb and the ambiance of the Cathedral Gardens facing restaurant was informal and lively (despite the fact that we stayed midweek). Waiter service breakfast was also exceptional.

All in all a great stay and we would definitely visit again. We agree that some areas of the hotel (mainly corridors) are looking a little careworn, and could do with some work, but really nothing to complain about. We have also stayed in the sister hotel Salthouse Harbour in Ipswich and would thoroughly recommend it - especially the Penthouse Suites.

Room Tip: We stayed, with our dog, in room 218 (William Tassell Suite) which is apparently the best room in the old part of the hotel. Super king sized bed (zip linked singles) high ceilings, views overlooking the Cathedral Gardens. Plenty of space with a sofa and other furniture and a large bathroom with 2 basins and separate shower and bathroom. Also has air conditioning which was a boon as the weather was hot and humid. Just a mild criticism of the slightly old-fashioned wallpaper. We previously stayed for one night in room 126, which was also quite large and extremely comfortable.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CDandB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

With a friendly welcome from the very helpful staff, easy check in, and very nice comfortable rooms I don't hesitate to recommend this hotel. We booked through booking.com which was easy and gave us a discount. The hotel is lovely with lots of quirky ornaments and design features. The bed was very comfortable and we both had a good nights sleep. It is bang in central Bury opposite the Abbey and very near the Cathedral (well worth a visit too). The breakfast is very good too, from a menu not a buffet so freshly cooked, with a wide range of leaf teas or coffee. Not the cheap option but well worth the money.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Garforthsoulmates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

Nothing outside to confirm you've reached your destination, and noone answered the phone when I called to verify the unlabelled building was the hotel.
No indication of where to park but discovered pay and display out front, and small car park out the back where you have to block each other in and leave your keys with reception - if they don't answer the phone, can they be trusted to get you out in the morning?
Inside the building the decor is lovely but
and you stumble accross reception rather than being guided by the odd sign or 2.
After 2 hours in the car this was all a bit frustrating!

I was taken to my room - nice touch, but the decor got progressively worse. The walls were yellow and battered and I suddenly felt I was in a different hotel.

All very clean and comfy bed so good nights sleep which is the main thing, just wish they got the basics right.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SunshineRocksEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

We stayed at The Angel for our honeymoon and we try and go back as often as possible - we love it. Great food, staff and suroundings. The abby gardens opposite, cathedral and many lovely shops, cafes and restaurants. Well worth a visit :))))

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews