We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic hotel in great location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Angel Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Angel Hotel
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Bury St Edmunds
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel in great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

This beautiful Georgian ivy-covered hotel is right at the very centre of historic Bury St Edmunds. Our large room was on the second floor at the end of the corridor and was bright and airy with contemporary and funky decor. With two windows overlooking the Abbey and Cathedral, comfy armchairs for relaxing and watching the world go by and a sumptuous bathroom with HUGE copper bath (and rainfall shower) it was just about perfect. There was also a freeview TV (which we did not use) and a DAB radio with ipod docking station which was a nice touch as we could listen to our own choice of music. As far as the accommodation was concerned, we just could not imagine this experience could be bettered. We stayed for two nights and will definitely return before long.

On the downside, the service in the restaurant is not very good and would be greatly improved by better staff training and supervision. Although the food is good and well presented, dinner was somewhat chaotic, as was breakfast the following morning, so we decided to eat elsewhere on the second night as the restaurant service does not do the establishment justice.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rednoble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    437
    383
    172
    70
    46
See reviews for
123
572
44
173
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

We stayed here on our wedding night and were disappointed with the level of service we received. The hotel lacks a personality to welcome guests and prefers to have staff wearing earpieces than actually communicating with customers. Our room was lovely but there was no acknowledgement that it was our wedding night in our room. Breakfast was ok but for the prices being charged I would expect 'Excellent'!! I have since conveyed my thoughts to the hotel who seem not particularly interested to make it right. Pew have been offered an upgrade next time we stay ' if one is available' !! Says it all really. Shame the Angel is so interested in the tourists rather than people who are local.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EscapeSuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Stayed for a wedding. Staff were very polite. Had free parking and internet. Booked a deluxe double room but it was very small, could barely walk around the bed. Bed was hard and uncomfortable. Breakfast was included in the price, which was good as I wouldn't have paid for it. Very slow service and over salted food.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Firefly51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

Stayed here for a single night for a family get together. Excellent accommodation, clean, helpful friendly staff with a very good reasonably priced restaurant. Very centrally located for anything you may wish to see in Bury St Edmunds. Rooms a bit on the pricey side - as I was on my own I had sole use of a huge double room which may in part account for my view of the price (why do so few hotels seem to do single rooms?). One minor petty quibble would be that the staff can be almost too attentive - I may no longer be young but I am capable of carrying a small overnight bag down a flight of stairs without someone rushing to my aid!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mike_garley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welwyn Garden City
Level Contributor
115 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

We stayed here for one night in May after we attended a Wedding. On checking in we were greeted by a member of staff who parked our car for us. Check in was easy and painfree, the staff were lovely. Our room was on the ground floor at the back. It was a nice room with all the usual facilities. The bed was very comfy and we had loads of room !
The only down point was that vans and cars parked on the pavement outside our bedroom window so we were disturbed by them, not the Hotels fault, more a design issue from days gone by!!!
The decoration in the hotel is quirky ! Plenty to look at!
Breakfast the next morning was lovely I had eggs Benedict which was very tasty.
We had a very nice stay and we would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms at the back have vehicles parked right up to the bedroom windows!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lyzzydee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

We stayed here for one night for our Ruby Anniversary as treat from our daughters. We had a large room facing the Abbey Gardens with a four poster bed which was grand and quite special but the decor was a little shabby in places. There was no air conditioning in the room and if you wanted the windows open the traffic noise on the cobbled street below made sleeping difficult.We had afternoon tea in the Lounge, there was plenty of sandwiches and cakes and the staff boxed what was left for the family.Breakfast was of good quality although the portions of the full English on the small side. We enjoyed a good lunch in the restaurant,the atmosphere and service very good.Overall the stay at the hotel was enjoyable,the staff good but that extra little effort for our special occasion seemed to be missing.

Room Tip: If you prefer a quiet room request a room at the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidL952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

We are former residents of Bury who came back for a visit. I had stayed at the Angel on two occassions (once when we first arrived in Bury and for about a week just prior to us leaving the UK). MNy wife though had enjoyed meals and drinks (and tea) at the Angel, had never stayed there.

So the staff is top drawer. Anyone complaining of a language barrier is, in my view, wrong. There are a lot of Eastern European staff that work at the hotel but they are to a person....excellent in their service and their communication. They all treat you as an individual, they get to know you quickly...they call you by name......This part of the trip was excellent.

We originally were given a room which was in very sub-standad condition......Not sure why except concluded that we had booked under a corporate rate and perhaps they felt public rates deserve the best rooms....Regardless, i expressed my desire to change rooms and they accomodated right away to a room that was perfectly situated and met ALL of our expectations.

Service in the lobby area for drinks was great (though at times you do have to go look for soemone, that is part of the charm of a boutique hotel).....

Breakfast was great (we had it delivered tot he room one morning and that was flawless as well). They got every special request done perfectly (cheese for the scambled eggs...no blood pudding........instead of a Bacon Bap we asked for a sausage Bap) and were happy to accomodate....again, without hesitation and executed wonderfully.

Thanks to the staff of the Angel for making our return to Bury a great visit and making us feel like valued guests. We will not saty anywhere else when we return to Bury again.

Room Tip: Look at the oictures posted here and do not accept a less than acceptable room (there are still some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scooter34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bury St Edmunds
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Bury St Edmunds Town Centre Hotel
Premier Inn Bury St Edmunds Town...
#1 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
4.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
2.9 mi away
Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel
Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel
#2 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Priory Hotel
BEST WESTERN Priory Hotel
#7 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
All Saints Hotel
All Saints Hotel
#6 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
10.0 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
23.1 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Angel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Angel Hotel

Property: The Angel Hotel
Address: 3 Angel Hill, Bury St Edmunds IP33 1LT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Bury St Edmunds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Bury St Edmunds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Angel Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Georgian ivy clad 4 star boutique hotel and restaurant in Suffolk surprises with a twist of urban chic. Our Suffolk hotel is right in the heart of Bury St Edmunds town centre and everything is just a step from here. Explore winding, cobbled, shop filled streets and a plethora of ancient architecture on the doorstep. Once inside, The Angel Hotel is a curious contrast of comfy contemporary design with touches of exotic grandeur. Warm leather sofas vie for your company in the lounge, which is filled with curiosities, pop art, eccentric oddities and cool vintage furniture. It is a hotel of many different aspects all artfully blended together into an exciting package and the bedrooms are no exception. The Angel Eaterie has a great reputation and dining here is a culinary treat. Take the steps down into the decadently curious Wingspan Cocktail Bar & Lounge located in the 12th Century vaults under the Hotel. Wingspan is the perfect location to meet with friends, for pre-dinner drinks, or simply to relax after a long day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers and Priceline so you can book your The Angel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angel Hotel Bury St Edmunds
Angel Bury St Edmunds
The Angel Hotel Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing