We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bar not a restaurant!”
Review of The LP

The LP
Ranked #23 of 214 Restaurants in Bury St Edmunds
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$19
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: A wood-stone oven cooks up authentic Italian style pizza and pasta. Freshly made salads, sandwiches and snacks are also on the menu. Ingredients are chosen for their quality alone and, where possible, are free-range and generally nice to our planet.
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A bar not a restaurant!”
Reviewed 1 March 2011

the food is good a little overpriced. but the main problem is is the atmosphere and service. great if your a enjoying a cocktail with friends not for a quite meal.

  • Visited March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gyates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    51
    20
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
1 review
“Expect to loose track of time in this home away from home...”
Reviewed 23 February 2011

I wish I never had to leave. Ever.
There is nothing better on a dreary Monday evening then slumping into a retro leather recliner with a glass of red nearly big enough to swim in.
The L.P. is one of those rare places that you will enjoy just as much by yourself- curled up reading a book- as you will in a larger party. The staff are all mega friendly and will bend over backwards to accomodate your needs. The music and general atmosphere is proffessional yet relaxed, and the food and drink is exquisite.
All in all, a place with character and soul, well worth a visit!

  • Visited February 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Whyree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“All round, brilliant place”
Reviewed 17 February 2011

It's the only place to consider going out clubbing in bury st edmunds, great music, great staff. The gigs they put on are always very impressive with great sound quality. The drinks are reasonably priced too, with a brilliant range of shots and cocktails, plus an impressive selection of beer and wine. Not to mention the food, which is mainly pizza but some other stuff too. It's easily as good as some of the large chain up market pizza restaurants, and the service is great. Go experience it for yourself!

  • Visited January 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank olishilling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bury st edmunds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“FANTASTIC”
Reviewed 17 February 2011

I visit the LP regularly during the day with my son along with many of my friends who also have young children. The LP really caters for everyone and never fail to give us a much needed coffee and cake on a friday morning while the kiddies play with all the toys provided - you couldn't ask for more!
We also visit The LP on a sunday as a family for a good old roast dinner, it suits us perfectly as they serve so late on in the day it doesn't disturb nap time!
And if we are ever in for a real treat and manage to get out at night time we love to pop up for a drink and a bit of grown up time!
The LP really does cater for all our needs - well done guys!

Visited February 2011
Helpful?
Thank kimandstu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect relaxing combination of brilliant food and drink.”
Reviewed 16 February 2011

The LP is a local haunt of mine and never fails to meet and exceed my expectations. The atmosphere is so chilled out it's almost horizontal, but not to the detriment of the service. The staff are very friendly and will go out of their way to make you the exact cocktail you want, find the right wine from their extensive list, or simply serve you a pint.

All the food is made on the premesis in an open kitchen which adds to the theatre when you can see your meal being prepared. Their wood fire oven mixed with the attention and care paid when cooking and fresh ingredients, makes the LP's pizzas the best in town undoubtedly.
We experienced their newly set up Sunday roasts which are served in a fun, relaxed help yourself at the table way. All food homemade and they are cleverly available until early evening - definitely something not to be missed. It's a must for a relaxing sunday with live accoustic music to accompany your lazying afternoon.

Without a doubt definitely worth a visit, or several. You'll get hooked.

  • Visited February 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pipadoodledoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The LP also viewed

Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk
Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk
 
Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk
Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk
 
Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk
 

Been to The LP? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing