We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A B&B that has that special touch!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Drinkstone Park Bed and Breakfast & Gardens
Certificate of Excellence
Shropshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A B&B that has that special touch!”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We have stayed at Drinkstone Park twice now and when we are next in that part of the country we wouldn't risk staying anywhere else. why would we? Michael and Christine are very welcoming and make you feel almost like old friends. All the extra touches are what makes this B&B extra special. For instance, bath robes, toiletries, loads of extra towels, DVD's and Wi Fi and chocolates on the pillows of the most comfortable bed! We had French doors onto the patio area and the lovely garden. The other great thing about Drinkstone Park are Christines's delicious breakfasts. We have never stayed in a B&B with such an extensive menu. Ob both occasions there was a 'special' on the menu. We totally recommend Drinkstone Park.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael L, Owner at Drinkstone Park Bed and Breakfast & Gardens, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Hi Paul, I hope all is well for you, many thanks for taking the time to review us. We are pleased that you enjoy staying with us, I noticed you said 'almost like old friends' to see that gives us great pleasure as this is how we often feel when guests return to us. The gardens are looking good at the moment, we have been very busy with the National Garden Scheme open days which have been well received (and a learning curve for us).
We look forward to seeing you both again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    580
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
70
306
45
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
Level Contributor
38 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Drinkstone Park B&B is the best B&B we have ever stayed in over many years of taking breaks in the UK and Europe.Michael and Christine have perfected the B&B experience with some very nice touches not normally seen at your average B&B. You arrive at a beautiful property set in absolutely fantastic gardens.Once you've parked on the ample gravel parking area you are greeted by the owners who serve delicious scones and coffee/tea in the garden. We had booked two ground floor rooms, both of which had marvelous views over the garden and french doors opening onto a private patio with garden furniture. The large bedrooms are tastefully decorated with good sized en-suite bathrooms which are modern, have powerful showers and a selection of good quality complimentary toiletries. The breakfasts are also super, too much choice for our 2 night stay. Free range eggs from the hens on site are served coddled, fried, poached, boiled or scrambled with a variety of dressings. There are home made pancakes, a good range of healthy cereals, full cooked english breakfast, fresh fruit and more besides. As there is so much to see and do in the area, you could quite easily stay a week and try a different breakfast every day. The rooms were cleaned each day, and fresh biscuits and chocolates left in the room. I could go on with the compliments, but try it yourself and enjoy a perfect B&B experience. Thank you Michael and Christine, we will stay again when we visit our niece in Mendlesham Green.

Room Tip: We used the peach and red rooms, both on the ground floor. These have a private patio which are acce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 211sunseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael L, Owner at Drinkstone Park Bed and Breakfast & Gardens, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
I cannot really add or comment to much on what you have said, suffice it to say we are delighted of course that you found your stay with us to be so pleasurable. To say we are the best in UK and Europe is praise indeed!
Many people do stay for a week, sometimes longer as we are central to the whole of East Anglia with easy access to the main road network. We have found three or four days stay is the most popular and to that end we have a very cost effective rate for three nights or more for telephone bookings or returning visitors booking on our website.
The chickens will continue to lay I am sure and your fresh eggs will be ready for your breakfast choice on your next visit. We look forward to that visit.
Many thanks for sharing your experience with the kind review.

Best

Michael and Christine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

On arrival, you are greeted to a warm welcome, and afternoon tea with homemade scones - this delightful welcome is repeated on each day of your stay on return to the B & B. The accommodation is first class in all respects, bedrooms have all mod-coms, spacious and equipped with comfortable two seater settee's. On-suite's are excellent and Christine provide you with expensive luxury toiletries - and in particular they are additive and chemical free, this was most appreciated - no cheap products that one frequently comes across.
Breakfast are top notch and set you up for the day - very varied menu and dietary need's well catered for, in fact Christine went out of her way to see that my gluten free needs were well catered for, special cereals, sausages from a local butcher, biscuits and cakes etc.
A very comfortable guests lounge and beautiful gardens that you are free to enjoy. Michael was always ready to help you out with your day's plan's, giving you advice, printing off details and directions etc. In fact Michael & Christine were just the best where hosts go, so friendly and always ready to help out.
The experience that you gain from stopping at Drinkstone Park B & B can only leave you thinking, that you would with out a doubt want to return there again when visiting Suffolk.
Thank you Christine & Michael for such a brilliant service.
Terry & Gillian

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael L, Owner at Drinkstone Park Bed and Breakfast & Gardens, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Hello Terry and Gillian - so pleased to have had the pleasure of your company at Drinkstone, happy that you enjoyed your stay.
We do use the items in our guest rooms that Christine particularly would use herself which probably accounts for the toiletries.
The same criteria applies to our breakfast ingredients, we wouldn't eat 'cheap' produce and don't expect our guests to. Christine was of course only to pleased to ensure your breakfast met you dietary requirements and was enjoyed.
I can only add that we appreciate you kind review of your stay and do hope that you will indeed come and visit us again.

Best

Michael and Christine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rjukan, Norway
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

After travelling in Britain for more than a week, I'm not at all impressed by the hotels.
Where I come from (Norway) we're used to having fridges in our rooms and wi-fi included.
The only think lacking here was the fridge in the room, but there was a fridge which was available for all visitors, som it was as good as there.
wi-fi was great, though with code, easily found in the room's info papers.
Lovely clean, a great garden, quiet - simply the best night of all spent in England.

The standard is 4 stars B&B, and it'll beat most hotels in Britain, for sure - and that at a very reasonable price.
You'll have to go there by car (or bike) and the place is really litterary out in the woods.

The most amazing thing was the breakfast, which was super-fresh, and with lots of choices, being made the day before on a A4-paper formed as a survey.
Most seemed picked from the garden, and freshly picked eggs and honey made a lovely breakfast.

The owners were extremely nice and welcoming, and gave us excellent recommandations for where to go for dinner, and sights, as well on which route to chose next.
We were extremely well taken care of in high standard houing, with great shower and lovely clean rooms.
Extremely recommended.I doubt you can find better in Britain.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OJSkyper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael L, Owner at Drinkstone Park Bed and Breakfast & Gardens, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
We are sorry to hear that the British hotels did not live up to your expectations, we are of course also delighted to hear that we did!
We are indeed tucked away in a quiet and peaceful location which you do need to 'find' the result is the peace and tranquillity which I believe you can only find in the heart of the countryside. This goes a long way towards the good nights sleep you enjoyed, the clean bedroom assists of course.
We take great pride in our breakfast offerings and are delighted to hear that you found it amazing. Pleased that you enjoyed it.
We enjoy the company of our guests and are pleased to help in any way we can.
Thank you for your recommendation and review it is much appreciated.

Best wishes

Michael and Christine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Had a wonderful stay, unmatched hospitality, Michael and Christine are both very kind and helpful and made our stay memorable. The breakfast menu is varied and truly excellent. Blueberry pancakes delicious.
The garden is amazing I would most definitely recommend Drinkstone Park.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Whaymes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael L, Owner at Drinkstone Park Bed and Breakfast & Gardens, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
So pleased that your stay with us at Drinkstone was good. Those blueberry pancakes certainly are popular!
It always gives us pleasure when people have enjoyed the gardens and taken the trouble to say so - thank you.

Best

Michael and Christine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Mrs CF and I have just got back from two nights at this wonderful B&B. All the other reviews on this site are spot on. It is the best B&B by a mile. We stayed in the blue room and woke to the sound of water burbling in the pond and the hens clucking away. The location is beautiful and the gardens are magnificent. You are greeted by Michael and Christine (and two dogs and cats) and feel at home immediately. The breakfasts were glorious and the eggs benedict with spinach could not have been fresher - especially as we saw Michael come back from the garden with freshly cut spinach. The rooms are very comfortable and there is an attention to details that is unprecedented. For example, its a nice touch to supply both cups and mugs in the room. Fresh milk is also provided rather than those UHT plastic tubs. There are other lovely little touches that show real thought and care for their guests.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael L, Owner at Drinkstone Park Bed and Breakfast & Gardens, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Excellent that you felt so at home, this is what we aim for. Apart from that it is really down to the fact that we enjoy what has become a lifestyle not a job of work. We have some lovely people stay with us so how could we not enjoy what we do.
We are pleased that you enjoyed breakfast and your stay in general and have taken the trouble to review us.
We would of course be delighted to see you at Drinkstone again.

Best

Michael and Christine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

Read the reviews on Tripadvisor and then think "can these really be right, can anything be this good?". The answer is a resounding "YES".

The location is perfect. Only a few miles from the A14 and yet completely rural and very quiet, it is a perfect base for site seeing or simply lazing around in the country. The gardens, a real labour of love for the owners, are magnificent. The rooms are well furnished, spotlessly clean, and very comfortable. We stayed in the Red room which has its own entrance directly in to the gardens with its own little patio. The breakfast choice is superb with much of the food homemade and / or fresh from the garden. The owners are helpful, friendly, and attentive to the extent that you genuinely feel like a house guest rather than a paying customer. It seems to me that they run this business not for the money but because they love it and it shows in everything they do and everything about Drinkstone Park.
I have travelled extensively around the world and stayed in many excellent hotels and guest houses. I would honestly rank this as up there with the best. I thoroughly recommend this to everyone.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Park_Hall_Barry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael L, Owner at Drinkstone Park Bed and Breakfast & Gardens, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
First may I say thank you for your review, we are delighted to read that you would rank us so highly.
Then may I say you are absolutely correct in that we do not do this for the money at all. We do it for a number of reasons which when put together have evolved into what I call my circle of life. We enjoy the company of the people who come to us, we enjoy not only creating and maintaining the gardens but the enjoyment of the people who come to walk in the gardens. The circle is completed when our guests come because that is how the gardens are financed, it is of course a rather nice way of life for us.
We do hope you will come and see us again.

Best

Michael and Christine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bury St Edmunds
6.8 mi away
Best Western Priory Hotel
Best Western Priory Hotel
#7 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
459 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#4 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
1,150 reviews
6.0 mi away
The Chantry Hotel
The Chantry Hotel
#2 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
2.3 mi away
Oak Farm Barn
Oak Farm Barn
#4 of 53 in Bury St Edmunds
130 reviews
8.6 mi away
Bays Farm Country B&B and Kitchen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drinkstone Park Bed and Breakfast & Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drinkstone Park Bed and Breakfast & Gardens

Property: Drinkstone Park Bed and Breakfast & Gardens
Address: The Ambers | Drinkstone Park, Bury St Edmunds IP30 9ST, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Bury St Edmunds
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Bury St Edmunds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Drinkstone Park Bed and Breakfast & Gardens 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award Winning Bed and Breakfast on the edge of the village of Drinkstone close to Bury St Edmunds. Quiet, comfortable and welcoming with an excellent breakfast & more.We are situated in three acres of beautiful gardens that once formed part of the Drinkstone Park estate. Quiet and secluded yet only a short drive to the A14 and easy access to the major road networks. A ten minute drive to Bury St Edmunds. We look forward to welcoming you to our home. Michael & Christine ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotel.de, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Drinkstone Park Bed and Breakfast & Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drinkstone Park Bed And Breakfast & Gardens Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing