We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay”
Review of The Angel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Angel Hotel
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Bury St Edmunds
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Enjoyable stay”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

I recently enjoyed an excellent evening stay in The Angel. We had a lovely modern Originals room, it was a quiet room, nicely appointed and furnished. We had a comfortable nights sleep and it was a plenty spacious enough room, considering its an old building. We initially had problems with a previous stay at the hotel, but the staff were excellent in rectifying things second time around and we were very well cared for. I would suggest in our experience pay for a better room, if the appointments of the room are important to you. It is not the cheapest hotel but Bury St Edmunds is a unique town and this is bar far the best located within the town and really the only hotel of this quality (live locally, so know the options!). The bar in the vaults is totally unique and always worth a visit and the food and customer service is always good.

Room Tip: Originals upwards. Had a coach house room previously and the difference was noticeable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fizz16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart H, Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Thank you for sending us your positive feedback, it is always nice to hear positive feedback to pass on to my team.

It was a pleasure to welcome you to The Angel, I hope we can welcome you back soon.

Thank you.

Kind regards
Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    460
    397
    178
    72
    47
See reviews for
131
590
45
182
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We went for a late lunch on Thursday afternoon to celebrate my husband's birthday. The lunch menu is served all afternoon which was really handy for us. The three course set menu was very reasonably priced. I had bruschetta to start which was good apart from the green beans which were too chewy. I don't eat meat so I had white bean salad for main which was a huge portion and beautifully flavoured. For dessert I had a creme brulee served with shortbread. I enjoyed this though the consistency could have been thicker. There was a good range of wines to choose from.
The service was quick and efficient. The dining room decor is quirky and fun and we had a good table by the window. I enjoyed the meal very much though I think the chef could move up a gear to be truly excellent.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart H, Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Thank you for sending us your positive feedback, it is always nice to hear positive feedback to pass on to my team.

It was a pleasure to welcome you to The Angel, I hope we can welcome you back soon.

Thank you.

Kind regards
Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hampshire
Level Contributor
51 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

I have reviewed this hotel before, This time I had a good room, overlooking the square at the front. However, the same thing happened in the morning, I paid, went for breakfast, and when I went back to my room, it had been cleaned and my toothbrush thrown away. Check out is 11 am. I had put the do not disturb notice outside the door, before breakfast. The manager's excuse was that my case had gone, what were they doing in the room? It wasn't even 10am. Most people wish to go back to a room after breakfast and that is part of what we pay for. Why haven't they learnt from last time, but maybe it is me that has to learn! Not good enough.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank moscovy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart H, Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time write your review regarding your recent disappointing experience with us. It is always helpful to receive feedback from our guests in order that we may endeavour to improve the service and comfort we offer. I am glad we were able to offer a professional solution on the day.

Our Housekeeping team are in direct contact with my Reception team, reception informs housekeeping when guests check out, to allow the rooms to be checked for left items and to clean the room. On this occasion when you paid your bill, and requested your car keys and also informed my Housekeeping manager you had checked out we naturally assumed you had indeed checked out.

Once again my sincere apologies and I would like to thank you for your constructive feedback.

Kind regards
Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We had a lovely break at the Angel this past weekend.
The staff were very efficient and made us feel most comfortable.
We were also very impressed with their car parking arrangements.
We would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: Air conditioning is useful in the summer months
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DBDB8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart H, Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thank you for sending us your positive feedback, it is always nice to hear positive feedback to pass on to my team.

It was a pleasure to welcome you to The Angel, I hope we can welcome you back soon.

Thank you.

Kind regards
Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Very spacious and comfortable room and well located right in the centre of Bury St Edmunds. Doubt though that it's worth the money, £394 for a two night stay for my wife and I. The restaurant has a limited menu and the service was not brilliant.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Broadmeadow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart H, Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time write your review regarding your recent disappointing experience with us. It is always helpful to receive feedback from our guests in order that we may endeavour to improve the service and comfort we offer. I am glad we were able to offer a professional solution on the day.

Our dinner menu offers 8 options each course and at least 3 specials to offer fresh local produce, apologies if you do not think this is a large enough selection.

Once again my sincere apologies and I would like to thank you for your constructive feedback.

Kind regards
Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Went for an evening meal with my family and parents. I grew up locally and The Angel was always thought of as one the poshest places to eat. Sadly this is not the case any more. Little things were missing throughout the evening leaving us all feeling a bit disappointed. The drinks we preordered took ages to come (we had to ask for them), ice cream ordered came, no wafer or decoration. Coffee came no chocolates, fudge anything. All little things you would expect from a 4 star establishment. The food was lovely but the little extras were missing.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Penny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart H, Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Penny,

Thank you for taking the time write your review regarding your recent disappointing dinner experience with us. It is always helpful to receive feedback from our guests in order that we may endeavour to improve the service and comfort we offer.

We are not a fine dining restaurant and hold a 2 AA rosette's for our food, we work hard on our customer service as there is a lot of competition in the local area. I apologise we didn't live you to your expectations.

Please accept my sincere apologies for your disappointment with regards to the service you received this is not the standard I expect our guests to receive and I will be speaking with my Restaurant Manager with regards to this.

Once again my sincere apologies and I would like to thank you for your constructive feedback.

Kind regards
Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
190 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here last week whilst on a business coarse first impressions where great very picturesque loved the ivy all on the outside i went straight to my room on the ground floor and there was a problem with the tv i called reception and they sent some1 straight away and it still wouldnt work i was told they would ring me to arrange a room change which didnt happen i made a complaint on there facebook page and was upgraded to a suite which was beautiful

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart H, Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear David,

Thank you for sending us your positive feedback, it is always nice to hear positive feedback to pass on to my team.

I must apologise for the TV, I have spoken to my team and they have informed me it was actually on radio mode and just needed the mode to be changed back to TV. I apologise this was not communicated at the time. On the positive side I am glad you had a great night in our Contemporary suite.

It was a pleasure to welcome you to The Angel, I hope we can welcome you back soon.

Thank you.

Kind regards
Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bury St Edmunds
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Bury St Edmunds Town Centre Hotel
Premier Inn Bury St Edmunds Town...
#1 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
4.5 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
1.2 mi away
Best Western Priory Hotel
Best Western Priory Hotel
#7 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
2.9 mi away
Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel
Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel
#4 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
All Saints Hotel
All Saints Hotel
#6 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
10.1 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
23.1 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Angel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Angel Hotel

Property: The Angel Hotel
Address: 3 Angel Hill, Bury St Edmunds IP33 1LT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Bury St Edmunds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Bury St Edmunds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Angel Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Georgian ivy clad 4 star boutique hotel and restaurant in Suffolk surprises with a twist of urban chic. Our Suffolk hotel is right in the heart of Bury St Edmunds town centre and everything is just a step from here. Explore winding, cobbled, shop filled streets and a plethora of ancient architecture on the doorstep. Once inside, The Angel Hotel is a curious contrast of comfy contemporary design with touches of exotic grandeur. Warm leather sofas vie for your company in the lounge, which is filled with curiosities, pop art, eccentric oddities and cool vintage furniture. It is a hotel of many different aspects all artfully blended together into an exciting package and the bedrooms are no exception. The Angel Eaterie has a great reputation and dining here is a culinary treat. Take the steps down into the decadently curious Wingspan Cocktail Bar & Lounge located in the 12th Century vaults under the Hotel. Wingspan is the perfect location to meet with friends, for pre-dinner drinks, or simply to relax after a long day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your The Angel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angel Hotel Bury St Edmunds
Angel Bury St Edmunds
The Angel Hotel Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing