We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendliest staff I have come across”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Angel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Angel Hotel
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Bury St Edmunds
Solihull
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Friendliest staff I have come across”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2013

All staff go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable. Third visit (all business) lovely rooms. Highly recommend the breakfasts. Not many decent hotels in the area and this one goes out of its way to be a little different.
Restaurant food a little rich & ok if you enkoy game.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thompsons_hols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LynnCowan, General Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this review, 4 February 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, I will be sure to pass your lovely comments through to my staff. I hope we will see you at the hotel again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    448
    390
    177
    71
    46
See reviews for
125
583
45
178
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
.Cambridge
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2013

Been going for years to the angel and it has always been our special place. This trip however was a Huge disappointment. Terrible old bed so horrifically unconfortable that we were awake most of the night! The food was good but not great , had to send back first bottle of wine as it was utterly undrinkable, the selection of moderately priced good red wines was extremely poor, this is inexcusable, good affordable reds are readily available in most good restaurants. The saving grace of the angel is the brilliant staff. They are helpful polite and mostly very charming. The place needs a bit of TLC and overall attention to detail has slipped. Its a real shame, but won't be hurrying back anytime soon. In the current economic climate when spending a couple of hundred quid for a night away I want to be sure I am getting value for money and a good nights sleep....... We didn't get either during this visit to the Angel..

Room Tip: Don't go into the classic rooms!!. Less classic than they are just plain run down and shabby
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shirley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LynnCowan, General Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this review, 30 January 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. Feedback is always important to us so that we can improve the service and standards that we provide. I am disappointed to read that our wine list is not to your taste, we work hard to offer a wide range of quality wines that show good value and work well with our food. I am sorry that your overally experience of The Angel was not a good one, and I hope you may consider returning in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cambridge
Level Contributor
68 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2013

I've long enjoyed the excellent service, ambience and food at the Angel, but sadly the standards are waning. True the staff are attentive but the details of quality are slipping. The room we had (classic, top floor) had ancient beds with a stained mattress, a very weak shower and the walls too thin. The room was boiling hot despite the window open all night, and a fair amount of dust.
Breakfast portions have shrunk, the yoghurt, honey and almonds in particular, the berry smoothy a mass of skins and lacking the creaminess of previous experiences.
In the past a plate of warm salted focaccia with signature oilve oil has been replaced by a slab of bland butter and two bits of rather dull bread. My main dish was not hot, the partridge red with blood and tough.
I know this all sounds pedantic but two visits in the past two weeks confirm these observations signal a tangible loss of quality.
I could whinge about other details, which I did with front of house but to their credit notes were taken and sincere apologies given.
The Angel has long exuded excellence but I'll not be back for the time being. Management needs to review to halt this decline. Over £180 for DBB? Not worth it at present to my mind.....

Room Tip: Front Classic rooms, dated but much more character. Beware the rattling windows and street noise tho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dhdCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LynnCowan, General Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this review, 30 January 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at The Angel on Trip Advisor. On this occasion I am sorry that we did not meet and exceed your expectations. I have taken all your comments on board. I hope we are able to welcome you back to the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brisbane
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2013

I always have at least a few nights at the Angel when I visit family in Suffolk. It has been tastefully renovated in recent years and the rooms and service from staff are both excellent. The breakfast is particularly good, and I hope to visit again many times in the future.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LynnCowan, General Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this review, 30 January 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review The Angel. I am pleased to hear that you enjoy your trips to the hotel. I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2013

This is a great example of how to bring a fabulous historical building up to date.
Modern and tasteful decor and a really warm welcome
I had a large and well decorated room and despite the cold temperatures outside (minus seven!), the room and whole hotel were very cosy
Had a excellent meal in the restaurant - really good seabass
This hotel would be ideal for a special occasion

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LynnCowan, General Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this review, 30 January 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your recent visit to The Angel so much. I hope we are able to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2013

I booked a couple of weeks before and mentioned we were getting married next door at The Athanaeum on Christmas Eve, our booking was one night for Boxing day. When we arrived the receptionist congratulated us on our marriage, i was really impressed they had obviously made a note of this during my booking phone call. When we entered our room it was beautiful, big, really well decorated and when i entered the bathroom i screamed...the copper bath i had heard about!! It transpired that we had been upgraded for our wedding. We were thrilled and felt it was such a great touch and really made our stay. We even got a hand written note on our bed that night saying congratulations, The Angel made us feel very special!Thank you. We had a lovely meal and had cocktails in the newly re furbished bar in the vaults, super cool!
The bed was so comfy and we loved the room, only down side was a heavy door banging below us til very late and then again at 5 ish am (we were in room 231) which as a light sleeper did affect my sleep.
Overall, a great hotel, superb service and we will return for our anniversary!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emlou1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LynnCowan, General Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this review, 30 January 2013
Dear Guest,

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for leaving such a kind review of your recent stay. It was a pleasure to have been involved in your special day and would like to wish you a very happy future together. We look forward to seeing you both for your anniversary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2013

We booked this hotel for 3 nights over New Year after a conversation with Kat on the hotels reception. Kat was very helpful and answered all the questions I had. On arriving to the hotel all of the staff we encountered we super helpful and very accommodating, everyone from the guy who parked our car, the young guy who brought our bags up and even the manager who sorted out an issue we had with the room.

We booked an original room but on arrival was offered an upgrade to one of the suites. Kat kindly offered us to take a look round the different suites before we made up our mind and we finally settled on the romantic suite. The room was perfect and we were super pleased with it.

To summarise:

The room was fantastic
The staff were fantastic
Free wifi! Fantastic
Free valet parking, fantastic
Breakfast excellent!
Underground bar, awesome

Would we come back? Hell yeah!! Looking forward to coming back soon.

Room Tip: Go for one of the suites! The romantic was excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan_from_Essex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LynnCowan, General Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this review, 30 January 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for reviewing your New Year's stay with us. I am delighted to hear that Cat was able to be so helpful during your check in process and you found all elements of the hotel to be to your expectations. We hope you will take the time to visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bury St Edmunds
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Bury St Edmunds Town Centre Hotel
Premier Inn Bury St Edmunds Town...
#1 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
4.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Priory Hotel
BEST WESTERN Priory Hotel
#7 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
2.9 mi away
Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel
Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel
#2 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
All Saints Hotel
All Saints Hotel
#6 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
10.1 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
23.1 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Angel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Angel Hotel

Property: The Angel Hotel
Address: 3 Angel Hill, Bury St Edmunds IP33 1LT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Bury St Edmunds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Bury St Edmunds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Angel Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Georgian ivy clad 4 star boutique hotel and restaurant in Suffolk surprises with a twist of urban chic. Our Suffolk hotel is right in the heart of Bury St Edmunds town centre and everything is just a step from here. Explore winding, cobbled, shop filled streets and a plethora of ancient architecture on the doorstep. Once inside, The Angel Hotel is a curious contrast of comfy contemporary design with touches of exotic grandeur. Warm leather sofas vie for your company in the lounge, which is filled with curiosities, pop art, eccentric oddities and cool vintage furniture. It is a hotel of many different aspects all artfully blended together into an exciting package and the bedrooms are no exception. The Angel Eaterie has a great reputation and dining here is a culinary treat. Take the steps down into the decadently curious Wingspan Cocktail Bar & Lounge located in the 12th Century vaults under the Hotel. Wingspan is the perfect location to meet with friends, for pre-dinner drinks, or simply to relax after a long day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Angel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angel Hotel Bury St Edmunds
Angel Bury St Edmunds
The Angel Hotel Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing