We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfrect retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Drinkstone Park Bed and Breakfast & Gardens
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Perfrect retreat”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Quiet, great gardens and kind helpful couple. Enjoyed the stay in the country and the locat area holds some quaint villages. Local 6 Bells pub in Felsham had the best ever Steak and Kidney Pie and the drive in that area is so tranquil.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigmanhowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael L, Owner at Drinkstone Park Bed and Breakfast & Gardens, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Pleased that you enjoyed your stay, it is indeed a retreat from the real world for a short space of time, many of our guests feel that tranquillity.
The Steak and Kidney pie is much sort after, next time you come perhaps we could send you to try the Steak and Ale pie in another local pub......would be interesting to see which pie wins.
Thank you for taking the time to review us.

Best

Michael and Christine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    579
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
70
305
45
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Thank you Christine & Michael for another perfect stay in your little corner of the world made brighter and kinder by your genuine hospitality and sincere desire to please all of the people, all of the time!
The gardens are more beautiful, loved the addition of the 'hobbit house', might stay in there next time........the cats still come to greet us all and walk around the gardens and feed the koi with us, the dogs still look like they are auditioning for crufts and the chickens still lay your breakfast egg, nothing alters except for the possibly even better.
We'll be back soon, the peach room is on my agenda this time, in the words of Conrad Hilton,
'Right first time, every time!!
Thank you both so very much - loved it........
Maggie & John

Room Tip: any of them really, the red room & the peach room are on the ground floor with access to the gar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maggie_Copthorne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael L, Owner at Drinkstone Park Bed and Breakfast & Gardens, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Thank you Maggie and as always you were able to offer us good thoughts and opinions from your vast experience in the hospitality business, we do appreciate all of that.
So pleased that you enjoyed the gardens, you have seen them develop since your first visit, we planted a new mature tree in a newly developed area today, full size and delivered by lorry, now planted and enjoying the rain.
It was lovely to see you both again and we will ensure the Peach Room is available for you next time - far more comfortable than the Hobbit Hut!

Best

Michael and Christine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Yes. We took over the place for the weekend. It was outstanding in every respect and we have not stopped telling our friends and families all about it. Michael and Christine were the perfect hosts and made us all so welcome and were so helpful in taking time to help and advise us. We had perfect weather and so we were able to enjoy the wonderful garden and scenery. We will definitely return. Thank you both for your hospitality. Jackie.

Room Tip: The rooms suited all six of us. I loved having our own patio
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael L, Owner at Drinkstone Park Bed and Breakfast & Gardens, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Yes. You did take over for the weekend. We were delighted that you felt 'at home' enough to do just that, its what you and others come here for, away from it all relaxation.
We will be very pleased to welcome you all back to Drinkstone anytime you like.
Thank you for taking the time to review us.

Best

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We really enjoy coming to stay with Michael and Christine. They are such lovely hosts. Their B & B is excellent in every respect. We have stayed in both ground floor rooms which have an ensuite bathroom and find them very clean and the beds comfortable. The Red Room the larger of the two has a lovely view over their beautiful garden. We thought of you on your first NGS day and imagined so many visitors that you had a job parking everyone! We are sure it was a fantastic day and that everyone enjoyed themselves. See you next year. Bob & Gill

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael L, Owner at Drinkstone Park Bed and Breakfast & Gardens, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Our first NGS day was one of the wettest days of the year! As you know we opened on the Saturday and the Sunday,both days it poured. regardless of that we had over 30 visitors each day all hardened gardeners and we enjoyed the rather damp experience. The next day we opened was four weeks later for one day and the sun shone with over 80 visitors. Over £1,000 was raised for the charities so not bad.
Thank you so much for the review and we look forward to your next visit.

Best

Michael and Christine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Witham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Just returned from DP B&B. There were six of us in the party and we all agreed we had found a gem. Writing a review like this is like "shooting yourself in the foot" as I am sure it will increase it's popularity. However, it's only fair that everyone should know how hard Christine and Michael work to maintain such high standards. Congratulations to them !

Room Tip: All the three main rooms are excellent as is the smaller double which we would have booked if need b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlesL364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael L, Owner at Drinkstone Park Bed and Breakfast & Gardens, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
We thoroughly enjoyed having you and your friends here with us, I am sure you will not be 'shooting yourselves in the foot' I certainly hope not as we would really love to have you all here with us again.
Please give our best wishes to the rest of your group, included in our thoughts is the one who was not able to be with you.

Best

Michael and Christine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Perfect, great rooms, food and company. Lovely couple that make you feel very welcome. Rooms are home from home with every little detail catered for. Thank you ...see you again I will bring more cake.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Louise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael L, Owner at Drinkstone Park Bed and Breakfast & Gardens, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
I have to say perfect cake absolutely delicious! We thank you first for the cake and then for the review, which was best? Hard to say maybe we should try another.
Many thanks we enjoyed your company as well as your cake.

Best

Michael and Lambert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Delightful hosts! Stimulating and varied breakfast conversation with other guests! Very comfortable! Lovely gardens! We shall book again if we are in the area. Thank you very much Christine and Michael.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael L, Owner at Drinkstone Park Bed and Breakfast & Gardens, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Thank you so much for taking the trouble to review us we do appreciate it, we look forward to seeing you again if in area.

Best

Michael and Christine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bury St Edmunds
6.8 mi away
Best Western Priory Hotel
Best Western Priory Hotel
#7 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
457 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#4 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
1,149 reviews
6.0 mi away
The Chantry Hotel
The Chantry Hotel
#2 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
2.3 mi away
Oak Farm Barn
Oak Farm Barn
#4 of 53 in Bury St Edmunds
130 reviews
8.6 mi away
Bays Farm Country B&B and Kitchen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drinkstone Park Bed and Breakfast & Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drinkstone Park Bed and Breakfast & Gardens

Property: Drinkstone Park Bed and Breakfast & Gardens
Address: The Ambers | Drinkstone Park, Bury St Edmunds IP30 9ST, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Bury St Edmunds
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Bury St Edmunds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Drinkstone Park Bed and Breakfast & Gardens 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award Winning Bed and Breakfast on the edge of the village of Drinkstone close to Bury St Edmunds. Quiet, comfortable and welcoming with an excellent breakfast & more.We are situated in three acres of beautiful gardens that once formed part of the Drinkstone Park estate. Quiet and secluded yet only a short drive to the A14 and easy access to the major road networks. A ten minute drive to Bury St Edmunds. We look forward to welcoming you to our home. Michael & Christine ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Drinkstone Park Bed and Breakfast & Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drinkstone Park Bed And Breakfast & Gardens Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing