We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You won't find a better B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Drinkstone Park Bed and Breakfast & Gardens
Certificate of Excellence
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“You won't find a better B&B”
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Christine and Michael as always the perfect hosts, we feel so at home when we stay at Drinkstone, they are more like friends than just visiting a B&B. You won't be disappointed. Looking forward to staying again in the summer when we can enjoy their beautiful gardens.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WeHaveEars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael L, Owner at Drinkstone Park Bed and Breakfast & Gardens, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Hello WeHaveEars - I am pleased to hear that you feel like friends visiting as that is exactly how we feel when we know you are going to be here again, you are such nice and considerate guests to have.

At the moment we are not able to do much with the garden due to the terrible weather although I am sure we will catch up and put right the damage caused by the ferocious wind we had last night, you can see what happened to the tractor shed on our facebook page (drinkstonepark) if you care to.

look forward to seeing you in the summer with gardens in full bloom and perhaps tea in the Hobbit House by the wildflower garden for you?

Take care and thank you for your kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    604
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
73
324
46
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Hosts very genuine and accomodating. The room I stayed in was large, very comfortable with flat screen television and lots of nice little extras. Was on business, but intend to go back for a short break later this year. Hopefully the weather will then be nice enough to view what seems like a spectacular garden.
The property is in a rural location but only five minutes from the A14. Good advice given on local pubs and restaurants. Easy access and parking.
The breakfast was very good quality, nicely presented and prepared.
Probably the nicest B&B I've stayed in.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael L, Owner at Drinkstone Park Bed and Breakfast & Gardens, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
First may I thank you for your kind review it is much appreciated.

We are pleased of course that yoyu enjoyed your stay and absolutely delighted that you intend to come back and stay on a short break, please remember to phone or email us direct so that we can apply the appropriate 'returning guest' discount to your stay.

Apart from that we appreciate your drawing attention to the rural location with easy access, we feel we are privileged to live here and when the gardens are appreciated and enjoyed by our guests then for us this is the icing on the cake.

We do look forward to seeing you again later in the year.

Best wishes

Michael and Christine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vevey, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We felt so at home as soon as we stepped in the door. Michael and Christine were excellent hosts, making us feel like welcomed, special guests but also gave us space and privacy. They were always on hand whenever we needed help such as directions, dinner suggestions or booking tables. We were offered tea on arrival and as Christine was just taking scones out the oven, it turned into a wonderful cream tea. It was served in our own, cosy lounge, which had a roaring log fire, games, books, dvds. I had an upstairs room (which did get a little chilly in the evening - the weather was miserable) which was very comfortable with tea/coffee making facilities complete with Portmeirion china. I felt like no expense had been spared - everything was good quality and worked well. The en suite had a big bath, fantastic water pressure for the shower, and a range of toiletries. Breakfast was delicious - bacon crispily cooked just as I asked - and plentiful. Michael's homemade honey was the best I've tasted. Even though it was raining, I loved the fact that there were big windows and patio doors all around to look out at the lovely gardens and countryside. Wish I could have stayed longer, even in the rain - the thought of snuggling up on the sofa with a good book in front of the fire and one of Christine's fresh scones would keep me happy for days.

Room Tip: THe downstairs room had a large bed and patio access. My room upstairs was also lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jhguyuyf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael L, Owner at Drinkstone Park Bed and Breakfast & Gardens, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
At home is the way we like you to feel and it would seem you did, so success for us and for you. Yes you did have a particularly wet and cold stay although as you say being snuggled up inside and looking out is very pleasant on occasion. Thank you for taking the time to review us it is very much appreciated. We hope to see you here at Drinkstone again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

This B&B was so good. The warm welcome made us feel immediately relaxed and at home in a way I have never experienced before. We had lovely rooms with so many great little touches. A lovely big bed and patio doors onto a fabulous garden and I didn't hear another sound all night. A lovely cosy lounge where we could relax. Michael and Christine were always on had to help without being intrusive. I would say this is perfect.

Room Tip: Downstairs rooms have patio doors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandyidris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael L, Owner at Drinkstone Park Bed and Breakfast & Gardens, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
6 stars! What can I say, we have declined 5 stars so we do at least know we could have that grading if we wished, our point is we enjoy what we do, we enjoy our guests visiting and enjoying the gardens particularly, so 5 stars seemed to overdo it for us. However to have a guest like you say we deserve 6 stars is indeed music to our ears, to know that our guests have enjoyed their stay enough to post a review like yours is enough. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 November 2013

My husband got brownie points for finding this B&B for me to stay at whist away with work. A lovely location with beautiful well thought out rooms and superb hosts. Michael and Christine were friendly and welcoming. Christine's cooking was excellent. Would have happily stayed longer. Would definitely go back. Great value for money.

Room Tip: I stayed in the upstairs 'blue room' and it was a good size with an excellent bath & sho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael L, Owner at Drinkstone Park Bed and Breakfast & Gardens, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
So glad your husband got brownie points! We enjoyed your company and would love for you to come back and see us again, many thanks for your excellent review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Drinkstone Park lived up to all our expectations. The very warm welcome from Michael & Christine included a tray of coffee when we arrived late evening, they are the perfect hosts. Everywhere was spotlessly clean and the blue bedroom was very nicely furnished. Attention to detail was evident throughout.
Christine offered an extensive breakfast menu. Our particular favourite was Scrambled Eggs with Seedy Mustard Creamed Mushrooms and Tomatoes.
Do not miss the opportunity to walk round the extensive landscaped gardens. We look forward to seeing them again in another season.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael L, Owner at Drinkstone Park Bed and Breakfast & Gardens, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Hi and many thanks for your kind review, we look forward to you visiting again perhaps when the gardens are in full flow. Do remember we now have a special discount available for returning guests staying for three nights or more, this also applies to people booking direct with us by phone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

would be unfair and inaccurate to criticise the experience ... i can only echo what others have already written before me . Great value for money and would not hesitate to return .
You really cannot go wrong with a stay here !!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Corbyfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael L, Owner at Drinkstone Park Bed and Breakfast & Gardens, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
For some reason people do seem to say some rather nice things about us! Thank you for as you say echoing that, it is really good to read your comments. We hope that you do not hesitate but do indeed return and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bury St Edmunds
6.1 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
1,183 reviews
6.8 mi away
Best Western Priory Hotel
Best Western Priory Hotel
#7 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
486 reviews
8.0 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel
Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel
#5 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
628 reviews
2.3 mi away
Oak Farm Barn
Oak Farm Barn
#4 of 53 in Bury St Edmunds
136 reviews
8.6 mi away
Bays Farm Country B&B and Kitchen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drinkstone Park Bed and Breakfast & Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drinkstone Park Bed and Breakfast & Gardens

Property: Drinkstone Park Bed and Breakfast & Gardens
Address: The Ambers | Drinkstone Park, Bury St Edmunds IP30 9ST, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Bury St Edmunds
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Bury St Edmunds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Drinkstone Park Bed and Breakfast & Gardens 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award Winning Bed and Breakfast on the edge of the village of Drinkstone close to Bury St Edmunds. Quiet, comfortable and welcoming with an excellent breakfast & more.We are situated in three acres of beautiful gardens that once formed part of the Drinkstone Park estate. Quiet and secluded yet only a short drive to the A14 and easy access to the major road networks. A ten minute drive to Bury St Edmunds. We look forward to welcoming you to our home. Michael & Christine ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Drinkstone Park Bed and Breakfast & Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drinkstone Park Bed And Breakfast & Gardens Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing