We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smooth Coffee & Delicious Cake”
Review of Really Rather Good

Really Rather Good
Ranked #27 of 210 Restaurants in Bury St Edmunds
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$13
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Really Rather Good is a premium coffee and tea house in Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk, England. Our espresso beans are a special blend from 4 countries, and we invested in a grinder and espresso machine which are amongst the best available. Whether you're after an Americano, latte, cappuccino, mocha, cortado, flat white, affogato (ask us!), Espresso or ristretto, we're your first port of call.For tea lovers we have a range of exceptional loose leaf teas including English Breakfast, Earl Grey, Rooibos, Green, 7-fruit, Decaffeinated, Spearmint, Darjeeling, Jasmine or White tea. We also offer milk, ginger or white hot chocolate. To top it all off our homemade cakes (many Gluten Free!!)And light lunches (Gluten Free Wraps available) are interesting and extremely tasty. We also offer tasty breakfasts (Eggs Benedict, Scrambled Egg/Smoked Salmon as a well as porridge and granola). Best of all you can enjoy all of this whilst looking at the best view in Bury through our picture windows - straight out over Angel Square towards the Abbey Gardens and Cathedral.
Elmhurst, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Smooth Coffee & Delicious Cake”
Reviewed 18 February 2012

Stopped in for a coffee and some apple cake on a recent trip to UK. Very enjoyable and warmed me up nicely for a wintry walk through the Abbey Gardens.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Iain_Hanley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreas B, Owner at Really Rather Good, responded to this review, 20 February 2012
Hello Ian, thank you very much for your kind comments, it was a pleasure to welcome you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    195
    75
    21
    19
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Peak District National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
268 reviews
183 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
“Really Very Good”
Reviewed 15 February 2012

This place is good and for a cafe close to a big tourist attraction it is very good indeed. We had one lunch here, on the second day we could have walked 5 metres across the road but we went again and got got another good light lunch and even better music on a second visit. Atmosphere was slightly better on the second visit when it was not so full. Newspapers provided are good ones not the redtops normally provided these days.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BigDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreas B, Owner at Really Rather Good, responded to this review, 17 February 2012
Very glad to hear you enjoyed both lunches - and our music! Thank you very much for your review, we greatly appreciate it and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“good place”
Reviewed 9 February 2012

a nice place with great views but just another coffee shop with average food ,so please do something special to keep me coming back ( like home cooked food ) will try again another time

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nickphil1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreas B, Owner at Really Rather Good, responded to this review, 17 February 2012
Hello and thanks for your review. The vast majority of our food is in fact home-cooked, including all the cakes, scones, soups, paninis and lunches. We have collected many comment cards from people who say our coffee is the best in Bury St Edmunds, and seem to enjoy our quirky independence, prime location, internal decor and quality of service. I hope your next visit will help you to conclude that we are anything but "just another coffee shop".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Really Rather Good also viewed

Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk
Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk
 
Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk
Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk
 

Been to Really Rather Good? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing