We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Bury St Edmunds
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Enjoyable”
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

Spent 2 great nights here had a really amazing time, can not fault the stay at all. We stayed in the abbey room a true old room, with floor sloping,ha ha. The staff were always very helpful, as for the food that was excellent would recommend to stay here and have a fantastic and relaxing stay.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

627 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    348
    156
    64
    35
    24
See reviews for
88
366
9
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

After the most amazing day of our lives we chose to stay in a different hotel to our wedding party before we jetted of on our honeymoon. This is the best hotel in our local area and it it was a real treat of luxury to stay here. Happy memories

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We came for a sunday 2 weeks ago and loved it. This was our 2nd time staying at Ravenwood and would happily come back again.

It all runs smoothly here. The staff are excellent. They are helpful, efficient and know how to do their job. The rooms are very well decorated for the period of property and have a lovely feel to them. They are very homely and inviting. We could stay here for weeks!

The food is of a high level, with the desserts being my favourite bit. Trio of chocolate and almond tart were the 2 i ordered this time. My girlfriend ordered 3 for herself and she loved them all! Greedy I know.

Oh, and there is a outdoor heated pool. Great any time of day.

All in all Ravenwood Hall is somewhere we love. We will return and recommend it to everybody we know.

Room Tip: the Deans room is large and has a view across the front lawn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tom m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Took my other half here for a night away from the kids. Lovely property in equally lovely grounds. We had one of the mews rooms which although small was adequate for our needs and well furnished. Breakfast the following morning was fantastic with essentially 3 courses and big selection of dishes.
Taxi into Bury was under £10 one way

Slight bad points (but not enough to ruin our stay).
When booking, I asked if there was any wedding parties due in during our stay and was advised that there was a day party but no evening event. This turned out to be false as when we arrived back at our room (in the mews) we were treated to 3 hours of what sounded like Vic Reeves doing his pub singer impression. My advise is if you have trouble sleeping through noise, make sure you have one of the more expensive hotel rooms and not the mews rooms which back onto the wedding reception area.
Bar prices are a bit steep, on a par with London.

All in all a lovely nights stay at a lovely historic house.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kutslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Stayed here again for our Silver Wedding anniversary ! Seventeen years since our first stay ! Very good once again but a few niggly things i e only one set of towels asked for a second set and didn't get them ,ordered a morning paper didn't get it ! Very nice staff in particular Katie who went out of her way to help and the bar staff were spot on ! Unfortunately missed Mauve on this visit ! Still a unique experience due to its wonderful location !

Room Tip: Quite a lot of door slamming !
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester England
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

I was one of a party of about 30 who celebrated the 80th birthday of a family member in the restaurant of the Ravenwood Hotel. The hotel is set in beautiful grounds with ample outside seating, pre-lunch drinks were served in a very friendly and relaxed atmosphere, the meal (which had obviously been pre-arranged) was served in one of the main restaurants. The four course meal was excellent, the service was very efficient and the general atmosphere was very relaxed and unhurried. We enjoyed further tea and coffee in the large poolside area, again served by very friendly and efficient members of staff. Some family members had dined at the Ravenwood on previous occasions; this was my first visit and found it a very pleasant experience.

Room Tip: Unable to offer either opinion or advice as I only dined in the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2800trucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We celebrated our silver wedding anniversary on 21 June with family and friends at Ravenwood to remind us of our wonderful wedding reception also held there 25 years ago overseen by the owner Craig Jarvis. As on that magical evening, Craig was still very much in evidence to ensure that our anniversary celebrations were absolutely perfect. The lovely Becky organised everything from the champagne and canapé reception in the beautiful grounds to the truly delicious dinner enjoyed in the stunning restaurant. The service and professionalism of the friendly staff could not be faulted. All our guests commented on how much they enjoyed both the food and the atmosphere, The evening celebrations were followed by a smaller family birthday celebration lunch the next day in the summerhouse. The weather was fantastic so the children in our party were able to enjoy splashing in the open air pool. Lunch was superb. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. We will treasure the memories of that fantastic weekend and I am sure that many of our friends and family will return to Ravenwood at the earliest opportunity. We have already booked to return for a romantic dinner for two!

Room Tip: The Mews rooms although compact are excellent value for money. The larger rooms in the main house al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lyn_lawrence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bury St Edmunds
2.9 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
1,182 reviews
3.5 mi away
Best Western Priory Hotel
Best Western Priory Hotel
#7 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
486 reviews
4.4 mi away
All Saints Hotel
All Saints Hotel
#6 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
The Ickworth Hotel
The Ickworth Hotel
#1 of 2 in Horringer
667 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Chantry Hotel
The Chantry Hotel
#2 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
210 reviews
8.9 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel

Property: Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel
Address: Mouse Lane | Rougham, Bury St Edmunds IP30 9JA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Bury St Edmunds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Bury St Edmunds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most historic hotels in Bury St Edmunds, steeped in nearly 500 years of history. Set in seven acres of landscaped woodlands and gardens, this country house hotel is easily accessible from the main A14. Whether your visit is for business or pleasure, you will find a winter fireside welcome and a summer poolside welcome. Whatever your needs, you will find a little luxury in the atmosphere of a country home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and LateRooms so you can book your Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ravenwood Hall Country Suffolk
Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing