We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Birthday stay” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bushel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Bushel
Ranked #11 of 56 Bury St Edmunds B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Halesworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Birthday stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013 via mobile

After difficulty in finding the very small car park,we checked in,a very nice lady showed us to our room,called the Theatre Royal..which took us by surprise was one of about 4 rooms facing the car park on the same level.Room average but bathroom could have done with extra shelving for personal toiletries,there was space for that to happen.Bed was lovely,very comfy and large.Had a meal in restaurant both nights and both were very good,Breakfast OK but could be much better,waitresses on all counts were very polite helpful and friendly,especially the Irish lady with blonde hair..The tables and chairs had seen better days and could do with either some pretty cloths or place mats as a bit unhygienic..The Bushel is in a good position for the Abbey and shopping,market on Wednesday and Saturday well worth a visit...Would want improvement before we stayed here again..but not the worst place we've stayed.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank 17meeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    58
    15
    8
    9
See reviews for
28
88
5
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
211 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

Nice pub with very good food and well equipped rooms.
Stayed twice on business and going back for more .
They are very welcoming and the food was top notch for quality and value.
Two evenings I have stayed and eaten there and have had no staff problems at all. Quite the reverse. I guess the negative chap hit a bad day.
highly recommended.

Room Tip: The rooms above the bar can be a bit noisy during a busy evening. The rooms out back have curtains t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TJD744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

Went here on Saturday at about 7.15pm..not overly busy. Nice variety of food available on the menu. Ordered food which arrived promptly
Service was good with the young waitress being attentive throughout
Dessert was fab presented in a hinged lidded glass pot very novel!

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Littleboo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

Just back from a lovely weekend in Bury St Edmunds to celebrate a friends wedding. A group of five of us stayed here and we couldnt of been happier with this hotel. Gorgeous rooms and bathrooms, lovely food and a fab deal on prosecco...could ask for anythin more! Thanks to all the staff for making our stay so wonderful!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank helen_d_lacey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset, UK
Level Contributor
80 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

The Bushel is quite a pleasant town centre pub.
It was a pity to have my meal spoilt by "lack of staff training". The young man that was serving my meal dropped some of the food from the platter onto the table,only to pick it up with his fingers put it back on the platter and present it to me. He was quite surprised that I was not happy!
When having my shower I found that water was overflowing the shower tray onto the floor, when I reported the fault I was told that it had been reported "last week" but obviously had not been fixed!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrPlmr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2013

We stayed at the Bushel for 2 nights this past weekend whilst visiting BSE for our annual reunion with old service colleagues. The room was excellent recently refurbished and very comfortable, Eight of us sat down for dinner on Saturday night and despite being very busy the service was first rate and good value compared to our usual south east prices!. Breakfast on both mornings was well presented , good service and food of very acceptable quality with a good choice of cereals fruit juices and of course the full English , freshly baked granary was excellent . Staff were attentive, helpful and always had a smile.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 997Tony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2013

After a disastrous holiday we needed somewhere to kick back and regroup. Found this on late rooms and what a find!!! Lovely room, great service, we were able to check in early and we're currently sat in the bar after a lovely meal and bottle of wine. We like it so much we've booked to stay another night!! An oasis of calm and comfort in a very fraught week.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirsty C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bury St Edmunds hotels
0.3 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,107 reviews
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Bury St Edmunds Town Centre Hotel
Premier Inn Bury St Edmunds Town...
#1 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
4.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Priory Hotel
BEST WESTERN Priory Hotel
#7 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
All Saints Hotel
All Saints Hotel
#6 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Fox Inn
The Fox Inn
#2 of 56 in Bury St Edmunds
4.5 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Northgate
The Northgate
#4 of 56 in Bury St Edmunds
4.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bushel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bushel

Property: The Bushel
Address: 28/29 St. Johns Street, Bury St Edmunds IP33 1SN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Bury St Edmunds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Bury St Edmunds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bushel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Bushel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bushel Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing