We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fashionable and fabulous for an afternoon tipple!!”
Review of The Angel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Angel Hotel
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Bury St Edmunds
Certificate of Excellence
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Fashionable and fabulous for an afternoon tipple!!”
Reviewed 31 January 2013

Beautiful Imposing Building in the heart of Bury St Edmonds. The inside is also very appealing, with a real eclectic mix of furniture.
The ground floor rooms nearer the entrance seemed to be set up more so for dining, and enjoying a tipple from the bar. The furniture is clean lined, modern and stylish. The deeper you venture into the belly of the building, the furniture, becomes a more quirky assorted range of deep pillowed sofas, arm chairs and luxurious cushions. An ideal place to enjoy one of the impressive Afternoon Teas, also on offer.
I only popped in for a drink, on a Saturday Lunch time, but did see some interesting sea food platters being enjoyed.
The staff were very friendly, and all in all it felt a very warm and comfortable place to partake in an afternoon snifter.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LucyLockettx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LynnCowan, General Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this review, 4 February 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your recent visit to the hotel, i hope we will be able to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    465
    398
    181
    71
    47
See reviews for
133
594
45
183
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 30 January 2013

The actual hotel is a delight! Deserves it 4 star. I was put in the coach house room 207. When I arrived they took my car round the back for my and kept my keys at reception. The room was lovely, spacious and the bed was very comfortable. I ordered room service and have venison. The food was the highlight of this stay for me! Very good food! Compliments to the chef. It's unfortunate that I stay on a Wednesday night which must be bin man day. I was awoken at 6am with the bin men making loads of noise bottles smashing and this continued for about an hour. I wouldn't go on a Wednesday if that's the case. I authentic got ready and went down for breakfast at about 8.15 where I was told there was no tables ready so if I could go and wait in the lounge. I did so and waited 15 minutes to be seated. I was then asked if I wanted some orange or apple juice, I asked for orange. The waitress came back 2 minutes later to say it had all go and I had to have apple. I then ordered fruit salad with yogurt on top, I was bought a tiny pot of old soggy fruit with no yogurt. I asked you yogurt again and they bough some in. Another tiny little pot. When checking out i was told that i was over my allowance because of my tip from dinner? i didn't give a tip and i probably would have given one if they hadn't just decided to take one anyway. i think that is really rude. From arriving to going to bed was 5 star, from getting up and leaving was 2 star... This is why I'm giving them a 3...

Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Olivea A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2013

All staff go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable. Third visit (all business) lovely rooms. Highly recommend the breakfasts. Not many decent hotels in the area and this one goes out of its way to be a little different.
Restaurant food a little rich & ok if you enkoy game.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thompsons_hols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LynnCowan, General Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this review, 4 February 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, I will be sure to pass your lovely comments through to my staff. I hope we will see you at the hotel again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
.Cambridge
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2013

Been going for years to the angel and it has always been our special place. This trip however was a Huge disappointment. Terrible old bed so horrifically unconfortable that we were awake most of the night! The food was good but not great , had to send back first bottle of wine as it was utterly undrinkable, the selection of moderately priced good red wines was extremely poor, this is inexcusable, good affordable reds are readily available in most good restaurants. The saving grace of the angel is the brilliant staff. They are helpful polite and mostly very charming. The place needs a bit of TLC and overall attention to detail has slipped. Its a real shame, but won't be hurrying back anytime soon. In the current economic climate when spending a couple of hundred quid for a night away I want to be sure I am getting value for money and a good nights sleep....... We didn't get either during this visit to the Angel..

Room Tip: Don't go into the classic rooms!!. Less classic than they are just plain run down and shabby
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shirley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LynnCowan, General Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this review, 30 January 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. Feedback is always important to us so that we can improve the service and standards that we provide. I am disappointed to read that our wine list is not to your taste, we work hard to offer a wide range of quality wines that show good value and work well with our food. I am sorry that your overally experience of The Angel was not a good one, and I hope you may consider returning in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cambridge
Level Contributor
68 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2013

I've long enjoyed the excellent service, ambience and food at the Angel, but sadly the standards are waning. True the staff are attentive but the details of quality are slipping. The room we had (classic, top floor) had ancient beds with a stained mattress, a very weak shower and the walls too thin. The room was boiling hot despite the window open all night, and a fair amount of dust.
Breakfast portions have shrunk, the yoghurt, honey and almonds in particular, the berry smoothy a mass of skins and lacking the creaminess of previous experiences.
In the past a plate of warm salted focaccia with signature oilve oil has been replaced by a slab of bland butter and two bits of rather dull bread. My main dish was not hot, the partridge red with blood and tough.
I know this all sounds pedantic but two visits in the past two weeks confirm these observations signal a tangible loss of quality.
I could whinge about other details, which I did with front of house but to their credit notes were taken and sincere apologies given.
The Angel has long exuded excellence but I'll not be back for the time being. Management needs to review to halt this decline. Over £180 for DBB? Not worth it at present to my mind.....

Room Tip: Front Classic rooms, dated but much more character. Beware the rattling windows and street noise tho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dhdCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LynnCowan, General Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this review, 30 January 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at The Angel on Trip Advisor. On this occasion I am sorry that we did not meet and exceed your expectations. I have taken all your comments on board. I hope we are able to welcome you back to the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brisbane
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2013

I always have at least a few nights at the Angel when I visit family in Suffolk. It has been tastefully renovated in recent years and the rooms and service from staff are both excellent. The breakfast is particularly good, and I hope to visit again many times in the future.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LynnCowan, General Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this review, 30 January 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review The Angel. I am pleased to hear that you enjoy your trips to the hotel. I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
164 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2013

This is a great example of how to bring a fabulous historical building up to date.
Modern and tasteful decor and a really warm welcome
I had a large and well decorated room and despite the cold temperatures outside (minus seven!), the room and whole hotel were very cosy
Had a excellent meal in the restaurant - really good seabass
This hotel would be ideal for a special occasion

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LynnCowan, General Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this review, 30 January 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your recent visit to The Angel so much. I hope we are able to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bury St Edmunds
1.2 mi away
Best Western Priory Hotel
Best Western Priory Hotel
#7 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
456 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Chantry Hotel
The Chantry Hotel
#2 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
203 reviews
10.1 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
All Saints Hotel
All Saints Hotel
#6 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
202 reviews
2.9 mi away
Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel
Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel
#5 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
625 reviews
23.1 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Angel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Angel Hotel

Property: The Angel Hotel
Address: 3 Angel Hill, Bury St Edmunds IP33 1LT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Bury St Edmunds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Bury St Edmunds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Angel Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Georgian ivy clad 4 star boutique hotel and restaurant in Suffolk surprises with a twist of urban chic. Our Suffolk hotel is right in the heart of Bury St Edmunds town centre and everything is just a step from here. Explore winding, cobbled, shop filled streets and a plethora of ancient architecture on the doorstep. Once inside, The Angel Hotel is a curious contrast of comfy contemporary design with touches of exotic grandeur. Warm leather sofas vie for your company in the lounge, which is filled with curiosities, pop art, eccentric oddities and cool vintage furniture. It is a hotel of many different aspects all artfully blended together into an exciting package and the bedrooms are no exception. The Angel Eaterie has a great reputation and dining here is a culinary treat. Take the steps down into the decadently curious Wingspan Cocktail Bar & Lounge located in the 12th Century vaults under the Hotel. Wingspan is the perfect location to meet with friends, for pre-dinner drinks, or simply to relax after a long day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Angel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angel Hotel Bury St Edmunds
Angel Bury St Edmunds
The Angel Hotel Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing