We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Evening” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Angel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Angel Hotel
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Bury St Edmunds
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Great Evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

Had a fantastic meal last weekend on a mini school reunion, the duck was excellent, staff were very nice, view of the abbey gate awesome - wine choices great, although a bit pricey ... taking my parents before I leave for oz.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mole46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LynnCowan, Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear Guest

I am glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for taking the time to leave feedback. I hope we can welcome you back to The Angel Hotel in the near future.

With Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    436
    383
    172
    69
    46
See reviews for
123
572
44
172
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed over Christmas but have been staying on and off for 10 years. The Angel is a traditional English market town inn, but larger and run far better than any other I have been in. Because of my wife's disability, we choose a courtyard room -- most able bodied visitors would probably prefer one of the older and more traditional rooms. Room is a good size with a very comfortable bed and clean bathroom. The food in the hotel restaurant is well above average. But it is the staff that really make The Angel a great place to stay. They really do go out of their way to be helpful. Highly recommended.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank M1adison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LynnCowan, Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear Madison

Thank you for your feedback on The Angel Hotel and taking the time to write a review. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay at Christmas and I hope to be welcoming you back to The Angel Hotel again.

With Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

I had always wanted to stay at The Angel in Bury St Edmunds and am so glad to say that I now officially have! What amazing service, waiting staff, restaurant service, quality of food.... Everything was outstanding from arrival when our car was parked for us and bags carried to our amazing room, right through to departing when our car was again driven to the front door for us and bags placed into the boot. Outstanding and a real fairytale of a visit. Thank you to the lovely lady on reception who, as with the rest of her team, helped create fantastic memories for my partner and I :) Will be back, without any question whatsoever. Oh, and breakfast in bed was a dream too (and no extra charge!).

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wheataldo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LynnCowan, Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear Guest

I appreciate you taking the time to leave a review on your stay at The Angel Hotel. It was lovely to read that you had a wonderful time with us and we hope we can welcome you back in the near future.

With Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

My husband and I booked a two night break which we were really looking forward to. I am sorry to say we were dissapointed with some aspects of our stay. Our room was in the coach yard which was fairly quiet, but the lighting was dreadfull, It was very difficult to read, put makeup on and anything which required any additional light as the room was not blessed with much natural light. We had no draws in out room to put clothes in so underwear etc stayed in case. The room needed some T.L.C. as did most of the communial areas which were also very poorly lit.
The staff were extremely helpful and polite which did this hotel credit.
The food was very good especially afternoon tea.
Would I go back again ??? I dont think so as I my expectations were not met.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lydcroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LynnCowan, Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review on The Angel Hotel, I am sorry that we did not meet you expectations on this occasion and your comments will be passed along to my heads of departments.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wickford
Level Contributor
113 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

Each year myself,my husband and son come down to the xmas market. We had always admired the look and location of the Angel hotel. So we decided for this years visit to stay for the Saturday evening , so we could take advantage of the mulled cider and not have to drive home .
We had one of the suites facing the front of the hotel, overlooking the Abbey and market. A few little scuffs to the decor but nothing major . Also a nice touch was the box of mini complimentary doughnuts which my son sampled with relish . A lovely size room with clean and spacious bathroom.

On arriving at the hotel if driving , you are greeted by the double act car valet chaps , who should seriously be made into tv characters . However they are very good in their present employment . They appear by magic and whisk your car away , if you ask nicely they do return it when required.

There was power cut when we stayed , the staff lit lots of candles in the bar , which only added to the cozy atmosphere. Staff very polite and helpful . We didn't dine at the hotel as we wanted to make the most of the market after dark , to absorb the lights and the live band before we went for our evening meal , we went back to our favourite Indian restaurant , which is just a short walk away.

Needless to say we are already booked in to the same room for this years family xmas vacation to Bury xmas market

Room Tip: To enjoy the market it's essential to stay at the front of the hotel, noisy but doesn't go o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eve r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LynnCowan, Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear Eve

It was lovely to read your review about your stay at The Angel Hotel for the Christmas market. I am glad that you with us was enjoyable and I hope that we can welcome you back to The Angel hotel for next year's Christmas market.

With Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham
Level Contributor
159 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

This was booked for a two-night stay to attend a nearby wedding. The wedding hosts had previously checked the hotel and shown a room, and recommended it. With a relatively large hotel such as this one, of course anyone asking to see a room will be shown one of the better ones. With the description of the room viewed by the wedding hosts and our room, you would think it was a different hotel.

We booked an "Originals" room, and expected it to be in the main building. At the time of booking, there was also the option of a Coach House room, but we always prefer to stay in the main building of a hotel. There was very good service at reception, our car was valet parked, and we were shown to our room. It was across a courtyard and in another building. Not what we expected. When I queried this, I was told it was an Originals room.

The room was smaller than the budget Premiere Inn chain standard rooms (for example), but there were some similarities, particularly the lighting. There was a full-length mirror on the wall of the bedroom, but no light overhead or in front of it. Useless. The bathroom had three GU10 ceiling lights, none of which gave adequate lighting for use the mirror for makeup / shaving. All other hotels I have stayed in have either had a light by the mirror, or a separate makeup / shaver mirror with a built-in light.

The bathroom itself was of a high standard and with good quality toiletries.

The bedroom had a wardrobe in an alcove, next to the door to the bathroom. There was no light nearby, so it was dark. The wardrobe itself was tiny, around 4ft tall and 3ft wide. You could not hang up a full-length ladies dress in it. Also, there was very limited hanging space as half of the width was shelves.

The bed was comfortable and there was about 2ft of space on one side of the bed and about 4ft on the other. There was probably about 3ft of space at the bottom of the bed. A flat screen TV was fixed to the wall.

There was a small table with tea / coffee making facilities and a pack of biscuits. There was a pendant light at a dangerously low pendant light above this table, which I hit my head on several times.

No clock / alarm clock of any type was provided in the room. There was one standard chair next to the table, and an armchair in an alcove by the door.

The room was noisy as it was next to the main entrance to this separate building and the door closer on the main door did not stop the door banging every time it closed and you could hear everyone's conversations as if the door to the room was open.

The door closer in the actual room had two tracks of oil running down from it. Fortunately, I spotted this before hanging any clothes on the back of the door on the door hook. (out of necessity as the wardrobe was too small).

The only food we had was breakfast. There was a limited choice, and we had the Suffolk breakfast. The portion sizes were small, but the quality and taste was good. The breakfast was included in the rate, but was fixed price otherwise. It was not worth the fixed price of £15 if bought separately.

There was a public car park at the front of the hotel, with a two-hour parking limit and a £3.30 fee, I think. This is why the valet parking is needed.

In other parts of the country, outside London, I would have expected to have paid no more than £70 for a room of this type, and not £126 per night.

The staff were very pleasant and efficient, and I could not fault them. But, I would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ecomm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LynnCowan, Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on your recent stay. I have read through and have taken all your comments on board. I do hope that reception team offered you an alternative room in the main building? If not my sincere apologies.

With Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

This was our third stay and the room choice just keeps getting better, our allocated room was called an impressions room (20), spacious and a perfect position on the ground floor.

The Wingspan (bar with a difference) is a great addition for the hotel, housed in the basement with beautiful architecture dating back to the 12th century. The design of individual alcoves for privacy while enjoying a bottle of wine is a great experience, tastefully housing a mixture of modern furniture and very comfortable seating, we would recommend everyone to enjoy a drink or two here. We want to come back just to soak up the history alone.

The staff at this hotel are well costumed to meeting your needs; staff at all levels were extremely friendly and we were appreciative to their genuine care they all had, plus the two most helpful porters we have ever met.

Bury St Edmunds is a quite market town however it has lots to offer; good choice of pubs,restaurants and bars. Our favourite place is walking through Abbey gardens, directly opposite our room from the Angel Hotel and the Arc shopping centre with some of the better choice of shops.

Room Tip: Request an impressions room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank grantfamilydevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LynnCowan, Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear Guest

It was lovely to read your review about your stay at The Angel Hotel. I am glad that you with us was enjoyable and I hope that we can welcome you back in the near future.

With Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bury St Edmunds
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Bury St Edmunds Town Centre Hotel
Premier Inn Bury St Edmunds Town...
#1 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
4.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
2.9 mi away
Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel
Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel
#2 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Priory Hotel
BEST WESTERN Priory Hotel
#7 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
All Saints Hotel
All Saints Hotel
#6 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
10.0 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
23.1 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Angel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Angel Hotel

Property: The Angel Hotel
Address: 3 Angel Hill, Bury St Edmunds IP33 1LT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Bury St Edmunds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Bury St Edmunds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Angel Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Georgian ivy clad 4 star boutique hotel and restaurant in Suffolk surprises with a twist of urban chic. Our Suffolk hotel is right in the heart of Bury St Edmunds town centre and everything is just a step from here. Explore winding, cobbled, shop filled streets and a plethora of ancient architecture on the doorstep. Once inside, The Angel Hotel is a curious contrast of comfy contemporary design with touches of exotic grandeur. Warm leather sofas vie for your company in the lounge, which is filled with curiosities, pop art, eccentric oddities and cool vintage furniture. It is a hotel of many different aspects all artfully blended together into an exciting package and the bedrooms are no exception. The Angel Eaterie has a great reputation and dining here is a culinary treat. Take the steps down into the decadently curious Wingspan Cocktail Bar & Lounge located in the 12th Century vaults under the Hotel. Wingspan is the perfect location to meet with friends, for pre-dinner drinks, or simply to relax after a long day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your The Angel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angel Hotel Bury St Edmunds
Angel Bury St Edmunds
The Angel Hotel Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing