We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful rooms”
Review of The Angel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Angel Hotel
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Bury St Edmunds
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 December 2012

i was fortunate enough to stay at the hotel recently & i must say its a beautiful warm welcoming hotel.
It is set right in the heart of Bury St Edmunds so the location is brilliant!!!
The decor is stunning as are the rooms, the amenities are excellent, right down to the lovely shower gels/soaps etc.
The beds are so comfortable!!! I must comment on the breakfast, which is cooked to order & lives up to it's 2 rosette standard !!
Cant wait to return!!!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel are very quiet, we had 116.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samjb6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,233)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

940 - 946 of 1,233 reviews

Reviewed 12 December 2012

We had lunch here recently, on the day it was revealed that they had just received 1* out of a possible 5* for the hygiene in the kitchen! it was busy, they had mixed our reservation timing up, but despite lots of staff the service was very very slow, food was good but the portions are terribly small, I had a "jelly" with clotted cream for dessert and it really was all over after 2 mouthfuls. For 3 people the bill was £100.00 which included a bottle of unexceptional wine, and tap water.

Room Tip: We didn't stay, just used the restaurant, and lounge. the lounge is very nicely decorated and c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Cobs2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2012

I might be a bit harsh but for the money it was perhaps a bit out dated and lacking in areas. The food was great as was the lay out of the bar and eating area. The location is perfect to anyone who hasn't been to bury as it's slap bang in the middle. As for the service, that was also top notch. BUT, the the rooms i found very out dated and basic. Though there are many areas of greatness, arguably the most important area didn't allow me to give it a 4 or 5 star!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gary m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2012

Arrived at the angel drove into the archway went to reception asked where do i park? as cars in front of me, leave it there a porter will be there with you in second he explained it will be moved in to the car park out the front at night, and must be moved by myself at 1pm Sunday ok by me.the porter took our luggage to reception and then to our room ,the room was lovely and clean, bottle of bubbly on ice waiting and a coffee caffetier that was a lovely touch ,breakfast was lovely and staff were great and very attentive . now the drawbacks only one dark rum you couldnt have captain Morgan rum and coke they give you Havana dark rum and a bottle of Pepsi lets face it who wants to drink half a bottle of pepsi after you have drunk your shot of rum theres no such thing as a splash of coke,we then ordered a gin and tonic told to sit down and would be delivered to table the gin and tonic had cucumber bits floating in it ! we didnt order that part ok if you like cucumber but at least ask dont just chuck it in at almost 12 pounds the two drinks ! it might look nice but try drinking it ! but lets not end moaning a great stay at a lovely building, warm fire, lovely sitting areas beautiful design and some great features .so to all the staff thank you very much for a great stay

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leolion123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2012

Having stayed in the hotel a couple of years ago we had lunch on this occasion and really enjoyed the meal and service....the lounge and real fire give a special feel for a delightful hotel/restaurant.....

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoeandCaroline2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2012

Called in here for coffee and a 'warm up' whilst visiting the Christmas market outside in the town and abbey.. Sat on comfy settees in front of a roaring log fire with delicious coffee and fresh from the oven nibbles. Beautifully decorated and individual lounge area just off reception. A perfect start to our weekend away visiting stately homes dressed for Christmas.Thank you to all the staff we met.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MX19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2012

My wife and I recently stayed at the Angel Hotel for one night and had a fantastic stay. The staff were very accommodating to our needs and assisted us with parking our car and a bucket of ice for the room. The restaurant was very nice as well and I would recommend dinner there if you have the chance. Very cool that Charles Dickens once stayed in that very hotel and it definitely has a stately feel to it. The lounge outside of reception was very nice and had a nice warm fire going. Would definitely stay again if we are ever in Bury!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank druryk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bury St Edmunds
1.2 mi away
Best Western Priory Hotel
Best Western Priory Hotel
#7 of 10 in Bury St Edmunds
510 reviews
23.1 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Chantry Hotel
The Chantry Hotel
#3 of 10 in Bury St Edmunds
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
All Saints Hotel
All Saints Hotel
#6 of 10 in Bury St Edmunds
244 reviews
10.1 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
2.9 mi away
Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel
Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel
#4 of 10 in Bury St Edmunds
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Angel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Angel Hotel

Address: 3 Angel Hill, Bury St Edmunds IP33 1LT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Bury St Edmunds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Bury St Edmunds
Price Range: £114 - £198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Angel Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Georgian ivy clad 4 star boutique hotel and restaurant in Suffolk surprises with a twist of urban chic. Our Suffolk hotel is right in the heart of Bury St Edmunds town centre and everything is just a step from here. Explore winding, cobbled, shop filled streets and a plethora of ancient architecture on the doorstep. Once inside, The Angel Hotel is a curious contrast of comfy contemporary design with touches of exotic grandeur. Warm leather sofas vie for your company in the lounge, which is filled with curiosities, pop art, eccentric oddities and cool vintage furniture. It is a hotel of many different aspects all artfully blended together into an exciting package and the bedrooms are no exception. The Angel Eaterie has a great reputation and dining here is a culinary treat. Take the steps down into the decadently curious Wingspan Cocktail Bar & Lounge located in the 12th Century vaults under the Hotel. Wingspan is the perfect location to meet with friends, for pre-dinner drinks, or simply to relax after a long day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Angel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angel Hotel Bury St Edmunds
Angel Bury St Edmunds
The Angel Hotel Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing