We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Abbeygate Cinema

Abbeygate Cinema
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

I am not usually a film buff, whereas my wife was a regular, but I thoroughly enjoyed the comfortable seating and general ambiance. Nice snacks & drinks. Would definitely recommend to anyone who appreciates comfort and a nice welcome.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidW5190UG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    252
    43
    7
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Nice simple baby shower”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

Went here for a baby shower. We had afternoon tea in the function room. It is well located and a lovely space. We had a really lovely time and I know everyone enjoyed it however there were a few things I was surprised at and I would like to comment of.

We weren't greeted with much of anything really. Kind of left to our own devices. The staff seem somewhat untrained and flakey.

The food was really nice. Scones were amazing, sandwiches were strange only 2 fillings which were quite polarizing (salmon and cream cheese and a mustard/ coronation chicken thing) all served on white bread (I would have liked some variety here). A few had gone a little stale but not too bad. I don't believe these were made that day. However they were nice. Beautiful tea cups were bought around to everyone and pots of tea put out. However several of the pots were stone cold and it took a bit of commotion to have these changed.

We also had some customers come upstairs and join the party which we had to deal with ourselves as the staff were somewhat unavailable or unwilling.

Having said this the setting, the food and the idea is lovely and it was a really beautiful baby shower and I would recommend. I just hope they keep their staff a bit happier and improve a little with the fiber details.

Helpful?
1 Thank Kayla P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Lovely Atmospheric Cinema”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

A visit to Abbeygate Cinema is incomparable with a visit to a chain cinema. So comfortable and elegant. A great experience in itself.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank BuryTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Perfect way to see a film”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Now known as the Abbeygate Cinema but still the same quality experience as far as I can tell. Housed in a characterful building in a quaint street in the centre of town. Parking is easy during the week using on-street spaces that are free after 6pm but can be trickier on a Friday or Saturday night so you may need to allow a few minutes extra to find a space or walk a little further. On a good evening, it is possible to park right outside the cinema! Once inside, the tasteful decor and quiet atmosphere are far removed from the modern multiplex: no loud music, crowds of teenagers or flashing games machines. Our children love the cosy surroundings and friendly staff, not to mention the high quality ice creams, cakes and treats! When we've been here as a couple, the cinema offers a lovely relaxing evening out with a quick meal before the film or the chance to take a glass of wine to your (comfortable and clean) seat. Highly recommend membership - 3 free tickets and a discount on food in the restaurant/café. Lovely room upstairs for parties too.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sagax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing wedding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

We had our wedding reception here and it was fantastic. From the second we decided to use the lovely private room we felt sure it was all going to go well. CC and her team worked extremely hard to accommodate our needs. The food was amazing - a great chef in the kitchen, and very professional service, nothing was too much trouble. A truly memorable day so thank you to all concerned.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank EscapeSuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Abbeygate Cinema also viewed

Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk
 
Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk
Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk
 

Been to Abbeygate Cinema? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing