We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bury nice!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Bury St Edmunds
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 August 2013

This hotel is just three miles away from Bury St Edmunds and a perfect choice for an over night stay. The grounds are delightful to drive through on the way in and also to walk around in as the grounds are large and contain large wooded areas. The goats, ducks and two little ponies adjacent to the car park were a pleasant surprise. This is a family owned hotel and the photos and many personal touches all add to the ambiance.
The hotel has a lot of character and even the converted stable mews that we stayed in had a lovely old feel to it, with antique furniture and nice furnishings. We enjoyed sitting in the sun outside our room in the late afternoon and also in the morning - perfect! My only criticism of the room was the very hard bed!
We enjoyed pre-dinner drinks in the bar and then ate our dinner in the restaurant. Earlier that day they had served 60 lunches instead of the normal 20 so our choices of oysters, scallops and duck were all unavailable unfortunately. However, the alternative choices that we made were very good. We shared the rib of beef platter and it was enormous - could have served another couple of people with it! My cooked breakfast the next morning was delicious.
The staff were all helpful and friendly.

The only reasons I scored this hotel a very good instead of excellent was the uncomfortable bed and three of our choices for the dinner being unavailable.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gelandpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (657)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

501 - 507 of 657 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2013

Pre-dinner Pimms and a beer by the pool, bright sunshine lovely setting. We usually eat in the bar, its lighter surroundings, better atmosphere and less fussy. Very friendly and helpful staff. Chose our menu selection outside enjoying the very relaxing grounds and pool setting. 3 starters, 4 mains, couple of puds and 2 drinks each, £120 - good value at £30 a head all in. If you choose the fish and chips (as 3 of us did), its like a whale, and not all batter. They serve real ale too !
The food is a consistently very high standard - well done all round.

Room Tip: Book the bar for eating rather than the old fashioned formal restaurant which can be expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adrian l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

From the moment we drove up the drive this place has a fantastic country feel, the receptionist was helpful showed us our room - room was fantastic four poster bed lovely country decor. The weather was sunny so we sat outside we were looked after with the waiter making sure we were ok ( great friendly waiter ) we had appetisers outside and then ate our meal in the restuarant / the meal was superb ( thank you chef as we didn't get to meet you to say thank you for a wonderful meal) we finished with cheese and biscuit and coffee outside. Great choice of cheese. Overall the hotel, meal, staff and sleep was worth every penny £125.00 we would recommend this to friends and most definitely visit again

Room Tip: Phone hotel direct for better deal on price
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saunts11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Stayed Sunday night for the 1st time. Lovely location and very quiet. I didn't have dinner but breakfast was very good.

I stayed in an annex and had to get to my room via a spiral staircase. All adds to the charm.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaulMM1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We recently had a family Sunday lunch to celebrate my wife's birthday. We chose this location as we had spent our wedding night here nearly 17 years ago. The location was as we remembered it with a nice drive and lovely gardens. Upon arrival we were greeted by name and shown to a lovely table by the door overlooking the gardens. The service was first class, even with a small mistake with one of the starters which was replaced with no fuss. The food was great with good size portions. Most of us had the beef which had been cooked to perfection, and the lamb was great. The staff were attentive including the owner who seemed to be rushing around ensuring all his guests were looked after.
I would recommend the caramel and chocolate tart for desert, absolutely delicious.

A perfect place for a relaxing Sunday lunch being spoilt by some great staff

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dean K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

Had a one night visit, stayed at this hotel at least a dozen times in the past fifteen years. Lovely setting and the food is always superb. Staff excellent, a special mention for Maeve. Its nice to sit outside during nice weather and enjoy the peaceful setting.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bill K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013 via mobile

Visited the restaurant for an evening meal with 2 friends looking for a venue for a leaving party for a group of 25 people. We had a really lovely meal choosing from the summer set menu. The staff were very attentive and friendly. The food was well cooked and presented nicely. We decided to book for our party. Hopefully my review will be equally as good after our party on the 5th July.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Anne470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bury St Edmunds hotels
2.9 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 10 in Bury St Edmunds
1,262 reviews
3.5 mi away
Best Western Priory Hotel
Best Western Priory Hotel
#7 of 10 in Bury St Edmunds
533 reviews
4.4 mi away
All Saints Hotel
All Saints Hotel
#2 of 10 in Bury St Edmunds
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
The Ickworth Hotel
The Ickworth Hotel
#1 of 2 in Horringer
722 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Chantry Hotel
The Chantry Hotel
#4 of 10 in Bury St Edmunds
227 reviews
2.7 mi away
Premier Inn Bury St Edmunds Town Centre Hotel
Premier Inn Bury St Edmunds Town...
#1 of 10 in Bury St Edmunds
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel

Address: Mouse Lane | Rougham, Bury St Edmunds IP30 9JA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Bury St Edmunds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Bury St Edmunds
Price Range: £92 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most historic hotels in Bury St Edmunds, steeped in nearly 500 years of history. Set in seven acres of landscaped woodlands and gardens, this country house hotel is easily accessible from the main A14. Whether your visit is for business or pleasure, you will find a winter fireside welcome and a summer poolside welcome. Whatever your needs, you will find a little luxury in the atmosphere of a country home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ravenwood Hall Country Suffolk
Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing