We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Angel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Angel Hotel
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Bury St Edmunds
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2012

We love Bury and we've eaten here twice before, always great food and lovely lounges for pre and post dinner drinks. However, I agree with previous comments about shower curtains needing to be replaced by screens and lighting making it impossible to find somewhere to make up. Also a tip to reception staff: I've often been offered a room upgrade on check in but always for free. It's a big disappointment to be offered an upgrade in the first sentence and then be asked to pay for it in the second.
The hotel is in an ideal location to see beautiful Bury but if you're arriving by train pre-book a cab. It might be a 10 minute walk if you're young and luggage free but it's more like half an hour if you're 60 and have bags.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    437
    383
    172
    70
    46
See reviews for
123
572
44
173
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2012

We held a business meeting with dinner and overnight accommodation at The Angel and the hotel's service was outstanding; we have used the hotel before (last time two years ago) and had nothing to complain about then but this time was even better! Sufficient to prompt this review! Helpful, polite and friendly staff; food very good; atmosphere in the hotel very welcoming. Quirky decor that make the public spaces and bedrooms full of character and if anything, the meeting room being very traditional seems a little boring by comparison! It was a little cramped for our numbers, but adequate and well equipped.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SpottyTotty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2012

Friday night and Saturday night stay. Arrived 3pm friday. Valet took car. Check in took 5 mins then straight to room.
All staff excellent, nothing too much trouble, rooms very clean and modern. breakfast both days very good with choices.
Bury st Edmonds is steeped with history, the gardens and Abbey ruins directly across the road are a must see.
Loads of restaurants local to choose if you fancy.
Free wifi but no gym.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stew8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, UK
Level Contributor
70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

I stayed here for the weekend with friends, we had a wedding on the Sunday and thought we would make a weekend of it and check into The Angel Hotel Saturday for two nights.

The rooms are clean and spacious, the location is great, you are treated really well from the moment you check in to when you leave and nothing is too much for them.

We ate in the restaurant on the Saturday and the food and service was excellent! The breakfasts in the morning were great and worth getting up for.

There is so much to see and do in the area, lots of history, shopping, bars, places to eat, local Saxon and Roman villages, and the smallest pub every The Nutshell - all worth a visit.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KECEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
204 reviews
144 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 329 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2012

We stayed at The Angel for 3 nights, and having stayed at their sister hotel the Salthouse in Ipswich several times over the years, we found The Angel to be a similarly comfortable 4 star hotel. At this time of year the hotel is looking wonderful with abundant hanging baskets and ivy clad, and on arrival we checked in quickly, upgrading to a refurbed room, had our car parked for us and bags taken to our room. Impeccable service from Mingos the cheerful and efficient guy in charge of parking/luggage transfer - what an asset to the hotel as first impressions so important.

The Reception staff were charming and polite, and the eclectic furnishings on the ground floor worked well - stylish but comfortable.

Our room was a recently refurbed room on the ground floor with air con - no openable window as the room faced on to the square so air con a must. It worked well so no problem. An interior designer had obviously gone to town on the room with quirky fixtures and fittings as in the Salthouse, bed was large and very comfortable and lovely new bathroom with good shower. Excellent Wifi. Only niggle with both hotels is the lack of fridge - a minibar or fridge should be provided in 4 star hotels, very useful for chilling water, wine etc. The room although it was on the main Square was very quiet and we slept well.

We ate at the restaurant one night, very good food, excellent service - recommended.

Breakfast served at your table in the restaurant, good coffee and proper juices, nice smoothies, Greek yoghurt with honey and almonds as well as the hot fare. The service was slow though on our last breakfast, we were actually forgotten and had to ask for the order to be taken and then again for it to be served - not the best and the only complaint to report.

All in all we had a very good stay at the Angel - its not a cheap option but if you want a treat it hits the spot.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank White-family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diss, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2012

I booked this for a romantic weekend away with my BF. DBB for 2 nights via Off Peak Luxury with champagne and strawberries in the room on arrival (£360). Parking and check in very smooth and effecient. We were taking to our room (which I believe was 109). While getting ready for dinner the main problems with our room became apparent - the shower was over the bath and there was just a shower curtain and not a screen - unfortunately the bath was quite narrow and the shower curtain seem to stick to you at every opportunity - this was not a nice experience and so easily remedied with a shower screen which would also look so much nicer ! Secondly the lighting in the bedroom is awful - it was very very difficult to apply make up and I ended up flitting between the bedroom and the bathroom trying to get ready. When you are away for a romantic trip and want to look your best these two things did end up being very annoying!!!

The food was quite hit and miss and on both days I was very disappointed with my main meals (sea bass on first night - basil flavour was just too overpowering and pork on the second which was meant to have a blue cheese crust just tasted of cheap sage and onion stuffing and not a hint of blue cheese!!. However my BF's meals (Chicken and then Duck ) were better. The wines were good and reasonably priced. we had lunch on one of the days and this was unedible - the focaccia bread was literally dripping in oil HOWEVER the breakfasts were lovely.

The rooms I felt were cleaned too quickly and maybe could have been more thorough. The strawberries that we didnt eat on day one were not taken away and were very mouldy by the time we left!

I would consider staying here again although would perhaps dine outside the hotel for the evening meals and would certainly want to stay in a different room.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MissNorfolk75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guantanamo, Cuba
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2012

Nice enough,great staff etc ,but £140 a night b and b?????
advertised as 4 star ,but like other reviewers i found the state of repair ,and apointment of rooms etc ,more like a 3 star,i think £80 to £90 a night might have been a fairer price.
I noticed the hotel was nowhere near full on a busy august weekend,perhaps the managment might want to reflect on why.

Room Tip: very hit and miss,look before you leap
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank raspberryblower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bury St Edmunds
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Bury St Edmunds Town Centre Hotel
Premier Inn Bury St Edmunds Town...
#1 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
4.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
2.9 mi away
Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel
Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel
#2 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Priory Hotel
BEST WESTERN Priory Hotel
#7 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
All Saints Hotel
All Saints Hotel
#6 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
10.0 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
23.1 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Angel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Angel Hotel

Property: The Angel Hotel
Address: 3 Angel Hill, Bury St Edmunds IP33 1LT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Bury St Edmunds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Bury St Edmunds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Angel Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Georgian ivy clad 4 star boutique hotel and restaurant in Suffolk surprises with a twist of urban chic. Our Suffolk hotel is right in the heart of Bury St Edmunds town centre and everything is just a step from here. Explore winding, cobbled, shop filled streets and a plethora of ancient architecture on the doorstep. Once inside, The Angel Hotel is a curious contrast of comfy contemporary design with touches of exotic grandeur. Warm leather sofas vie for your company in the lounge, which is filled with curiosities, pop art, eccentric oddities and cool vintage furniture. It is a hotel of many different aspects all artfully blended together into an exciting package and the bedrooms are no exception. The Angel Eaterie has a great reputation and dining here is a culinary treat. Take the steps down into the decadently curious Wingspan Cocktail Bar & Lounge located in the 12th Century vaults under the Hotel. Wingspan is the perfect location to meet with friends, for pre-dinner drinks, or simply to relax after a long day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your The Angel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angel Hotel Bury St Edmunds
Angel Bury St Edmunds
The Angel Hotel Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing