We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Appalling food”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of The Angel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Angel Hotel
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Bury St Edmunds
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Appalling food”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013 via mobile

It's been 15 years since I had been back to the Angel and I wish I hadn't. A once elegant hotel with genuine charm has been turned into a faux-modern wannabe. The decor tried to be trendy but misses the mark terribly. The 'new' dining room is a loud wooden floored box with questionable art work that follows no theme, just a wetherspoons mishmash.
The menu looks ok, some interesting choices and specials available. Prices looked reasonable. That's where it ends as the kitchens execution of the dishes was frankly amateur. There was a 35 minute wait for the starter to arrive. The portions were tiny and my pigeon breast was overlooked, dry and rubbery. Inedible. I sent it back and after 10 minutes it was replaced with a better cooked one but it was still tasteless and tough. Other dishes on the table were edible but hardly exciting.
The wait for the main courses was another 30 minutes. On asking the waitress a litany on excuses were wheeled out but not with much conviction. The reality is the kitchen are ill prepared for a busy operation. The service, although friendly, was amateur and no sign of any management. Better trained staff would have noted the delays and provided extra bead and apologies.
In all this was very disappointing. The former elegant fine dining restaurant has been replaced by a trendy bistro that fails to deliver.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LynnCowan, Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear Mark

I am sorry to read of your disappointing meal experience. We work hard to provide high levels of customer service and food within our restaurant. My sincere apologies that we did not meet your expectations.

With Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    448
    390
    177
    71
    46
See reviews for
125
583
45
178
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Essex london
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013

Having gone to bury st Edmunds for many years and always staying in the angel hotel all round great hotel restraunt food excellent for Christmas market great location a lovely weekend lovely fire burning giving a lovely cosy atmosphere

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LynnCowan, Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear Sharon

Thank you for leaving your feedback. I am glad that you enjoyed your time with us for the Christmas Market. I hope we can welcome you back to The Angel hotel next year.

With Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ringmer, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013

Fabulous hotel, with the kindest staff...Room was not "amazing", but bathroom was large and well appointed... Breakfast was lush.... Perfect location, and carpark "attendants" a real asset!!..... Pretty little town with lovely shops, restraint, bars, and cobbled streets...

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LynnCowan, Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear Tara

I am glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for taking the time to leave feedback. I hope we can welcome you back to The Angel Hotel in the near future.

With Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013

We have never actually stayed at the Angel but we do visit quite often for Sunday lunch as it's one of the best around! The food is excellent quality, the service is brilliant & the atmosphere is really pleasant. The wine choice is very good and we have sat in the lounge after lunch on a couple of occasions which is really relaxing. Will definatley continue to keep going & would recommend to everyone!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lish04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LynnCowan, Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback on The Angel Hotel and taking the time to write a review. I am glad that you enjoyed your Sunday lunch with us and I hope to be welcoming you back to The Angel Hotel again.

With Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Home Counties UK
Level Contributor
231 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

The Angel in Bury St Edmunds already with a good reputation, has quietly taken
steps to consolidate this position.

Rooms have been re-styled and re-furbished. This is a large Hotel and so one faces
lengthy corridors - depending upon which room is allocated to you of course. However,
you are met by one of the energetic car valet parking team who also will act as porters for you
as they quickly guide you to your room. We had Impressions Room (No 18) - first rate.
Spacious, stylish, well equipped with a massive and comfortable bed. Excellent bathroom with a power shower. Whilst maximum lighting levels in the room were a little low, more annoying was the lack of proper bed-side reading lamps. There are two - one each side. Elegant ones.
but they are 'dim' and they do not light your page very well. Worse they are not independently
switchable either. One off - both off, and if you are on the left side you don't have control!
However, a weekend stay was otherwise delightful. Spotlessly clean, excellent food - breakfast and lunch
were both faultless. As were the staff - helpful, courteous and busily efficent at all times.

Well done Team Angel!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LynnCowan, Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear Colin

I appreciate you taking the time to leave a review on your stay at The Angel Hotel. It was lovely to read that you had a wonderful time with us and that you enjoyed your stay, I hope we can welcome you back in the near future.

With Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
52 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

We've stayed at the Angel in Bury St Edmunds more than 5 times now and up until now its been a faultless, very pleasurable stay. However having just spent a night with friends at the Angel I'm sad to say the service faltered this time in some areas with one exception. On arrival the stars of the hotel are the car park guys and they are courteous, friendly and incredibly welcoming parking your car and taking your bags to your rooms. They never change and are always great.
So the rooms are fine, the food quality is good, the decor very nice .. BUT the following are the niggles which we haven't ever experienced before during any stay here. In one of our rooms we found a pair of mens underwear so the bathroom hadn't been checked thoroughly. We went down to the lovely crypt type bar, asked for drinks and was told the person would come back and take our order. Never did. Nor did the next 2 members of staff. Only by asking a 4th which seemed to be an inconvenience did we get served. So 45 mins it took us to get someone to take our drinks order. Im guessing the hotel was very stretched and there was no manager visible picking up on issues and no process for taking drink orders down stairs. Then the main hotels female toilets had run out of paper towels for hand drying so obviously not regularly checked. Sadly the normally lovely roaring fire wasn't lit, but perhaps it was too mild so I'll let that one go.
On checking out I was met with a surly receptionist who never asked if I enjoyed my stay, never made eye contact and after I very politely mentioned our niggles during our stay, said nothing and proceeded to swipe my credit card with no apologies. Surprisingly unfriendly for a quality hotel in a quaint british village. The right thing to do would have been to raise it then and there with the duty manager or even make a token gesture of some sort. As nothing was forthcoming, we therefore deducted the discretionary 10% service tip (automatically applied I might add) from the meal and paid the car park guys a very good tip instead, as they deserved it.
Hopefully this drop in service is simply a blip as its definitely not expected from a previously good quality hotel. The average rating is given due to previous good experiences.

Room Tip: we prefer the newer block out the back as the rooms are a more modern decor compared to the main bui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason_Warren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LynnCowan, Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear Jason

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stat at The Angel Hotel. I am sorry to read of your disappointment. We work hard on training in terms of customer care and standards and I am sorry we let you down on this occasion. I do hope that we can welcome you back in the near future.

With Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

Was first of all impressed when phoned to book on a offer and staff told us there was an even better offer! Although the parking is limited at the hotel, a member of staff parks for you in spaces the average driver would not manage.

Our room was comfortable but did not have the wow factor, however, as we were taking advantage of a good offer with a free afternoon tea we were not disappointed. We choose to have a drink in the sensational cloistered bar in the vaults of the hotel; incredibly atmospheric and the bar tender had good knowledge of its history.

The service in the restaurant was excellent as was the main course choice (an elegant version of fish & chips). With its very central location and all round good service it is a good choice.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LucyByTheSea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LynnCowan, Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear Lucy

Thank you for your feedback on The Angel Hotel and taking the time to write a review. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and I hope to be welcoming you back to The Angel Hotel again.

With Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bury St Edmunds
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Bury St Edmunds Town Centre Hotel
Premier Inn Bury St Edmunds Town...
#1 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
4.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Priory Hotel
BEST WESTERN Priory Hotel
#7 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
2.9 mi away
Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel
Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel
#2 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
All Saints Hotel
All Saints Hotel
#6 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
10.1 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
23.1 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Angel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Angel Hotel

Property: The Angel Hotel
Address: 3 Angel Hill, Bury St Edmunds IP33 1LT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Bury St Edmunds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Bury St Edmunds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Angel Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Georgian ivy clad 4 star boutique hotel and restaurant in Suffolk surprises with a twist of urban chic. Our Suffolk hotel is right in the heart of Bury St Edmunds town centre and everything is just a step from here. Explore winding, cobbled, shop filled streets and a plethora of ancient architecture on the doorstep. Once inside, The Angel Hotel is a curious contrast of comfy contemporary design with touches of exotic grandeur. Warm leather sofas vie for your company in the lounge, which is filled with curiosities, pop art, eccentric oddities and cool vintage furniture. It is a hotel of many different aspects all artfully blended together into an exciting package and the bedrooms are no exception. The Angel Eaterie has a great reputation and dining here is a culinary treat. Take the steps down into the decadently curious Wingspan Cocktail Bar & Lounge located in the 12th Century vaults under the Hotel. Wingspan is the perfect location to meet with friends, for pre-dinner drinks, or simply to relax after a long day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Angel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angel Hotel Bury St Edmunds
Angel Bury St Edmunds
The Angel Hotel Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing