We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warm welcome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Bury St Edmunds
Certificate of Excellence
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
175 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Warm welcome”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

We visited Ravenwood Hall with a travelzoo offer of a 6 course tasting menu. On ur arrival we were shown to our room which had an ancient wooden four poster bed which was very comfortable. The slopping floors added to the character and showed the age of the building. We had afternoon tea which was included in the offer and was surprised to have two scones each which obviously we had to eat. That evening we had the tasting menu which was very nice overall but far too much food. I could have stopped after the fish risotto but forged ahead with the lamb and dessert course. The dining room was very welcoming and had a good feel about it. The service was just right. I had a good nights sleep but was woken up with the sound of the reception staff talking so although the room was nice with great views perhaps an alternative room would be quieter. Breakfast was served in a smaller dining room and had a great choice from kedgeree to local ham by the happiest older lady who just made the experience more enjoyable.
Decor and cleanliness was good. I would like to go back in the summer and sit outside and maybe use the pool. I smiled at the name plates put on the bedroom doors "Mr and Mrs ....." a bit of an assumption about the booking as neither I nor the other couple had rings on. But in saying that it did make it feel more personal despite not being correct. I wonder how many Smiths are displayed ? : )
I forgot to complete the review form in the hotel but in saying that I don't have anything negative to say in this forum. Maybe think about having a map of the grounds for those who fancy a stroll ? Overall, a beautiful building, it would be a lovely wedding venue, the tartan carpets cried out for a Burns night in January ( I wonder if there is an opportunity for a temporary dance floor in the smaller dining room. ) I can imagine it with the fires lit and snow on the ground. a very personal touch with all the family photos displayed, clearly the owner is very proud of his family. For those of you with travelzoo vouchers, you will enjoy this one.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ninapup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    344
    149
    64
    35
    24
See reviews for
85
361
9
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

This ranks as one of my favourite places to stay
never dissapointed in the service or any aspect of the facilities
clearly the owner and management team are fully aligned to the customers needs and wants
book for just a great experience

Room Tip: the rooms in the main house a far better than the annexe
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndyBux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

I took my wife to lunch at Ravenwood Country Hotel on 22 October , and very much regretted it.
From the start . problems occurred . A harried waitress advised that several choices were "off " that day. I ordered fresh OYSTERS but when they arrived they looked as if they had been delivered and opened the day before and instead of being shiny and firm were a dull grey colour and limp (I am sure it was these oysters which kept me awake later that evening.
My main course was hake garnished with some other bits of fish and green vegetables and potatoes, but the piece of hake was just the size of four postage stamps , but the potatoes wee plenteous. My wife had ordered cornish scallops which were seriously undernourished and huddled in a lonely little pile in the middle of her plate
An acceptable white wine was served decently chilled but water glasses were left untouched despite an earlier request for the empty glasses to be filled.
When i asked for the bill, an unkempt lady , flounced in ,and gave it to my wife.
When I pointed this strange action out to the wine waiter (the only assistant around) he just said that she "must be having boyfriend trouble. No apologies.

Neither was there any invItation to "have a good journey" or return, which of course I will never do so.

It was possible that other members of the staff were attending participants of a conference or gathering in an adjoining building, but this was no excuse to allow other guests to suffer appalling service and indifferent food.

As we walked to the car park , we passed an animal enclosure where some thin, tiny goats were trying to find food in an area almost completely devoid of grass or any other vegetation which could have provided sustenance to the the starved looking goats
After my lunch at Ravenswood Hall, I felt that I knew how they suffered .

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JOHN A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
249 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

This was a second visit to the hotel and it was as expected - or we would not have returned! We were given a room in the main building which was large with a nice bathroom. Love the quirky old pieces of furniture and decor which is nice for a short stay. Can be a bit chilly when the heating is not on though - but not a problem. The food - tea, dinner and breakfast - were all very good. All the staff were very attentive and friendly. The grounds are nice - weather permitting. A nice country house stay and close to Bury St Edmunds for shopping.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank takemoretrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
82 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

Our second visit which was even better than the first.We had an upgrade to the main house,a lovely cream tea,excellent dinner,& breakfast.My wife is not a fish eater & it was no trouble for the restaurant to amend the tasing menu for her.Very attentive & friendly staff in a relaxing environment.Couldn't ask for any more really! If you want an elegant place to stay without it being fussy,stay at Ravenwood Hall.Bury st Edmunds is a nice place to explore. A bit more time next time!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SANDJEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

Others reviews for this establishment are varied with some full of praise, others quite the reverse. I would not expect ultra modern minimalist decor in an ancient building but I feel the hotel would benefit from a complete re-decoration/makeover. Red tartan carpeting and pink walls do not offer a relaxing ambience and the Ladies Loo resembled a teenager's bedroom with big red lips on the walls and plastic flowers, hardly the most appropriate choice at a place with handsome inglenook and oak panelling. The food was acceptable in a dining room with few other patrons. The following day we ate in a restaurant 25 miles away and were fortunate to take the only remaining table. The area around the pool (now closed for winter presumably) needed sorting out with chairs strewn around giving an untidy appearance. Always ready to sample a new venue but I doubt, with numerous eateries from which to choose nowadays, this place would be on the list for a speedy return.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doreen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramsden Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
198 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

We took advantage of a promotion and stayed overnight, with afternoon tea, dinner and breakfast.

When we arrived, we were told that we had been upgraded to a room within the main house. It's always a nice way to be introduced to a hotel!

The staff here and really pleasant and friendly. From the reception staff to the lady who served us our tea to the restaurant staff, all were very engaging and friendly without being too intrusive.

The tasting menu wasn't to our liking, but they did everything they could to accommodate our tastes and that was very much appreciated.

We would recommend this hotel to anyone, we really enjoyed our visit

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TerryOB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bury St Edmunds
2.9 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#4 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,132 reviews
2.7 mi away
Premier Inn Bury St Edmunds Town Centre Hotel
Premier Inn Bury St Edmunds Town...
#1 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
4.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
3.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Priory Hotel
BEST WESTERN Priory Hotel
#7 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
All Saints Hotel
All Saints Hotel
#6 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
8.9 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
2.8 mi away
The Chantry Hotel
The Chantry Hotel
#3 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel

Property: Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel
Address: Mouse Lane | Rougham, Bury St Edmunds IP30 9JA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Bury St Edmunds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Bury St Edmunds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most historic hotels in Bury St Edmunds, steeped in nearly 500 years of history. Set in seven acres of landscaped woodlands and gardens, this country house hotel is easily accessible from the main A14. Whether your visit is for business or pleasure, you will find a winter fireside welcome and a summer poolside welcome. Whatever your needs, you will find a little luxury in the atmosphere of a country home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ravenwood Hall Country Suffolk
Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing