We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home from home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Northgate

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Northgate
London
Level Contributor
42 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Home from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2010

We stay in the Ounce House regularly when visiting our elderly Mum who lives in Bury. We always feel welcomed, the rooms are very comfortable and the breakfasts outstanding. Everything is easy, car parking in the front, walking to restaurants and help with taxis or directions. In the summer the garden is a delight.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Admiral M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    15
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
11
44
3
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2009

I hadn't intended to spend this much on a room, but at the last minute, accommodation was scarce. I'm glad I did, though. The hotel was charming, a nice mix of friendly and warm B&B with a little more privacy and than some places I've stayed where it feels like your staying in someone's home. There were little quirky touches, like rubber duckies on the bathtub, and a teddy bear and smarties on the pillow. There were plenty of period features. The staff were lovely, friendly and helpful. The hotel was very close to the touristy sites, and not far from some basic ammenities(shops and things). The only downside, was that in the hot sticky weather, it would have been nice to have a fan in the room, but with the windows open it was ok. Overall I'd reccommend it to anyone.

Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank kaybeuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2009

A really lovely, family run hotel. I had to stay in Bury St Edmunds for business and chose this hotel for the location. It made such a refreshing change from the faceless chain hotels available in larger cities. The rooms are really big, with beautiful old furniture. Jenny, the owner is very welcoming, and can offer advice about how to find your way around town. As a female staying on my own I felt quite safe walking from the hotel to the many restaurants available in town, about a five minute walk away. The breakfast in the morning was good too. I'd happily recommend this as a place to stay.

  • Liked — The warm welcome and large rooms - it was all so individual
  • Disliked — the shower could ahve been warmer!
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Lozrod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cambridge
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2008

We have just returned from our third stay at the Ounce House and have thoroughly enjoyed our visit again. It really is such a beautiful property and having stayed in a different bedroom each time we can honestly say that all the rooms are lovely, very comfortable and spacious (although the room called Barclay is our favourite!) What we like in particular is the attention to detail that you do not always get in larger hotels; for example a pretty china bowl filled with fresh flowers, good quality toiletries, a wide selection of items on the tea tray and of course the individual attention from the friendly and hospitable owners - nothing was any trouble, even to fetching us ice and lemon for our pre dinner drinks. If you want a peaceful place to stay yet one that is convenient for a short walk into town, then the Ounce House is just perfect.

  • Liked — Comfortable and peaceful
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 59erstog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2006

This small hotel is located within the pretty town of Bury St Edmunds. It is set in an imposing Victorian house which is decorated and furnished to a high standard. Rooms are large and have spacious and comfortable furnishings. The bathroom had an excellent shower and bath -all spotlessly clean. Breakfast is served at a large dining table in a beautiful room. The English breakfast was cooked well and there was plenty of it.
The hotel has an honesty bar which is refreshing to see given the times we live in! We can throughy recommend a stay here.

Ruth Grindrod

  • Liked — quality of room
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank rgmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2006

The Ounce House is a lovely place to stay, great location, beautiful historic features and very comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank elspethngaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bury St Edmunds
0.2 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,107 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Bury St Edmunds Town Centre Hotel
Premier Inn Bury St Edmunds Town...
#1 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
4.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
2.0 mi away
All Saints Hotel
All Saints Hotel
#6 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Priory Hotel
BEST WESTERN Priory Hotel
#7 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
2.9 mi away
Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel
Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel
#2 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
9.8 mi away
The Packhorse Inn
The Packhorse Inn
#2 of 16 in Newmarket
4.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Northgate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Northgate

Property: The Northgate
Address: Northgate St, Bury St Edmunds IP33 1HP, England (Formerly Ounce House)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Bury St Edmunds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Bury St Edmunds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Northgate is redefining the boutique experience. The historic house, located just a few moments’ walk from Bury’s iconic ancient Abbey, has undergone extensive renovation resulting in the creation of one of the country’s finest boutique houses. ​ Ten uniquely styled rooms are complemented with both relaxed and refined dining experiences, alongside a contemporary cocktail bar. Locals and residents can also enjoy the heated terrace throughout the year, while the Chef’s Table in the heart of the kitchen offers a unique experience for special occasions. We look forward to sharing The Northgate experience with you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Northgate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Northgate Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing