We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“overnight stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bushel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Bushel
Ranked #11 of 56 Bury St Edmunds B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“overnight stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2012

We stayed one night only as we had a family party. The bushel was a very nice cosy pub/restaurant and the staff were friendly. The room was a lot bigger than i expected and had a lovely en suite shower room/toilet.
The bed was clean and very comfy. There was a large freeview screen and we had use of free wifi. There is tea and coffee making facilities which you will find located in the cupboard.
Included in the price was a full english breakfast, cereal, toast, yoghurt, fruit, biscuits and tea and coffee. The town is really nice with plenty of shops close by, and we saw a very nice park which had we time would have visited. I would certainly use the bushel again if I had to stay in Bury st edmunds.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KAH6122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    58
    15
    8
    9
See reviews for
28
88
5
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Warminster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2012

Ideally situated in the centre of the pleasant town Bury St Edmunds. The accommodation was excellent, the food brilliant and the staff extremely friendly and helpful. With secure free parking a bonus. Will I stay again......you bet!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kigali, Rwanda
Level Contributor
50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2012

This pub is my local :)
The food and service are great - always!
I have never stayed as a guest but the rooms are beautifully decorated.
The 3 rooms at the back next to the car park are where I would like stay if I didn't live 5 minutes away.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nomadictrex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

A group of seven us had lunch here on Saturday. The décor is great – really beautifully decorated and looks like it would be far more expensive than it actually is. All of our food was very good – a definite step up from your usual pub grub - and the service friendly. It looks like it would be a really nice place to stay too. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmmaOLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
56 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

Booked a last minute one night stay at The Bushel via Laterooms.com and my rating is based one the price paid as it represented absolutel excellent value for money. I requested a twin room and was allocated The Speckled Hen room which was clean,nicely decorated (as is the rest of the premises), with a separate dressing area and very well equipped including iron and ironing board. Check in was easy and all the staff we encountered were very helpful. There is parking at the rear of the premises for guests only but I am not sure how they enforce this. The Bushel is charming and very well presented with a good and reasonably priced menu so made the ideal place to eat after a few hours shopping before retiring to bed. As advertised, it is located within a few minutes walk of the main shopping area and a short stroll down to Abbey Gardens. Breakfast is served between 7-9am in the conservatory and was more than adequate.I got an absolute bargain but would be happy to pay full price to stay here if the situation arose. Thank you to the staff at The Bushel.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ulladulla, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012 via mobile

We stayed 1 night in the Specked Hen Room. The room was beautifully presented and spotlessly clean. Everything you could want in an overnight stay was at The Bushell. The room was very quiet overnight, dinner was well priced and delicious and the breakfast cooked to order. Everything in town is an easy walk, don't miss abbey gardens

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank geoffofulladulla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2012

Hi,
just wanted to pass on further 'thanks' for a great meal and excellent service my family and in-laws had at the Bushel on Sunday. This was part of a 'make - up' meal for my in-laws as a few weeks ago we had taken them out for a special, 'celebratory' meal, only to be left disappointed by the (lack) of service- 2hours for a single course - (all be it on a Saturday night) , hot food reaching our table (reserved, but then we were moved mid-order!!), and general 'feel-good' ambience.

This was definitely not the case on our visit to you, when all five of us came away more than happy from a lovely meal and attentive and knowledgeable staff (who could actually tell you about the cask beers on offer-and not just the usual Greene King 'staples'-but all of the 'guest ales').

Our thanks to one and all, and we all hope to return very soon.

Steve Bowler & Family

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank steve b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bury St Edmunds hotels
0.3 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,107 reviews
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Bury St Edmunds Town Centre Hotel
Premier Inn Bury St Edmunds Town...
#1 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
4.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Priory Hotel
BEST WESTERN Priory Hotel
#7 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
All Saints Hotel
All Saints Hotel
#6 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
1.0 mi away
Dragonfly Hotel Bury St Edmunds
Dragonfly Hotel Bury St Edmunds
#11 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
3.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Fox Inn
The Fox Inn
#2 of 56 in Bury St Edmunds
4.5 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bushel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bushel

Property: The Bushel
Address: 28/29 St. Johns Street, Bury St Edmunds IP33 1SN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Bury St Edmunds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Bury St Edmunds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bushel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your The Bushel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bushel Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing