We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasure break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Bury St Edmunds
Certificate of Excellence
Diss, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A pleasure break”
Reviewed 21 November 2012

The raven if Ravenwood Hall, who greets you, would croak his welcome were he not caged and stuffed; but the spledid four hundred year old cedar tree still gently waves a welcome. RAvenwood HAll is a quintessential country hotel set in its own woodland easily and quickly reached from the A14 between Ipswich and Bury St Edmunds, a grand location to explore the delights and treasure of East Anglia.
Welcomed by a champagne cream tea and later followed by a taster and tasty menu, which somewhat curiously and not too digestibly sandwiched a meat course between two fish dishes, we were cossetted by a friendly staff. The log fires glowed in their Tudor grates and the traditional dark timber interiors clashed cheerfully if vainly with the owner's taste in modern art. Our room was in the Mews, comforyable and with beds that eschewed the duvet providing blankets that securely tucked you in.
Try the Ravenwood Hall beakaways, but as a package. Then they are good value and good quality. Recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Galfredum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

623 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    346
    156
    64
    33
    24
See reviews for
87
364
9
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gatwick
1 review
Reviewed 19 November 2012

As an airline captain I have stayed in hundreds of hotels. This place has everything and the staff can't do enough for you. Superb in every respect and wonderful value. Dogs are allowed in the bar area for their owners' mealtimes (but not the restaurant!). Go there and see.

Room Tip: For dog owners, the Mews rooms are at ground level and open directly onto the wonderful grounds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2012

Everything First Class! all staff made us extremely welcome and the food was fantastic. A quiet little hide away if you just want to escape for the weekend. Rooms are to perfection, warm and cosy and perfect for relaxation. The breakfast was incredible with fresh fruit, warm crossiants and a traditional English breakfast. The Perfect end to the perfect weekend!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2012

We stayed using A Travel Zoo offer & I can only say what a find this Hotel is. A bit of a food fest really with a nice walk after a cream tea to set us up for a tasting menu dinner. My wife, not liking fish, was very pleased when there was no problem amending the menu to suit her. A 1st class breakfast was to follow in the morning. Lovely friendly staff made the stay more enjoyable. My only criticism would be a little more attention to detail in the room,which whilst lovely & clean ,comfy bed etc. had a non functioning radiator(which didn't bother us) {I forgot to tell them!} & 1 of the toilet seat "feet" was missing. The shower head also refused to stop dripping,again no problem as the bathroom door was always closed.

We would defiantly recommend this hotel & hope to stay again

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SANDJEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

We went with a family group and dogs to Ravenwood Hall for dinner and a night. The grounds are lovely and match the great character of the building. Interesting and lovely bedrooms.

We had the taster menu which was good, but not as good as similar taster menus we have had elsewhere. Perhaps the standard menu would have been a better choice. Breakfast in the morning was good.

The hotel made our dogs very welcome; one of the receptionists is a keen dog-lover and told us about good off the leash walks for dogs immediately adjacent to the hotel.

We would be very happy to stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorfolkArthur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south-east-uk
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2012

We stayed on a Sunday to Monday special offer of D,B&B and a Monday to Tuesday 'Gourmet Break' which included cream tea, a glass of champagne and a 6 course tasting menu. The hotel allowed us to move the cream tea to the Sunday afternoon, on our arrival at the hotel, and served it in our (upgraded) room leaving the glass of champagne as a pre-dinner drink on Monday evening. The upgraded room (Rookery) was characterful and cozy if a little small and with the dreaded sheets and blankets rather than a cozy duvet. However, we wanted a place to read and wind-down, this was fine. Dinner menus are reasonably priced and we had an allowance of £25 pp in our booking. We chose the rib of beef for two people which was cooked to order which was carved and served at table. Plentiful and very tasty and left us with at least another portion of beef which the hotel kindly kept for us and made it into a sandwich for our journey home.
The tasting menu was not to our taste generally but was plentiful in quantity and they had amended the menu to allow for our allergies to shellfish and dislike of game. Time spent curled up on comfy chairs, trying to keep the log fire alight and reading books was worth every penny of the trip but we were disappointed by the lunchtime sandwich which had to be sent back to have other advertised fillings included. We just needed a snack and thought that a sandwich and one chips would be good to share. Although the hotel made one with salmon, the other with ham (at our request) the end result was two tiny strips each the size of a fish finger and a very small portion of chips at the cost of £8.50. The ham in the sandwich didnt cover one side of the strip of bread - buyer beware. Breakfast is all served at table and has a nice selection with lovely fresh fruit juice but dont expect to be away in a hurry. All things considered, this small hotel is a lovely little break away - leave the world behind and bring your slippers and a good book.

Room Tip: Rookery, within the main house, is very nice and we saw inside Magna Carta which had additonal luxur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank workhousekids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2012

If, like us, you delight in being transported back to a time when all was (it seems) much more tranqiuil, civilised & relaxing then RHCH is for you!! We had heard about it prior to staying and nothing but positive reports were the order. Our stay was no exception under the careful & individual attention of Amanda the two night stay was absolutely delightful. From the original 4 poster bed, the sloping floors, the roring inglenook fiers and by no means least, the suprb food & wine. The only negative note i can make(and I am really struggling here) is there could be brighter lights in the rooms & bar area.

Room Tip: Try the "Oak" Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank itfcglenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bury St Edmunds hotels
2.9 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#2 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
1,162 reviews
3.5 mi away
Best Western Priory Hotel
Best Western Priory Hotel
#7 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
473 reviews
2.7 mi away
Premier Inn Bury St Edmunds Town Centre Hotel
Premier Inn Bury St Edmunds Town...
#1 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
The Ickworth Hotel
The Ickworth Hotel
#1 of 2 in Horringer
654 reviews
4.4 mi away
All Saints Hotel
All Saints Hotel
#6 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
207 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Chantry Hotel
The Chantry Hotel
#3 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel

Property: Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel
Address: Mouse Lane | Rougham, Bury St Edmunds IP30 9JA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Bury St Edmunds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Bury St Edmunds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most historic hotels in Bury St Edmunds, steeped in nearly 500 years of history. Set in seven acres of landscaped woodlands and gardens, this country house hotel is easily accessible from the main A14. Whether your visit is for business or pleasure, you will find a winter fireside welcome and a summer poolside welcome. Whatever your needs, you will find a little luxury in the atmosphere of a country home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ravenwood Hall Country Suffolk
Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing