We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Excellent Visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Drinkstone Park Bed and Breakfast & Gardens
Certificate of Excellence
Andover UK
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Another Excellent Visit”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Our third stay at Drinkstone Park this year and have found nowhere better. A lovely welcome from Michael and Christine with a pot of tea and scones. Beautifully appointed bedrooms and excellent facilities. Breakfast is a real treat with local produce, cooked by Christine and served with humour by Michael. The gardens are beautiful and compliment a lovely tranquil setting. Well done Michael and Christine - we look forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: In our experience all the rooms here are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJAndover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael L, Owner at Drinkstone Park Bed and Breakfast & Gardens, responded to this review, 3 October 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review, the gardens have really come on well this year as you have noticed, tranquillity should be found in a garden I believe and we are pleased that you find this.
It has been a good year in our own kitchen garden allowing us to serve much of our own produce to guests.
We to look forward to your next visit.

Best

Michael & Christine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    590
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
71
313
46
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Martham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We feel more at home here than anywhere else we have every stayed. Excellent facilities, food and gardens (we do like gardens). Very friendly hosts - they feel more like friends. Clearly Michael and Christine are able to make everyone feel special.

Room Tip: We always stay in the Blue Room, and don't see any need to think about the others. It does have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Noel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael L, Owner at Drinkstone Park Bed and Breakfast & Gardens, responded to this review, 3 October 2014
I have to say it often feels with our returning guests that we are having friends to stay and you certainly fit into that category by a long way.
Not so sure about making everyone feel special, if it applies to you and you feel as if you are home from home then we are content. Your love of the gardens is of course a well received comment for us.
We look forward to your next visit.
Best
Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heacham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

With out doubt one of the best B and Bs, we have stayed at, Christine and Michael make wonderful hosts, and it is obvious they have put in a lot of work and thought into this establishment. Every detail has been thought out carefully, with the use of good quality ingredients, both the food and the bedrooms are faultless, nobody could be disappointed if they stayed here, and it is five star all the way .

Room Tip: all the rooms are beautiful, but the red room is worth the little bit extra with its own sitting roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rogerraven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael L, Owner at Drinkstone Park Bed and Breakfast & Gardens, responded to this review, 3 October 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review us, it was a pleasure to meet you and have your company at Drinkstone. I seem to be often saying this but it is a fact that we do have some of the nicest people stay with us.
Take care and we hope to see you again in the future.

Best

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Quiet, great gardens and kind helpful couple. Enjoyed the stay in the country and the locat area holds some quaint villages. Local 6 Bells pub in Felsham had the best ever Steak and Kidney Pie and the drive in that area is so tranquil.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigmanhowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael L, Owner at Drinkstone Park Bed and Breakfast & Gardens, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Pleased that you enjoyed your stay, it is indeed a retreat from the real world for a short space of time, many of our guests feel that tranquillity.
The Steak and Kidney pie is much sort after, next time you come perhaps we could send you to try the Steak and Ale pie in another local pub......would be interesting to see which pie wins.
Thank you for taking the time to review us.

Best

Michael and Christine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Thank you Christine & Michael for another perfect stay in your little corner of the world made brighter and kinder by your genuine hospitality and sincere desire to please all of the people, all of the time!
The gardens are more beautiful, loved the addition of the 'hobbit house', might stay in there next time........the cats still come to greet us all and walk around the gardens and feed the koi with us, the dogs still look like they are auditioning for crufts and the chickens still lay your breakfast egg, nothing alters except for the possibly even better.
We'll be back soon, the peach room is on my agenda this time, in the words of Conrad Hilton,
'Right first time, every time!!
Thank you both so very much - loved it........
Maggie & John

Room Tip: any of them really, the red room & the peach room are on the ground floor with access to the gar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maggie_Copthorne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael L, Owner at Drinkstone Park Bed and Breakfast & Gardens, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Thank you Maggie and as always you were able to offer us good thoughts and opinions from your vast experience in the hospitality business, we do appreciate all of that.
So pleased that you enjoyed the gardens, you have seen them develop since your first visit, we planted a new mature tree in a newly developed area today, full size and delivered by lorry, now planted and enjoying the rain.
It was lovely to see you both again and we will ensure the Peach Room is available for you next time - far more comfortable than the Hobbit Hut!

Best

Michael and Christine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Yes. We took over the place for the weekend. It was outstanding in every respect and we have not stopped telling our friends and families all about it. Michael and Christine were the perfect hosts and made us all so welcome and were so helpful in taking time to help and advise us. We had perfect weather and so we were able to enjoy the wonderful garden and scenery. We will definitely return. Thank you both for your hospitality. Jackie.

Room Tip: The rooms suited all six of us. I loved having our own patio
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael L, Owner at Drinkstone Park Bed and Breakfast & Gardens, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Yes. You did take over for the weekend. We were delighted that you felt 'at home' enough to do just that, its what you and others come here for, away from it all relaxation.
We will be very pleased to welcome you all back to Drinkstone anytime you like.
Thank you for taking the time to review us.

Best

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We really enjoy coming to stay with Michael and Christine. They are such lovely hosts. Their B & B is excellent in every respect. We have stayed in both ground floor rooms which have an ensuite bathroom and find them very clean and the beds comfortable. The Red Room the larger of the two has a lovely view over their beautiful garden. We thought of you on your first NGS day and imagined so many visitors that you had a job parking everyone! We are sure it was a fantastic day and that everyone enjoyed themselves. See you next year. Bob & Gill

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael L, Owner at Drinkstone Park Bed and Breakfast & Gardens, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Our first NGS day was one of the wettest days of the year! As you know we opened on the Saturday and the Sunday,both days it poured. regardless of that we had over 30 visitors each day all hardened gardeners and we enjoyed the rather damp experience. The next day we opened was four weeks later for one day and the sun shone with over 80 visitors. Over £1,000 was raised for the charities so not bad.
Thank you so much for the review and we look forward to your next visit.

Best

Michael and Christine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bury St Edmunds
6.8 mi away
Best Western Priory Hotel
Best Western Priory Hotel
#7 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
473 reviews
5.9 mi away
Premier Inn Bury St Edmunds Town Centre Hotel
Premier Inn Bury St Edmunds Town...
#1 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
419 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#2 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
1,162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
The Chantry Hotel
The Chantry Hotel
#3 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
203 reviews
8.0 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
2.3 mi away
Oak Farm Barn
Oak Farm Barn
#4 of 53 in Bury St Edmunds
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drinkstone Park Bed and Breakfast & Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drinkstone Park Bed and Breakfast & Gardens

Property: Drinkstone Park Bed and Breakfast & Gardens
Address: The Ambers | Drinkstone Park, Bury St Edmunds IP30 9ST, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Bury St Edmunds
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Bury St Edmunds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Drinkstone Park Bed and Breakfast & Gardens 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award Winning Bed and Breakfast on the edge of the village of Drinkstone close to Bury St Edmunds. Quiet, comfortable and welcoming with an excellent breakfast & more.We are situated in three acres of beautiful gardens that once formed part of the Drinkstone Park estate. Quiet and secluded yet only a short drive to the A14 and easy access to the major road networks. A ten minute drive to Bury St Edmunds. We look forward to welcoming you to our home. Michael & Christine ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Drinkstone Park Bed and Breakfast & Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drinkstone Park Bed And Breakfast & Gardens Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing