We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely day out”
Review of Lackford Lakes

Lackford Lakes
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: From iridescent kingfishers to swirling clouds of starlings, the landscape of lakes, reedbed, meadow and woodland makes Suffolk Wildlife Trust's Lackford Lakes a wildlife oasis, offering close-up encounters with nature all year round. The reserve, trails and hides are open daily from dawn to dusk. Call in to the visitor centre for panoramic views of the reserve... coffee, cake and ice cream... and wildlife explorer back packs for young adventurers. Family activities and adult wildlife courses take place at Lackford Lakes throughout the year; follow us on Facebook or Twitter to keep in touch.
Hull, England
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Lovely day out”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Really interesting place to visit for all ages. There was even a party of school children there when we went. Lots of wildlife to see on the lakes and from the hides. There are very knowledgeable guides to take you round, if you wish. Lots of dragonflies and butterflies also.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Hull_EnglandGill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    39
    6
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Very peaceful piece of nature just outside Bury St Edmunds”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

This is a beautiful area managed by the Suffolk Wildlife Trust. It is obviously very popular with bird watchers and each of the hides were full of twitchers with very big camera lenses! I just went to go for a walk and to enjoy some peace and quiet in a natural, unspoilt part of the countryside. There are several walks all of which track their way to the hides overlooking different lakes, and although they were originally gravel pits, they are now so developed ecologically, that they just look like a natural part of the landscape (as indeed they are!). The place was being manned by volunteers who were all very friendly and keen to share their love of this place - pointing out where we would find orchids, kingfishers, and owls (along with the many other species of birds, flowers, insects etc to be found there). There is a very nice coffee shop with tables outside which can be used for picnics, as well as for enjoying the cakes from the shop. Well worth a visit, even if you don't know your ducks from your geese!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Balitraveller53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Relaxing”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We have just stayed at Lackford Lake Barns so were very lucky to have the lakes right on our doorstep,we visited twice during the day & was lucky to be able to use the cafe on both occasions {one of them being a Tuesday as they are trial opening during summer season} have to agree that coffee & cake well worth trying out but not before you have hit the trails & entered a hide or two,three,four .......
Also took advantage of where we were staying to go for our evening stroll there too,lovely & relaxing.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank AmyNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Really good. Shame visitor centre no open on Mondays and Tuesdays”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Excellent location, really relaxing. Great hides, and lots of them. Superb visitor centre (not open Mondays and Tuesdays). Scrummy cake and coffee

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
294 reviews
78 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Quick visit becomes day visit”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We visited during the May open day and stayed much longer than anticipated. There were lots of activities for the whole family ranging from guided tours to work shops and a crafts fair. There was a cakes stand and a hedgehog trail, but what toped it of was the lovely weather (sunny and >20 degrees). The staff were engaging and we learned to distinguish seven bird songs, where we originally only heard two... We completed a quiz on animal skeletons to win a hedgehog house and we leisurely enjoyed lunch and cakes on the many picnic benches. Admittedly the activities are not always there, but the fabulous nature reserve is always a draw. I sometimes visit for just a 1/2 hour morning stroll, but happily come back with my wife for an afternoon chill out, which we routine finish with a cuppa tea at the visitors centre.

Oh, I also buy our birdseed here and our garden birds love them as they finish of their feeders twice as fast as supermarket bought food. If bought in bulk Lakeford Lakes is no more expensive and since doing this we have seen more birds spices come and feed in our garden.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Danny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lackford Lakes also viewed

Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk
Horringer, Bury St Edmunds
 

Been to Lackford Lakes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing