We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel close to the Abbey.”
Review of The Angel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Angel Hotel
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Bury St Edmunds
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We stayed here for one night in May after we attended a Wedding. On checking in we were greeted by a member of staff who parked our car for us. Check in was easy and painfree, the staff were lovely. Our room was on the ground floor at the back. It was a nice room with all the usual facilities. The bed was very comfy and we had loads of room !
The only down point was that vans and cars parked on the pavement outside our bedroom window so we were disturbed by them, not the Hotels fault, more a design issue from days gone by!!!
The decoration in the hotel is quirky ! Plenty to look at!
Breakfast the next morning was lovely I had eggs Benedict which was very tasty.
We had a very nice stay and we would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms at the back have vehicles parked right up to the bedroom windows!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lyzzydee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,270)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

728 - 734 of 1,270 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2014

We stayed here for one night for our Ruby Anniversary as treat from our daughters. We had a large room facing the Abbey Gardens with a four poster bed which was grand and quite special but the decor was a little shabby in places. There was no air conditioning in the room and if you wanted the windows open the traffic noise on the cobbled street below made sleeping difficult.We had afternoon tea in the Lounge, there was plenty of sandwiches and cakes and the staff boxed what was left for the family.Breakfast was of good quality although the portions of the full English on the small side. We enjoyed a good lunch in the restaurant,the atmosphere and service very good.Overall the stay at the hotel was enjoyable,the staff good but that extra little effort for our special occasion seemed to be missing.

Room Tip: If you prefer a quiet room request a room at the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidL952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We are former residents of Bury who came back for a visit. I had stayed at the Angel on two occassions (once when we first arrived in Bury and for about a week just prior to us leaving the UK). MNy wife though had enjoyed meals and drinks (and tea) at the Angel, had never stayed there.

So the staff is top drawer. Anyone complaining of a language barrier is, in my view, wrong. There are a lot of Eastern European staff that work at the hotel but they are to a person....excellent in their service and their communication. They all treat you as an individual, they get to know you quickly...they call you by name......This part of the trip was excellent.

We originally were given a room which was in very sub-standad condition......Not sure why except concluded that we had booked under a corporate rate and perhaps they felt public rates deserve the best rooms....Regardless, i expressed my desire to change rooms and they accomodated right away to a room that was perfectly situated and met ALL of our expectations.

Service in the lobby area for drinks was great (though at times you do have to go look for soemone, that is part of the charm of a boutique hotel).....

Breakfast was great (we had it delivered tot he room one morning and that was flawless as well). They got every special request done perfectly (cheese for the scambled eggs...no blood pudding........instead of a Bacon Bap we asked for a sausage Bap) and were happy to accomodate....again, without hesitation and executed wonderfully.

Thanks to the staff of the Angel for making our return to Bury a great visit and making us feel like valued guests. We will not saty anywhere else when we return to Bury again.

Room Tip: Look at the oictures posted here and do not accept a less than acceptable room (there are still some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scooter34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

I love coming here to stay here but I just came for afternoon tea there was a great variety of cakes and sandwiches and plenty of tea would highly recommend it :) the staff remember you as well which gives it that personal touch :)

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Jess1102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

This hotel had a historic reputation for service and food that has sadly slipped if our last visit is anything to go by. The 'meet and greet' guys who appear from nowhere when your car enters under the famed arched entry are great!. They do what they say they will do - with aplomb and on time, every time. We were a party of 5 people in a show at the Theatre Royal, Bury St. Edmunds and arrived at around the same time to be greeted by a non-plus reception team who seemed unaware of our booking and the arrangements that had been made for us - a 'threat to leave' brought a positive reaction and the 'meet and greet' guys appeared and took us to our rooms in exemplary manner. Late night drinks after the show back at the hotel took an age to appear... an ominous warning! Breakfast was a farce. A language problem with the waitress did not help and only one of us actually got the breakfast we asked for. An example was that the substitute for fried bread that I received was two pieces of plain white bread! So sad as I remember having a 3-day break, late Summer, at this hotel and loving the entire stay especially the evening meals that were very special.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank livingcoward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The hotel is 'quirky' with a mix of antiques and modern. Our room was fine but it was not possible to have our requested choice of 'downstairs or near a lift' So quite a few small steps to manage. The breakfast was really good. The restaurant expensive. Especially comparing it to 'Maison Bleu' round the corner. The bar downstairs is very interesting. Apparently built in the tunnels used by the monks escaping from Henry viii. The staff were friendly and helpful. It was nice to have a car parking service. The location is perfect being opposite the Abbey Gardens.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frankie011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

I have stayed here a few times and all of the other visits were very good hence going back, so I requested a quite room which it turns out I didn't get lots of traffic noises in the night / very early morning.

The issue with this hotel was simply the receptionist Reena I think her name is she is rude, aggressive and argumentative. When I checked in I thought she was a bit off with me, I ordered some room service with the same lady and she told me they don't do pizzas when there was a pizza menu in my room after establishing they do pizzas I ordered one but I had to repeat my order four times! overall there was an attitude this was then made worse when I asked for some tooth paste when I walked to the main reception you guessed it same person told me I had to pay for it which was annoying especially as I had paid them £130 for a room I really don't think they need to charge for tooth paste.

checking out was painful as the same person was on reception and she argued with me about this really wound me up the management need to change this staff member as I do usually like this place the food is always excellent but front of house is poor.
I might stay here again but this experience has put me off big time.
oh yes and there were someone elses whiskers in the sink as they haven't cleaned in properly!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gareth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bury St Edmunds
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Bury St Edmunds Town Centre Hotel
Premier Inn Bury St Edmunds Town...
#1 of 10 in Bury St Edmunds
547 reviews
1.2 mi away
Best Western Priory Hotel
Best Western Priory Hotel
#7 of 10 in Bury St Edmunds
538 reviews
23.1 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Chantry Hotel
The Chantry Hotel
#4 of 10 in Bury St Edmunds
229 reviews
2.3 mi away
All Saints Hotel
All Saints Hotel
#2 of 10 in Bury St Edmunds
325 reviews
2.9 mi away
Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel
Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel
#6 of 10 in Bury St Edmunds
664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Angel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Angel Hotel

Address: 3 Angel Hill, Bury St Edmunds IP33 1LT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Bury St Edmunds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Bury St Edmunds
Price Range: £97 - £203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Angel Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Georgian ivy clad 4 star boutique hotel and restaurant in Suffolk surprises with a twist of urban chic. Our Suffolk hotel is right in the heart of Bury St Edmunds town centre and everything is just a step from here. Explore winding, cobbled, shop filled streets and a plethora of ancient architecture on the doorstep. Once inside, The Angel Hotel is a curious contrast of comfy contemporary design with touches of exotic grandeur. Warm leather sofas vie for your company in the lounge, which is filled with curiosities, pop art, eccentric oddities and cool vintage furniture. It is a hotel of many different aspects all artfully blended together into an exciting package and the bedrooms are no exception. The Angel Eaterie has a great reputation and dining here is a culinary treat. Take the steps down into the decadently curious Wingspan Cocktail Bar & Lounge located in the 12th Century vaults under the Hotel. Wingspan is the perfect location to meet with friends, for pre-dinner drinks, or simply to relax after a long day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Odigeo, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Angel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angel Hotel Bury St Edmunds
Angel Bury St Edmunds
The Angel Hotel Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing