We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and friendly hotel”
Review of The Northgate

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Northgate
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 January 2009

A really lovely, family run hotel. I had to stay in Bury St Edmunds for business and chose this hotel for the location. It made such a refreshing change from the faceless chain hotels available in larger cities. The rooms are really big, with beautiful old furniture. Jenny, the owner is very welcoming, and can offer advice about how to find your way around town. As a female staying on my own I felt quite safe walking from the hotel to the many restaurants available in town, about a five minute walk away. The breakfast in the morning was good too. I'd happily recommend this as a place to stay.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Lozrod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (164)
There are newer reviews for The Northgate
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

159 - 164 of 164 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2008

We have just returned from our third stay at the Ounce House and have thoroughly enjoyed our visit again. It really is such a beautiful property and having stayed in a different bedroom each time we can honestly say that all the rooms are lovely, very comfortable and spacious (although the room called Barclay is our favourite!) What we like in particular is the attention to detail that you do not always get in larger hotels; for example a pretty china bowl filled with fresh flowers, good quality toiletries, a wide selection of items on the tea tray and of course the individual attention from the friendly and hospitable owners - nothing was any trouble, even to fetching us ice and lemon for our pre dinner drinks. If you want a peaceful place to stay yet one that is convenient for a short walk into town, then the Ounce House is just perfect.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 59erstog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2006

This small hotel is located within the pretty town of Bury St Edmunds. It is set in an imposing Victorian house which is decorated and furnished to a high standard. Rooms are large and have spacious and comfortable furnishings. The bathroom had an excellent shower and bath -all spotlessly clean. Breakfast is served at a large dining table in a beautiful room. The English breakfast was cooked well and there was plenty of it.
The hotel has an honesty bar which is refreshing to see given the times we live in! We can throughy recommend a stay here.

Ruth Grindrod

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank rgmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2006

The Ounce House is a lovely place to stay, great location, beautiful historic features and very comfortable.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank elspethngaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Volgens mij is er geen lift. Je moet redelijk wat stijle trappen op. Houdt hier rekening mee.
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeonHans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChestnutGroup, Guest Relations Manager at The Northgate, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2011
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
Thank yasudesu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bury St Edmunds hotels
0.2 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
1,210 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western Priory Hotel
Best Western Priory Hotel
#7 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
497 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Chantry Hotel
The Chantry Hotel
#2 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
All Saints Hotel
All Saints Hotel
#6 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
234 reviews
2.9 mi away
Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel
Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel
#5 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
635 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Fox Inn
The Fox Inn
#2 of 53 in Bury St Edmunds
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Northgate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Northgate

Address: Northgate St, Bury St Edmunds IP33 1HP, England (Formerly Ounce House)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Bury St Edmunds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Bury St Edmunds
Price Range: £143 - £256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Northgate 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Northgate is redefining the boutique experience. The historic house, located just a few moments’ walk from Bury’s iconic ancient Abbey, has undergone extensive renovation resulting in the creation of one of the country’s finest boutique houses. ​ Ten uniquely styled rooms are complemented with both relaxed and refined dining experiences, alongside a contemporary cocktail bar. Locals and residents can also enjoy the heated terrace throughout the year, while the Chef’s Table in the heart of the kitchen offers a unique experience for special occasions. We look forward to sharing The Northgate experience with you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Northgate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Northgate Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing