We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One Night stopover Bed & Breakfast”
Review of The Angel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Angel Hotel
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Bury St Edmunds
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Booked for my son's 18th birthday suprise for him & his girlfriend. Hotel allowed me to take my own champagne in, which they put on ice in their room ready for their arrival. Room service 24/7 & good attendance from waiting staff.

Room Tip: The first floo rIvy Suite has superb views with a balcony which opens up to overlook the Angel Hill...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,233)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

704 - 710 of 1,233 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2014

We stayed here in April. Very good central location with the market, shops & restaurants within minutes and the Abbey Ruins directly opposite. The service was good with a nice cosy atmosphere but our room was basic and the bathroom was quite small for the price they charge per night. We only ate breakfast in the hotel which was very nice & included in our package but if you were paying for the breakfast again I think it was overpriced. All in all, a very pleasant stay but a bit expensive for what you get.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beverly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

A one night stay that included a trip to Newmarket Races (transport provided by the hotel), an evening meal and breakfast.
The Angel is very local and so I would not stay here very often but this was a special treat for my girlfriend and I.
The Angel is a stunning hotel and the staff are really helpful.
The evening meal and the breakfast could not be faulted.
I would award 5 stars for everything.
Thank you Angel

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrnick99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We booked a long weekend at this hotel but then had to change our plans because a late finish by our builder meant we had to move the weekend we had planned to stay. We phoned and asked if we could move our stay to another weekend and we also stated we would be happy to pay a fee for changing our booking or a premium for changing to a more popular weekend. My husband was told ( and I quote) "tough - too bad!". So this hotel has been happy to pocket £650 and wasn't prepared to discuss an alternative. Not impressed at all and does Bury St.Edmunds no favours either.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
17  Thank Angela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We have just returned from 3 nights at The Angel Hotel and were very pleased with the level of service and accommodation. Once we had been met by the very helpful gentleman who parked our car and carried our luggage to our room, we sat down in the lounge area for a meal of which the quality was excellent! We also took a well behaved dog and the staff could not have been more helpful to ensuring her stay was as good as ours. We were in room 462 which had been newly decorated and was in a quiet part of the hotel. It was very clean and the bed was huge and very comfortable. All our needs were met and by friendly accommodating staff. We will certainly go back again. Thank you to everyone at The Angel Hotel for making our stay enjoyable! (My only criticism are of the breakfast staff who are young and not as warm in the morning!)

Room Tip: Ask for a newly decorated room on booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janesweetie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We reserved for afternoon tea today . Shown to a dimly lit lounge more suitable for evening drinks rather than a spring afternoon Sunday Tea. The tea arrived and the scones and cream never came. We waited and waited and waited. Why not bring the tea with the scones? What is so difficult and challenging, surely this is a simple task? Very poor service, and 3 disappointed customers having to go else where with no intention of returning.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Service
4  Thank noir5656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We had an excellent room, number 21, although it would not be suitable for people who find stairs to the bathroom unsafe in the night!
The two Portuguese gentlemen who look after our car on arrival and departure were top class as always. Very welcoming and accommodating and always smiling! It is a joy to arrive at the hotel.
The receptionists are always extremely pleasant and helpful as well.
The High Tea for our grandchildren is always haphazard! We now check before we arrive at the hotel and when we check in to make sure they are expecting us, but there is always confusion.
Dinner for four was excellent but very slow between courses. There does seem to be more cohesion between the staff and the Maître D'hôtel which is good.
We visit The Angel several times a year and we love it. The atmosphere in the public rooms is like home from home.
The lighting in the bathrooms in all the rooms we have stayed in is not good: neither for ladies putting on makeup nor for gentlemen shaving. Maybe the Manager should invite his partner to stay in different rooms to experience what we mean. Also the hight of chairs in the dining room does not match the height of table. I have only experienced the perfect height of chair/table beside the windows in the main dining room. These are basic design problems and easily solvable. In general the hotel has improved in the last year - there was room for improvement, and I am sure it will continue to improve.

Room Tip: If you are a foreign visitor ask for one of the grand older rooms. They have plenty of Old English...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pingopolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bury St Edmunds
1.2 mi away
Best Western Priory Hotel
Best Western Priory Hotel
#7 of 10 in Bury St Edmunds
510 reviews
23.1 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Chantry Hotel
The Chantry Hotel
#3 of 10 in Bury St Edmunds
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
All Saints Hotel
All Saints Hotel
#6 of 10 in Bury St Edmunds
244 reviews
10.1 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
2.9 mi away
Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel
Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel
#4 of 10 in Bury St Edmunds
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Angel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Angel Hotel

Address: 3 Angel Hill, Bury St Edmunds IP33 1LT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Bury St Edmunds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Bury St Edmunds
Price Range: £114 - £199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Angel Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Georgian ivy clad 4 star boutique hotel and restaurant in Suffolk surprises with a twist of urban chic. Our Suffolk hotel is right in the heart of Bury St Edmunds town centre and everything is just a step from here. Explore winding, cobbled, shop filled streets and a plethora of ancient architecture on the doorstep. Once inside, The Angel Hotel is a curious contrast of comfy contemporary design with touches of exotic grandeur. Warm leather sofas vie for your company in the lounge, which is filled with curiosities, pop art, eccentric oddities and cool vintage furniture. It is a hotel of many different aspects all artfully blended together into an exciting package and the bedrooms are no exception. The Angel Eaterie has a great reputation and dining here is a culinary treat. Take the steps down into the decadently curious Wingspan Cocktail Bar & Lounge located in the 12th Century vaults under the Hotel. Wingspan is the perfect location to meet with friends, for pre-dinner drinks, or simply to relax after a long day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and LateRooms so you can book your The Angel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angel Hotel Bury St Edmunds
Angel Bury St Edmunds
The Angel Hotel Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing