We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great if you have children”
Review of The Lounge

The Lounge
Ranked #153 of 210 Restaurants in Bury St Edmunds
Price range: US$5 - US$6
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great if you have children”
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We love The Lounge and often like to come here for a mid morning hot chocolate with our children. High chairs are provided and it is spacious enough to wheel a bulky pushchair around. Surprised that others felt it was dirty - perhaps these were the crumbs and milkshake left over by our little ones! Staff are friendly and the service good, decent selection of sandwiches and snacks that are reasonably priced. Lovely touch having local artists' work on the walls, makes it feel far more personal than the larger chains.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AY2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    21
    8
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Dilemma”
Reviewed 17 December 2013 via mobile

Has always been my favorite coffee house.... But think I am coming out of loyalty.... It does need a tidy up and depending who is working depends on the service.... Staff need to come out of the kitchen and wipe tables when they are empty.... I want to stay loyal so please improve.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Big-Mon-Mon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisia770, Manager at The Lounge, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
We have recently redecorated, giving the place a nice fresh feel. Please come back and take a look!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
226 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 16 November 2013

I have been to the Lounge on an earlier occasion and quite enjoyed it. However arriving at 3 pm on a Saturday afternoon I found the selection of comestibles unappealing and the whole place - dare I day it? - looking a little bit tired. We went elsewhere.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank The_Baptist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisia770, Manager at The Lounge, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
We have recently repainted and the place looks lovely and fresh. Feel free to give us another try!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wickford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“The lounge”
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Always good coffee food is snacks well priced youll find the lounge just down Hatter Street
Room for buggies and wheel chairs a pleasant place to meet up

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wickford2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Very pleasant lunch”
Reviewed 10 June 2013 via mobile

We went here for a lunch, wanting a light snack.

We had toasted paninis, tea and coffee which were all very nice.

Service was good and the surrounds very pleasant.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Adam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Lounge also viewed

Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk
Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk
 
Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk
Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk
 
Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk
Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk
 

Been to The Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing