We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No longer welcome?”
Review of The Bushel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Bushel
Ranked #11 of 53 Bury St Edmunds B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Marham, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“No longer welcome?”
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Every year for the past 6 years members and ex members of the Military gather at the Bushel for what is considered to be an annual get together where upon individuals along with spouses can meet, catch up and generally celebrate the festive period. This years pre booked gathering was a complete and utter disappointment. No sooner had personnel started to arrive from all over the UK, the management posted A4 signs stating the venue will close at 4pm in preparation for a private function. With over 60 personnel in attendance I and my friends cannot understand why the change of heart. At 4pm all in attendance moved to The Grapes where upon we were made most welcome and more interestingly bar prices were significantly cheaper. Many guests who arrived after 4pm were contacted and updated of the venue change. In summary The Bushel has seriously shot itself in the foot. With an estimated 6 grand put across the bar in a 6 hour window each year its now being considered that the next event will take place elsewhere. Ironically on pacing by on my way home at 7pm The Bushel was operating normally with no sign of a private function. Well done landlord, you have lost my support especially during these drastic economic times where 20 pubs a week close. You would have thought we would have been looked after better!

Room Tip: Forced to move. New location offered better bar prices.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    63
    16
    9
    9
See reviews for
31
91
6
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pembroke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We stayed at The bushel for 2 nights whilst attending a Wedding locally. Having read the reviews we were looking forward to our stay but were sadly disappointed. We stayed in room 6 which, in our opinion should be a single room as it is very cramped - our friends stayed in a much larger more spacious room, but that was not without its problems TV would not come on, shower didn't pump away quick enough before it filled the shower tray and the shower control itself was not easy to turn off.
Room 6 suffers from a complete lack of space, the shower room is so small the shower door clashes with the toilet bowl and is only a matter of time before someone shatters it - a Health and Safety issue I have no doubt. The Kettle, Tea and Coffee are kept in the wardrobe - we were wondering where they were ! There were no Biscuits or Tea Bags either, this was not checked as there were none the next day, the bathroom toiletries were not replenished either ! The window frame work was dirty. The Bed had a B.O smell to it. This room is also on the front of the Building and is very noisy during the night from the evening revellers down on the Street, we were woken numerous times. We had to wait 20 minutes on the Saturday morning for Breakfast and then we had to find someone to ask if we could be served. Most of the Staff were efficient in the evenings but the morning Staff were far to stretched. We could not even get a second cup of Tea in the mornings. When we checked out we were not asked if we had had a good stay or we could have related the above. All in all a very disappointed stay and at £70.00 per night we expected more. Maybe we were in the minority as the rest of the reviews are quite positive - Just don't stay in Room 6 !!

Room Tip: Ask what room you are allocated then you can change if you are unlucky enough to get Room 6.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 60kath60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
340 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

I booked this hotel with not much notice a few days ago and I was very impressed! A really nice quiet room in the middle of the city, close to the centre and all attractions and shops. We also had dinner which was a really nice experience. Very nice value for splendid food!

Room Tip: Our room (IPA, number 6) was really good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlos_Gonzalez2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Necton Norfolk
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We had Christmas dinner at the Bushell in Bury St Edmunds this year. This was not a normal thing for us as Christmas dinner was always had at home. The dinner was brilliant. The food excellent and the staff all wore smiles even though they were really busy. well done, Bushell. Will certainly be back.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

This was booked at short notice. Was very impressed with the room. Was really quiet considering there were Christmas parties going on in the hotel. Customer service was excellent. Very good value for money.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maz501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
150 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

The Bushel is in an ideal position as it is only a few minutes walk to the market place, shops and Abbey. Room was very comfortable and the bathroom spotless, never been in a such a big shower. as big. Staff were really helpful and friendly, it was a nice touch to have mince pies in the room. There are plenty of alternatives you can have as a cooked breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leighton Buzzard Beds
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

We went to the Bury St Edmunds christmas market which was excellant. And we wanted a centrally located hotel and to be fair the Bushel fitted the bill perfectly,all the shops and stalls were within a five minute walk. The hotel or more accurately a pub with rooms was ok our room, number 7, was small with little draw space but it was clean and the bathroom and shower in particular was good. My big disappointment was the service i accept it was the xmas market and a town centre pub and so very busy but none of the staff made much effort to be friendly, we were residents for 2 nights, there for breakfast in the morning and evening meal on the Friday night, drinks on Friday and Saturday but nobody acknowledged that, no conversation, they did their job ok but no more. And when we came to leave on the Sunday we waited 10 minutes for someone to come and finished up going into the kitchen area to ask for help .
Shame really a little more affort and it would have been very good at the Bushel.

Room Tip: Room 7 was nice but its over the bar and very near the main road so can be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank graeme_barton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bury St Edmunds hotels
0.3 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#4 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
1,150 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Priory Hotel
Best Western Priory Hotel
#7 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
459 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Chantry Hotel
The Chantry Hotel
#2 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Dragonfly Hotel Bury St Edmunds
Dragonfly Hotel Bury St Edmunds
#11 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
400 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Fox Inn
The Fox Inn
#2 of 53 in Bury St Edmunds
374 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Dog & Partridge
The Dog & Partridge
#18 of 53 in Bury St Edmunds
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bushel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bushel

Property: The Bushel
Address: 28/29 St. Johns Street, Bury St Edmunds IP33 1SN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Bury St Edmunds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Bury St Edmunds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bushel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Bushel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bushel Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing