We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Investment at last”
Review of The Northgate

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Northgate
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 December 2012

This is a very nice family run hotel, very english! Rooms and bathrooms were starting to show there age, but at last a renovation is underway. Breakfast has always been a good experience, not as good as it was and it does feel a little like been at school.
Overall very handy for centre of bury but there are now better hotels.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aitchfor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (182)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

166 - 172 of 182 reviews

Reviewed 16 November 2012

Warm welcome, excellent room with all the home comforts including an excellent breakfast. Easy parking and walking distance from the centre and old town (try the One Bull Public House for dinner). Great to see hotels like this surviving. Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

What a lovely home to visit. A warm welcome, a most beautiful, spacious bedroom overlooking the pretty garden and lovely people. We were there only for a night and wish we had set aside more time. The beautiful centre of Bury is a very easy walk from Ounce House and there are plenty of good restaurants to choose from for dinner. The house is full of interesting pictures, books and family photographs and furniture and decor very much in keeping with the period of the house. The breakfast, served in the very comfortable dining room was delicious and happily informal. We will certainly go back both to Bury and Ounce House and highly recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 853chasp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2011

Beautiful spacious bedroom with large en-suit. Fabulous breakfast and very welcoming hosts. No problems with parking and everything in walking distance. A truly remarkable place. In fact a very rare gem -not to be missed!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dixie1907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2011

It is a lovely family run B&B. The rooms are very well appointed, we had a comfortable evening and a fantastic home cooked breakfast the next day. It is a great location for Bury and the surrounding area. Would definitely recommend to anyone looking for somewhere around the area.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LovelyLady08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2011

I had the pleasure of staying in the Ounce House last week just for one night, I wish it could have been longer.

Rooms are very well appointed and extremely comfortable. Facilities in the room were excellent and nothing was too much trouble for Jenny Potts, the owner.

Breakfast was superbly prepared and the quality of the food was excellent.

My only regret is that I was only there for the night.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2010

My husband and I stayed here for 1 night. The house was very impressive as was our welcome from the friendly owner who was happy to share local knowledge etc. The room was adequate in space and had all the amenities we needed. However the bed, pillows and linens were in need of updating. Everything was very clean, just not overly comfortable, particularly the bed and pillows. The bathroom (which was spotless) was in desperate need of modernization. I suppose I expected more from this property considering the rate that we paid (£120). The breakfast was lovely and as I mentioned earlier so were the owners. Overall I think this property would appeal to the 60 and over crowd, or to those who are not particular about luxuries such as fluffy pillows and a nice douvet.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Lux-a-holic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bury St Edmunds
0.2 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#2 of 10 in Bury St Edmunds
1,233 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western Priory Hotel
Best Western Priory Hotel
#7 of 10 in Bury St Edmunds
510 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Chantry Hotel
The Chantry Hotel
#3 of 10 in Bury St Edmunds
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Ickworth Hotel
The Ickworth Hotel
#1 of 2 in Horringer
702 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Grange Hotel
The Grange Hotel
#1 of 1 in Thurston
264 reviews
10.2 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Northgate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Northgate

Address: Northgate St, Bury St Edmunds IP33 1HP, England (Formerly Ounce House)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Bury St Edmunds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Bury St Edmunds
Price Range: £147 - £346 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Northgate 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Northgate is redefining the boutique experience. The historic house, located just a few moments’ walk from Bury’s iconic ancient Abbey, has undergone extensive renovation resulting in the creation of one of the country’s finest boutique houses. ​ Ten uniquely styled rooms are complemented with both relaxed and refined dining experiences, alongside a contemporary cocktail bar. Locals and residents can also enjoy the heated terrace throughout the year, while the Chef’s Table in the heart of the kitchen offers a unique experience for special occasions. We look forward to sharing The Northgate experience with you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Northgate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Northgate Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing