We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely for a weekend getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Bury St Edmunds
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 November 2011

We stayed for a weekend during the summer and it was a lovely and we had a really relaxing stay. The staff were welcoming and extremely helpful. The room was beautiful, the food was excellent and I would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank klc702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (662)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

623 - 629 of 662 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2011

I booked a surprise weekend away for my partner and me, safe in the knowledge that Craig, the owner, would run a tight ship. We were blown away by the food (the deer in particular, which was utterly delicious), and I loved perusing the wine list. We took our bikes, and were glad to be in an area in which much cycling was available - a great way to work up an appetite!

The room was sympathetically decorated, and the bed more comfy than either of us dared hope. In fact, I have to say my only negative comments would be that breakfast was a bit muddled every day, and no Sunday newspapers turned up whatsoever - I had been very much looking forward to perusing the Sunday Times while OH watched the F1!

All in all, though, a wonderful weekend. Thanks all

Room Tip: We were in the Rookery, which was nice and quiet but not with great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank perfectwine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2011

A quirky but very interesting and homely place to stay. The room was large and comfortable with a very well appointed en suite. Lovely open grounds, friendly, efficient but not intrusive staff. Excellent well presented meals with plenty of choice. The age and construction of Ravenwood Hall had been taken into consideration when decorating and furnishing. All in all to be recommended and very good value for money.

Room Tip: Ravenwood's website shows pics of all rooms and cost of each
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R_D284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2011

This was a great place to stay. The room was very well appointed and had everything we needed. The grounds of the hotel were lovely to walk around and we enjoyed a glass of wine in the garden after dinner in the restaurant. The food was lovely, both at breakfast and dinner and the staff helpful and friendly. This was a birthday weekend away and we will return again for another special occasion.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2011

We ate both lunch and dinner at this lovely old Hall and both were excellent. Food and service and very good and lovely ambiance. Would recommend highly.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FloridaJanice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2011

We stayed at this hotel for the 2nd time last month although we have dined there more often when visiting family in Suffolk. As always the staff are very welcoming, the food second to none and the atmosphere so comfortable and homely you feel part of a lovely country house weekend. The decor is not the most up-to-date but that makes it feel even more homely. The best thing for me was the enormous deep bath - (at least an hour of indulgent luxury)! We will be back in the future when in need of some peaceful R & R.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derbyfamily_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2011

We stayed recently at Ravenwood Hall Hotel for a mid week break and loved the character ambience of the lovely old building . (my husband is a Historic Building Consultant) The staff made the five of us feel very welcome and couldn't do enough for us. We stayed in the mews rooms which had French doors leading onto a small patio with table and chairs and views of the gardens which was perfect for us with our two dogs who also felt very welcome. The restaurant and the hotel, was very tastefully decorated which complemented the character of this historically and architecturally important building.We cannot praise the quality of the food high enough, it was all very delicious! Would definitely recommend this hotel, and would come back again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joanne d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bury St Edmunds
2.9 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 10 in Bury St Edmunds
1,268 reviews
3.5 mi away
Best Western Priory Hotel
Best Western Priory Hotel
#7 of 10 in Bury St Edmunds
537 reviews
4.4 mi away
All Saints Hotel
All Saints Hotel
#2 of 10 in Bury St Edmunds
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
5.4 mi away
The Ickworth Hotel
The Ickworth Hotel
#1 of 2 in Horringer
739 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Chantry Hotel
The Chantry Hotel
#4 of 10 in Bury St Edmunds
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel

Address: Mouse Lane | Rougham, Bury St Edmunds IP30 9JA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Bury St Edmunds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Bury St Edmunds
Price Range: £102 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most historic hotels in Bury St Edmunds, steeped in nearly 500 years of history. Set in seven acres of landscaped woodlands and gardens, this country house hotel is easily accessible from the main A14. Whether your visit is for business or pleasure, you will find a winter fireside welcome and a summer poolside welcome. Whatever your needs, you will find a little luxury in the atmosphere of a country home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ravenwood Hall Country Suffolk
Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing