We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fabulous overnight stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Bury St Edmunds
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 November 2013

This was a gift from our daughter for my birthday and it couldn't have been better. The staff were warm and friendly, as was the welcome. The log fire made the sitting room cosy and the whole atmosphere made us feel so at home. The 6 course tasting dinner was delicious and the breakfast set us up for the following day.

Room Tip: We had Dean's Room which overlooked the front drive and grounds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (640)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

450 - 456 of 640 reviews

Reviewed 11 November 2013

We went for a one night special deal through travel zoo. A nights stay, cream tea, six course taster dinner plus breakfast, all for £159
It was well worth it, the hotel is set in large grounds. Being winter of course the outdoor pool and other facilities were closed but obviously there would be more to do in summer.
The staff were friendly, the service impeccable and the food wonderful
We had one of the best rooms with a four poster bed, the only criticism being that being used to a six foot bed at home it was a bit cosy!
If the deal was available again we would definitely go again

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Travellater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We got married here a year ago and decided that Ravenwood would be the only place we would want to return to for our anniversary. We stayed in Mews 2, where we stayed on our wedding night, and it was as lovely as I remembered! It was a glorious day and we were able to sit on the patio with our afternoon tea, before a stroll around the grounds. Dinner was fantastic. We were treated really well by all the staff, some who remembered us from the year before! My husband thinks we will make this an annual trip for our anniversary as it never disappoints. From its friendly and attentive staff, to its beautiful surroundings and comfortable rooms, Ravenwood Hall is defiantly a hotel I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Milkybarkid78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

This hotel and restaurant ticked all our boxes! We were on a Travelzoo deal but weren't treated as 2nd class citizens as we have been in some places. We were given the best room complete with 4 poster bed. The afternoon tea was delicious with the most wonderful freshly made fruit scones. The taster menu we were given was one of the best we have sampled and the service matched the food. The breakfast was good with a wonderful Froize of bacon and onions which we had never tasted before. Altogether this was a wonderful experience and we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adobeKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

What a delightful hotel. Nestled in the Suffolk countryside. We took advantage of the Sunday night mews promotion and we were very pleasantly surprised at the value offered.
Location is wonderful. The staff were very attentive without being oppressive. The food was of the highest quality and a special mention must go to the breakfast.
My first visit but certainly not the last.

Room Tip: We had the mews room. There are other more expensive rooms but the mews was more than adequate for o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We have stayed here before and enjoyed the setting. Our latest visit was superb with good accommodation in the mews, great food/wine and excellent service. The Suffolk breakfast was a treat as well. Highly recommended.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We visited Ravenwood Hall with a travelzoo offer of a 6 course tasting menu. On ur arrival we were shown to our room which had an ancient wooden four poster bed which was very comfortable. The slopping floors added to the character and showed the age of the building. We had afternoon tea which was included in the offer and was surprised to have two scones each which obviously we had to eat. That evening we had the tasting menu which was very nice overall but far too much food. I could have stopped after the fish risotto but forged ahead with the lamb and dessert course. The dining room was very welcoming and had a good feel about it. The service was just right. I had a good nights sleep but was woken up with the sound of the reception staff talking so although the room was nice with great views perhaps an alternative room would be quieter. Breakfast was served in a smaller dining room and had a great choice from kedgeree to local ham by the happiest older lady who just made the experience more enjoyable.
Decor and cleanliness was good. I would like to go back in the summer and sit outside and maybe use the pool. I smiled at the name plates put on the bedroom doors "Mr and Mrs ....." a bit of an assumption about the booking as neither I nor the other couple had rings on. But in saying that it did make it feel more personal despite not being correct. I wonder how many Smiths are displayed ? : )
I forgot to complete the review form in the hotel but in saying that I don't have anything negative to say in this forum. Maybe think about having a map of the grounds for those who fancy a stroll ? Overall, a beautiful building, it would be a lovely wedding venue, the tartan carpets cried out for a Burns night in January ( I wonder if there is an opportunity for a temporary dance floor in the smaller dining room. ) I can imagine it with the fires lit and snow on the ground. a very personal touch with all the family photos displayed, clearly the owner is very proud of his family. For those of you with travelzoo vouchers, you will enjoy this one.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ninapup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bury St Edmunds
2.9 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#2 of 10 in Bury St Edmunds
1,233 reviews
4.4 mi away
All Saints Hotel
All Saints Hotel
#6 of 10 in Bury St Edmunds
244 reviews
3.5 mi away
Best Western Priory Hotel
Best Western Priory Hotel
#7 of 10 in Bury St Edmunds
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Chantry Hotel
The Chantry Hotel
#3 of 10 in Bury St Edmunds
223 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Ickworth Hotel
The Ickworth Hotel
#1 of 2 in Horringer
702 reviews
15.6 mi away
Bedford Lodge Hotel & Spa
Bedford Lodge Hotel & Spa
#1 of 8 in Newmarket
943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel

Address: Mouse Lane | Rougham, Bury St Edmunds IP30 9JA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Bury St Edmunds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Bury St Edmunds
Price Range: £122 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most historic hotels in Bury St Edmunds, steeped in nearly 500 years of history. Set in seven acres of landscaped woodlands and gardens, this country house hotel is easily accessible from the main A14. Whether your visit is for business or pleasure, you will find a winter fireside welcome and a summer poolside welcome. Whatever your needs, you will find a little luxury in the atmosphere of a country home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ravenwood Hall Country Suffolk
Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing