We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality (at a price)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Bury St Edmunds
Certificate of Excellence
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Quality (at a price)”
Reviewed 26 January 2013

Don't expect a 'cheap' night out at Ravenwood. It is quite pricey but there again excellent quality so that makes up for it.
Do not know much about the Hotel side of this business but the restaurant and bar (meals) are excellent. nicely presented by very friendly and happy staff ts place is ideal for a gourmet night out.
In the past my wife and I would eat here in the Bar\Conservatory almost every Friday night but having not been here for almost 4 years (my wife had a stroke so not able to visit) it was like we had never been away. Everything was of the same high standard and overseen by Craig (the owner) who circulated the tables early on in the evening greeting guests as 'friends'. Pictures of the family are everywhere giving the impression of a family business, which it is, so makes the atmosphere wonderful.
If you are looking for a quality night out, with good food then I cannot recommend this establishment enough.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    346
    151
    64
    35
    25
See reviews for
89
361
9
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Having abandoned The Ramada Hotel as they did not serve lunch our friends suggested this hotel. What a difference! Although by this time it was about 1.30pm we were made most welcome, such a good menu it was hard to choose. The food lived up to expectations too. Gorgeous open fire, comfortable chairs, beautiful grounds, easy acces from the A14. We were not rushed out although we did not leave until after 3pm. If we had chose to take our coffee by the fire we could still be there! Can certainly recommend.

Room Tip: We only had lunch
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HoptonCintra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, UK
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

We stayed her for my sister and brother-in-laws wedding and we were all really impressed. The rooms were lovely and comfortable and the grounds were lovely for photographs. The food at the wedding breakfast and the evening buffet were all delicious. As was breakfast the following morning! A wonderful day had by everyone thank you Ravenwood

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Curly73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
152 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2013

It is a beautiful building in lovely grounds and has a small pool for warmer times. As a party of four we turned up yesterday for lunch. We were warmly welcomed and seated in the charming dining room. The food was excellent, "fish and chips", particularly recommended. They have a good wine list and the St Emilion we sampled was excellent. For the non wine drinker they had a choice of Adnams beers, again very good.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk, England
Level Contributor
81 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2013

We recently booked an overnight stay for six adults including dinner and breakfast to celebrate our father's 80th birthday. The package that we had booked included accommodation in The Mews, a separate building to the main hall. From the moment we arrived our experience could not have been better.
The reception staff were amazing and explained that providing our elderly relatives could cope with stairs then they would like to offer us accommodation in the main house as it was a special occasion, to all intense and purposes an upgrade. We were shown the rooms which are all individual so that we could make an informed decision. It was a very easy decision to make as the rooms were lovely. The accommodation was just what we wanted, beautifully decorated, full of charm and character and exquisitely furnished.
We spent the afternoon by a lovely open log fire in the bar enjoying a few drinks and again must compliment the staff on their attentiveness. We had a table reserved for the evening in the equally charming Garden Room and could not fault the food served or the service received. It was an absolute pleasure to eat at Ravenwood. The menu choice was excellent, the food presentation and taste fantastic and the attentiveness of the staff again superb.
We all slept well, extremely comfortably and having stayed in many hotels you get used to listening for slamming doors, noise from adjacent rooms etc. I am pleased to report that we experienced none of this.
Leading on to breakfast this was again excellent. It was great to see that the lady who looked after us was the same lady who had done so a good number of years ago when we last stayed at Ravenwood. She is a delight and made breakfast extra special.
With the weekend offer that we had, we found our stay exceptional value for money and are looking forward to visiting again.
A BIG thank you must go to all the staff for making our father's 80th birthday very special.

Room Tip: Rooms in The Mews and the main house are all lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
204 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2013 via mobile

We stayed here to celebrate my birthday. The hotel is lovely set in nice grounds. We stayed in one of the deluxe rooms in the main building, the room was superb, very comfortable, my wife had arranged for a chilled bottle of champagne to be waiting for us, which added a nice touch. Staff were friendly. Had dinner,in the hotel, the food was very nice, a lot of fish dishes on the menu, staff were very friendly but service could of been a bit more attentive. Breakfast in the morning was very nice good choice but I missed not having black pudding. Overall a great relaxing stay, we felt pampered and relaxed. We have stayed before for a wedding and I'm sure we will probably return.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tlemon62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diss, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2013

From the moment of our arrival for lunch we were well looked after the food was extremely good and the children were given a goody bag each. The restaurant although large is set in various downstairs rooms and the one we were in was very cosy with only four tables and we had lots of space. The grounds of the hotel are lovely for a walk after a large lunch however we had to forgo this as it poured with rain. This did not dampen our spirits though we had a lovely fat noon and will return soon.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bury St Edmunds
2.9 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,154 reviews
2.7 mi away
Premier Inn Bury St Edmunds Town Centre Hotel
Premier Inn Bury St Edmunds Town...
#1 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
4.5 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
3.5 mi away
Best Western Priory Hotel
Best Western Priory Hotel
#7 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
All Saints Hotel
All Saints Hotel
#6 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
8.9 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
2.8 mi away
The Chantry Hotel
The Chantry Hotel
#2 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
4.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel

Property: Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel
Address: Mouse Lane | Rougham, Bury St Edmunds IP30 9JA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Bury St Edmunds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Bury St Edmunds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most historic hotels in Bury St Edmunds, steeped in nearly 500 years of history. Set in seven acres of landscaped woodlands and gardens, this country house hotel is easily accessible from the main A14. Whether your visit is for business or pleasure, you will find a winter fireside welcome and a summer poolside welcome. Whatever your needs, you will find a little luxury in the atmosphere of a country home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ravenwood Hall Country Suffolk
Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing