We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding reception and accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Bury St Edmunds
Certificate of Excellence
Wollaston, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wedding reception and accommodation”
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Cannot complain about the wedding reception...very pleased . but many of the wedding party stayed the night in the Mews Buildings and at least four couples did not have hot water for showers in the morning......not acceptable for £125.00 per night! the Manager has since said the boiler had broken down but the staff said it had happened before!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter B B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

623 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    346
    156
    64
    33
    24
See reviews for
87
364
9
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

My husband booked us in for a night here to celebrate my birthday. He had booked room no. 5 in the mews, which had looked very nice and light in the picture on the web site. When we arrived we found the room had been given to someone else. There were 2 other mews rooms available but they looked rather small and dark. Fortunately , we were offered a much nicer room in the main house for the same price. In the evening we had drinks in the lounge and dinner in the dining room. The food was excellent, beautifully presented and very tasty. I was particularly impressed with the home made goats cheese. The wine list was also good value.
We had a good nights sleep, but also found a lack of hot water in the shower the next morning ( I'm afraid we forgot to tell the staff) . Breakfast was good and served promptly. We enjoyed our stay very much and found the staff very friendly and helpful.
My only criticism is that the decor is rather cluttered and old fashioned, but that, I appreciate , is a matter of taste.

Room Tip: The rooms in the main house are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauline A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 August 2013

I have been staying here for quite a while due to work commitments.

Due to my company paying for the bill, its a lottery whether I get put in a main house room, or a mews room.

Being on a business trip, wifi is of high importance to me and unfortunately there has been times where there has been no connectivity.

Also, not all rooms receive the same level of connectivity, for example being placed in a Mews room usually means that you would have to come in to the lounge to do work, rather than in your hotel room.

Food wise, the menu does not change very often and also its pricing does not match to its quality.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank craig w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We stayed in this hotel to attend a wedding reception held there.

The room was small for the price although reasonably comfortable.
Unfortunately we and several other guests did not have hot water in the morning and had to put up with a cold shower.

Breakfast was also very slow - we waited a good 15 minutes before our order was taken.

No apologies were offered for the lack of hot water - rather a curt 'we know' and no offer of a reduction in the price of the room (£124) in compensation.

It's a lovely building in great grounds but needs to look at the basics - hot water at this price surely? And if not, a strategy to placate their guests a little?

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ella N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 August 2013

My husband booked Dinner, Bed & Breakfast for our anniversary.
The grounds and hotel are really lovely. Croquet on the lawn in the sunshine was really nice.
We had a problem with 2 glasses of larger having tiny bits floating in it. We brought this to the attention of the waiter but no apologies and made to feel it was our fault.
The food was absolutely divine. Chef really cooked up some wonderful food.
Breakfast was equally good. Had to wait about 15 mins before being offered tea but other then that it was great.
We liked the fact it had a pool but was a little disappointed that the pool was very dirty. It is under trees so there were lots of leaves in it not that great a deal but put us off also lots of children in it which again made us not want to go in. I thought an early morning swim before breakfast would be good but pool still hadn't been cleaned. It was thoroughly cleaned later on but we had to leave which was a shame.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jollyjo20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2013

I booked a special birthday treat for my partner and our room said views of the lawn but all we could see were the back of the building and a cooling unit.The room was rather shabby with a cracked hand basin and insufficient toilet roll for the duration of our 1 night stay.We were booked to have an afternoon cream tea which had to substituted because they had burnt the scones.
The evening menu was very limited on our 'special package' and I think was not adequately explained as to what our options were.The yorkshire puddings were over done and hard and rubbery.
The room in the night was very hot and we had to open the window fully to keep as cool as was able which meant the traffic noise from the very nearby A14 made it difficult to sleep.We eventually realised that the radiator in the room was red hot!We turned it off but it took ages for the heat to die down.
The traffic noise was quite invasive and had I realised this I would never had picked it.
The breakfast was nice but was understaffed which meant we had eaten our breakfast before the toast had arrived
We have stayed in other hotels in this price range and the facilities have been of a much higher standard.I was particularly disappointed because it looked so good on the website and I so wanted it to be nice for the birthday surprise.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank petal2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

we arrived in time for afternoon tea, which was part of the deal we paid for on Travelzoo. We were not very impressed with the tea, as the scones were large, heavy and hard. But, to make up for this, breakfast and evening meal were excellent. We only stayed for one night, again this was part of the deal, thank goodness, as the room we had (no 4 the mews) was small and a little dark and dingy. The bathroom was a good size with an excellent shower. I did ask to upgrade when I phoned to book but none was available. If your coming here try for upgrade these might be a little better. Staff very helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: If possible try for an upgraded room the one we had was small and a little dark
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patsy87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bury St Edmunds hotels
2.9 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#2 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
1,161 reviews
3.5 mi away
Best Western Priory Hotel
Best Western Priory Hotel
#7 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
471 reviews
2.7 mi away
Premier Inn Bury St Edmunds Town Centre Hotel
Premier Inn Bury St Edmunds Town...
#1 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
The Ickworth Hotel
The Ickworth Hotel
#1 of 2 in Horringer
654 reviews
4.4 mi away
All Saints Hotel
All Saints Hotel
#6 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
207 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Chantry Hotel
The Chantry Hotel
#3 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel

Property: Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel
Address: Mouse Lane | Rougham, Bury St Edmunds IP30 9JA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Bury St Edmunds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Bury St Edmunds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most historic hotels in Bury St Edmunds, steeped in nearly 500 years of history. Set in seven acres of landscaped woodlands and gardens, this country house hotel is easily accessible from the main A14. Whether your visit is for business or pleasure, you will find a winter fireside welcome and a summer poolside welcome. Whatever your needs, you will find a little luxury in the atmosphere of a country home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, LateRooms, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ravenwood Hall Country Suffolk
Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing