We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service, ecclectic decor, central location”
Review of The Angel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Angel Hotel
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Bury St Edmunds
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent service, ecclectic decor, central location”
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Was first of all impressed when phoned to book on a offer and staff told us there was an even better offer! Although the parking is limited at the hotel, a member of staff parks for you in spaces the average driver would not manage.

Our room was comfortable but did not have the wow factor, however, as we were taking advantage of a good offer with a free afternoon tea we were not disappointed. We choose to have a drink in the sensational cloistered bar in the vaults of the hotel; incredibly atmospheric and the bar tender had good knowledge of its history.

The service in the restaurant was excellent as was the main course choice (an elegant version of fish & chips). With its very central location and all round good service it is a good choice.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LucyByTheSea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LynnCowan, Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear Lucy

Thank you for your feedback on The Angel Hotel and taking the time to write a review. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and I hope to be welcoming you back to The Angel Hotel again.

With Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    479
    397
    185
    73
    49
See reviews for
132
603
48
188
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norway
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We stayed only one night for the X-mas fayre. The hotell is excellent located right in the middel of the fayre and the town. The staff was very frendly and the breakfaste was delicious. We had a spacious room whit a great, soft bed. The view was of the parkinglot, not the most interesting thing to look at, but the free wi fi helped a lot. We would love to come back

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Haugesund68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LynnCowan, Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Dear

I appreciate you taking the time to write a review about The Angel Hotel and your stay for the Christmas Market. I am glad that you have a lovely time and we hope to look forward to welcoming you back to The Angel Hotel in the near future.

With Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Very nice hotel situated in the middle of Bury St Edmunds. We went for the Christmas market and it was right in front of the hotel. Lovely lounge area with log fire. The room was clean and well furnished with a comfortable bed. The car park was small but there were parking attendants who managed to find spaces for all the cars - even though the hotel was full. We just gave them the keys and they shuffled them around as needed. The staff were very efficient. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley457
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LynnCowan, Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Dear Lesley

Thank you for your comments on The Angel Hotel. It was lovely to hear that you had a wonderful stay for the Christmas Market. I hope to welcome you back to The Angel in the near future.

With Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Greeted by a charming young man with keys, who promptly took the pressure off by leaving our car with him to park, also to leave our bags which would be placed in our rooms.
Atmosphere fantastic, almost like being in a private house, with so many quirky ornaments and furnishings.
Bedroom great, not a brilliant view, but quiet, and plenty of room to move about, very warm and comfortable bed.
Thank you for my lovely stay and for the excellent breakfast and good evening meal.all the staff so helpful and very professional.a pool and fitness centre would have been a bonus.

Room Tip: 1st floor at back of hotel, suited me as not too far to walk from the lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trish G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LynnCowan, Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Dear Trish

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am glad that you enjoyed your time at The Angel Hotel and we hope to be welcoming you back in the near future.

With Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

Had a lovely stay with my family lovely room really impresssed and amazing breakfast and really lovely staff would recommend this hotel ignore bad reviews really lovely couldn't fault my stay and my parents have stayed here a lot and have never had a problem :)

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jess1102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LynnCowan, Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Dear Jess

I appreciate you taking the time to leave feedback on The Angel Hotel. I am glad that you had a lovely stay at The Angel.

I hope we may welcome you back in the near future.

With Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

We were in Bury to enjoy the wonderful Christmas Market and thought a stop over at The Angel would be a good treat. Athough The Angel has many good points, a few things left us a bit underwelmed. The room was shabby with cracks and holes in the walls. The window had no secondary glazing and the noise from an external extractor kept us awake along with gurgling water noises from the air con even though the unit was not on. On the plus side the bed was very comfy. There was a mistake with the time of our evening meal booking meaning we only had half an hour to get ready. So much for having a leisurely bath first. They kindly offered a complimentary drink but then got my meal completely wrong bringing me mushroom risotto rather than Sea Bass probably because the waitress didn't write the order down. They offered a free pudding which my husband had and was very nice but then brought and poured out our coffee while he was still eating it. I was looking forward to staying at The Angel but came away disappointed.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lesley F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LynnCowan, Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Dear Lesley

Thank you for your comments, I am pleased you enjoy what The Angel has to offer and Bury St Edmunds. I have picked up on your comments on the lack of customer care and I will take this up with my Restaurant Manager.

I hope we can welcome you back to The Angel Hotel in the future.

With Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manningtree, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Excellent service, I can re-iterate what Sheila D has mentioned in her review. The staff rush out to help you when you arrive and will park your car in the car park and move it if required. They carry your bags to your room with minimal fuss, personally I sometimes feel a bit uncomfortable when people are rushing around trying to help but the staff make you feel at ease and that its not a problem for them. It's the same experience for when you leave, the car is parked out the front of the hotel for you ready to go.

I can recommend the cream tea and the cellar bar has a great atmosphere. Breakfast is always nice at the hotel. There are plenty of real-ale pubs around and loads of restaurants nearby for eating out.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mattk1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LynnCowan, Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Dear Matt

It was lovely to read your review on your recent stay at The Angel Hotel. I am glad that your time with us was enjoyable.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Angel in the near future.

With Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bury St Edmunds
1.2 mi away
Best Western Priory Hotel
Best Western Priory Hotel
#7 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
486 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Chantry Hotel
The Chantry Hotel
#2 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
211 reviews
10.1 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
All Saints Hotel
All Saints Hotel
#6 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
220 reviews
23.1 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
3.0 mi away
The Ickworth Hotel
The Ickworth Hotel
#1 of 2 in Horringer
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Angel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Angel Hotel

Property: The Angel Hotel
Address: 3 Angel Hill, Bury St Edmunds IP33 1LT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Bury St Edmunds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Bury St Edmunds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Angel Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Georgian ivy clad 4 star boutique hotel and restaurant in Suffolk surprises with a twist of urban chic. Our Suffolk hotel is right in the heart of Bury St Edmunds town centre and everything is just a step from here. Explore winding, cobbled, shop filled streets and a plethora of ancient architecture on the doorstep. Once inside, The Angel Hotel is a curious contrast of comfy contemporary design with touches of exotic grandeur. Warm leather sofas vie for your company in the lounge, which is filled with curiosities, pop art, eccentric oddities and cool vintage furniture. It is a hotel of many different aspects all artfully blended together into an exciting package and the bedrooms are no exception. The Angel Eaterie has a great reputation and dining here is a culinary treat. Take the steps down into the decadently curious Wingspan Cocktail Bar & Lounge located in the 12th Century vaults under the Hotel. Wingspan is the perfect location to meet with friends, for pre-dinner drinks, or simply to relax after a long day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Angel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angel Hotel Bury St Edmunds
Angel Bury St Edmunds
The Angel Hotel Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing