We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feels like home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Drinkstone Park Bed and Breakfast & Gardens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 June 2014

This was our third visit to Drinkstone & once again didn't disappoint, just feel more like going home each time, Christine & Michael make us feel so welcome, we love everything in this little corner of Suffolk, our room( blue this time),the cat's & dog's , the gardens are magnificent & are now being prepared for open weekend with the RGS , definitely has the WOW factor .

Highly recommend The Six Bells at Felsham for a good hearty meal which was recommended by our hosts, go hungry & have chips simply delish !

Thank you again M & C for a lovely weekend

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael L, Owner at Drinkstone Park Bed and Breakfast & Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

For us it feels like friends coming to visit again so pleased that you feel it is like home to you. We can only thank you for your kind review and look forward to your next visit.

Best wishes

Michael and Christine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (647)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

398 - 404 of 647 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2014

I've stayed with Christine and Michael on several occasions over the last year or so, when I'm working in the area. It is a pleasure to stay with them in their lovely home. All rooms are very comfortable and thoughtfully equipped, exploring the garden over the changing seasons is a delight, the choice at breakfast is exceptional and the addition of home grown/home made produce makes it even more special. Christine and Michael are splendid hosts, welcoming, entertaining and generous. As I continue to work in the area from time to time, having somewhere so lovely to stay is a real bonus - I'm very glad I found them.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mrbandmrsb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael L, Owner at Drinkstone Park Bed and Breakfast & Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

We are very glad you found us! It is always nice for us to see people coming back to us we look forward to your next visit.
Thank you for taking the time to review us.

Best

Michael and Christine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

There have been so many excellent reviews of this marvellous B&B that I am concerned that my review will not be able to do the owners full justice.

Michael and Christine receive such wonderful reviews because they do everything right and then some!

Their welcome is warm and friendly and obviously emanates from a genuine love of people.

We enjoyed our brief stay enormously and the Peach room is ideal with French doors leading onto a small patio area where the sun shone every morning and where we had tea and delicious homemade scones on arrival.

The room is spotlessly clean and comfortable and has hot drinks making facilities with the largest choice we have seen anywhere including filter coffee and fresh milk whenever required.

Breakfast is excellent with a good choice of hot and cold dishes and served in the large open plan kitchen/diner overlooking the superb garden.

Worthy of special mention is the selection of homemade marmalade and jams provided as well as honey from Michael's recently departed bees and new laid eggs from their hens.

We particularly enjoyed Michael's gentle dry sense of humour which kept us and the other guests amused.

It is often said that behind every great man there is a great woman and Christine certainly fulfils this role, going the extra mile to ensure we wanted for nothing.

We look forward to visiting again.

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael L, Owner at Drinkstone Park Bed and Breakfast & Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Please don't be concerned it is an excellent review, and we do appreciate the reviews we receive very much.
Lovely to meet you and I am pleased to note that you intend to return for a further visit, we look forward to that.

Best wishes

Michael and Christine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

The overall experience was certainly excellent.

The welcome was warm, the gardens good and the food, local & lovely. My room was clean and the view looked clear over open-fields. Michael and Christine are wonderful and the history that pre-dates the current B&B should interest any fan of English history.

Breakfast & Gardens: the breakfast is superb and the garden is star of the show.

- Samuel Acher

Room Tip: For the solo traveller, I recommend the Peach room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SapindalesSamuel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael L, Owner at Drinkstone Park Bed and Breakfast & Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Funny that you mention the history, at the recent open gardens we became very aware that there was as much interest in the history of the site as in the gardens themselves. Due to this Christine is putting together a collection of photographs and articles to display at the next open day on 20th July. I may attempt to put this on the Drinkstone Park website although much is already there, but that won't be until the winter of course.
Many thanks for your kind review and don't forget you are welcome to come to the gardens at any time, no need for you to be staying here.

Best

Michael and Christine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

What a delightful stay we had at Drinkstone Park because of Michael and Christine. The house is immaculate and the breakfast delicious. Michael is hilarious and kept us laughing the whole time. Absolutely beautiful gardens with goldfish pond. We hope to stay there again. Pat from South Carolina, USA.

Room Tip: Our room was the beautiful blue room upstairs - perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank dmckay3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael L, Owner at Drinkstone Park Bed and Breakfast & Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Well hello ya 'all ! I have to say we had a delightful time with your company at Drinkstone. You are really extremely lovely folks to have around. I hope you have remembered the bit of Suffolk talk as I have remembered and practiced my 'ya all's.
We really do look forward to your return and thank ya all for your kind review!

Best wishes

Michael and Christine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Genuine welcome with cream tea.
Set in Idyllic location.
Breakfast was delicious, with plenty of choice.
Clean, comfortable well finished rooms.
We have stayed here several times and never been disappointed.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank BobnPamBall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael L, Owner at Drinkstone Park Bed and Breakfast & Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review us, we sincerely hope that you will continue to stay with us and enjoy your visits as we enjoy your company.
We look forward to seeing you again.

Best

Michael and Christine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Ann & Tony

From our initial warm welcome on arrival together with the home made scones and jam, our three night stay with Christine and Michael was exceptional. Accommodation, food, hospitality and quiet location are of the highest order. Breakfast was top class with much of the produce being home grown and reared. Michael is rightly proud of his home grown asparagus which was exceptional.
We really enjoyed the breakfast time banter. You are made most welcome to stroll around the beautiful and extensive gardens. Michael seemed a little reluctant to offer a car wash service, but he did at least provide the bucket!!! We look forward to our next visit, that's if Michael and Christine would have us back. Top Class.

Room Tip: The Peach Room with it's private terrace was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael L, Owner at Drinkstone Park Bed and Breakfast & Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

A pleasure to have you here with us for your Three Day Break, these breaks give a taste of Suffolk and are the most cost effective way of staying at Drinkstone especially if booked direct by telephone. Of course three days is only the minimum you can stay longer!
We are pleased that you enjoyed the gardens, we have now had our first open gardens for the NGS which although a bit of a wash out weather wise did go very well.
Will we have you back? Yes of course with the greatest pleasure. Will I clean your car? No but your welcome to use the bucket.
We look forward to seeing you again.
Best
Michael and Christine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bury St Edmunds hotels
6.1 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#2 of 10 in Bury St Edmunds
1,244 reviews
6.8 mi away
Best Western Priory Hotel
Best Western Priory Hotel
#7 of 10 in Bury St Edmunds
516 reviews
5.4 mi away
Dragonfly Hotel Bury St Edmunds
Dragonfly Hotel Bury St Edmunds
#10 of 10 in Bury St Edmunds
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel
Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel
#5 of 10 in Bury St Edmunds
644 reviews
6 mi away
The Fox Inn
The Fox Inn
#3 of 53 in Bury St Edmunds
392 reviews
5.8 mi away
Ixworth House
Ixworth House
#1 of 3 in Ixworth
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drinkstone Park Bed and Breakfast & Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drinkstone Park Bed and Breakfast & Gardens

Address: The Ambers | Drinkstone Park, Bury St Edmunds IP30 9ST, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Bury St Edmunds
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Bury St Edmunds
Price Range: £77 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Drinkstone Park Bed and Breakfast & Gardens 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award Winning Bed and Breakfast on the edge of the village of Drinkstone close to Bury St Edmunds. Quiet, comfortable and welcoming with an excellent breakfast & more.We are situated in three acres of beautiful gardens that once formed part of the Drinkstone Park estate. Quiet and secluded yet only a short drive to the A14 and easy access to the major road networks. A ten minute drive to Bury St Edmunds. We look forward to welcoming you to our home. Michael & Christine ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Drinkstone Park Bed and Breakfast & Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drinkstone Park Bed And Breakfast & Gardens Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing